2004 tps they keep giving me is wrong?? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 10:48 AM   #1
cavy68
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92926
Location: everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004 focus zx3

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 cavy68 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2004 tps they keep giving me is wrong??

I have a 2004 ford forcus with an engine code "3" in the serial number which i figured out is the 8th digit from online. everytime i run the serial # in the online part stores (oreilly, napa, autozone, action auto) it shows the wrong style tps? i went to pep boys and he showed the same wrong one originally but then found one that looks like the old one, but after installing it this thing shifts like it is gonna rip the trany from the mounts! the wrong one was an echlin fc3296 and the one i installed is a bwd ec3174. the ford # on the tps is 2m5u-9b989-ab. is all this talk about a ne tb my problem or is it just bad luck! the one i installed show for only the 2004 focus. HELP!!


cavy68 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2013, 10:56 AM   #2
cavy68
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92926
Location: everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004 focus zx3

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 cavy68 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
OOPS, also forgot to say that the plug for the one they keep showing is 3 prong and rectangled with sqaured ends. mine has rounded (curved) ends.
cavy68 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 05:33 PM   #3
cavy68
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92926
Location: everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004 focus zx3

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 cavy68 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
just to let anyone now who may be interested. turns out my daughters focus had an "uncommon" tps as ford dealer put it. i ordered the tps from ford with the ford number off of the old one (which the auto parts stores couldnt cross) and intalled it and car runs like a champ! too bad the for one cost $65.00 compared the the "common" of $29.00
cavy68 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:45 PM   #4
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 11,331
FF Reputation: 60 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm sure this may help someone, Tx for posting the outcome.

Better than the early models w/automatic that require an updated throttle body & matching TPS from Ford, or a work around to use the manual one as detailed in a "read first" here!

Cheers!
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:18 PM   #5
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 4,099
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Man they play so many games with those TPS switches it's not funny. Add to that the fact that half the time the part store catalogs are wrong on them too and you have a mess.

I remember them telling me my Contour came with two TPS, one common and on most cars, naturally not the correct one. Waited forever for a special ordered one to show up and.............not the right one either. End story, car still running with same ol' TPS in it.

By the way, my Focus ATX TPS workaround is still running perfectly.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
cheap sleeper
Focus Enthusiast
 
cheap sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59848
Location: florida, FL
What I Drive: 2001 black zx3

Posts: 309
FF Reputation: 3 cheap sleeper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
theres 3 different ones for your year focus. zetec, spi, and duratec. they just gave you one for a different motor
cheap sleeper is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:27 AM   #7
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 4,099
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The most ridiculous part about all this is that Ford changes the switch up apparently just to keep the engineers in practice, as the number in volts the switch must put out that PCM wants still seems to be about the same range.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.