Gauge Cluster... plus HID - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Focus

MK1 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the first generation 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 11:06 PM   #1
BWM2006ZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
BWM2006ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89475
Location: Grafton, WI
What I Drive: 2006 Yellow ZX3

Posts: 486
FF Reputation: 2 BWM2006ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Gauge Cluster... plus HID

I dont really know if this belongs here but could someone move it if i am in the wrong section?

My car is an 06 ZX3 SE.

My 1st question: do you guys know if i am able to take out my gauge cluster and replace it with one that has a tach because i currently dont have a tach, would my ODO reset at 0 or would i be able to reprogram it to the correct mileage?
2nd Question: what all is involved in the HID conversion for the 06 focus? Has anyone done angel eyes? hard to wire?
Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.


__________________
2006ZX3Skittle
RallyRevolution:#23
AVIDRallier
3”Magnaflow - Focus Rally BLACK EAPS FRPP
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnbridledCarnage View Post
drop it on its nuts asap
BWM2006ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2012, 12:19 AM   #2
BIMMERKID21
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 98852
Location: Faribault, MN
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus ZTS Twilight Blue

Posts: 294
FF Reputation: 1 BIMMERKID21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWM2006ZX3 View Post
I dont really know if this belongs here but could someone move it if i am in the wrong section?

My car is an 06 ZX3 SE.

My 1st question: do you guys know if i am able to take out my gauge cluster and replace it with one that has a tach because i currently dont have a tach, would my ODO reset at 0 or would i be able to reprogram it to the correct mileage?
2nd Question: what all is involved in the HID conversion for the 06 focus? Has anyone done angel eyes? hard to wire?
Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.
wheres grafton wi??
__________________
Midwest Crew
BIMMERKID21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:41 AM   #3
02fordsvt
Meh.
 
02fordsvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84654
Location: Lowville, NY
What I Drive: 2002 SVT, 2001 SE (Rusty)

Posts: 9,602
FF Reputation: 49 02fordsvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
For Tech swap:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...threadid=63935

And here's a link to a complete list of How-to's. It may help you out on a couple other of your questions: http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=65218
__________________
Hatch Nation #13 : Rally Revolution #13 : ROTM Jan '13
It's Bryan, not Brian
RSVT-170 Build in Progress
Derusting Rusty Build in Progress
02fordsvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:41 PM   #4
BWM2006ZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
BWM2006ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89475
Location: Grafton, WI
What I Drive: 2006 Yellow ZX3

Posts: 486
FF Reputation: 2 BWM2006ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIMMERKID21 View Post
wheres grafton wi??
15 minutes north of milwaukee
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02fordsvt View Post
For Tech swap:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...threadid=63935

And here's a link to a complete list of How-to's. It may help you out on a couple other of your questions: http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=65218
Thanks!
__________________
2006ZX3Skittle
RallyRevolution:#23
AVIDRallier
3”Magnaflow - Focus Rally BLACK EAPS FRPP
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnbridledCarnage View Post
drop it on its nuts asap
BWM2006ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:18 AM   #5
BIMMERKID21
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 98852
Location: Faribault, MN
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus ZTS Twilight Blue

Posts: 294
FF Reputation: 1 BIMMERKID21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I have an '01 I'm doing lots of lighting mods to
__________________
Midwest Crew
BIMMERKID21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #6
BWM2006ZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
BWM2006ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89475
Location: Grafton, WI
What I Drive: 2006 Yellow ZX3

Posts: 486
FF Reputation: 2 BWM2006ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does anyone know if it is possible to reprogram gauge clusters? For instance, i have 49,000 miles on my car and i dont have a tach with my current cluster. If i find a cluster in the junk yard or ebay with more miles like 100k maybe. Is it possible for the information to be transfered?
__________________
2006ZX3Skittle
RallyRevolution:#23
AVIDRallier
3”Magnaflow - Focus Rally BLACK EAPS FRPP
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnbridledCarnage View Post
drop it on its nuts asap
BWM2006ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:44 PM   #7
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,767
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWM2006ZX3 View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to reprogram gauge clusters? For instance, i have 49,000 miles on my car and i dont have a tach with my current cluster. If i find a cluster in the junk yard or ebay with more miles like 100k maybe. Is it possible for the information to be transfered?
iirc, a dealership might be able to re-program the cluster, just make sure you find a cluster for you year, since the plugs have changed.
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:57 PM   #8
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,131
FF Reputation: 22 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWM2006ZX3 View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to reprogram gauge clusters? For instance, i have 49,000 miles on my car and i dont have a tach with my current cluster. If i find a cluster in the junk yard or ebay with more miles like 100k maybe. Is it possible for the information to be transfered?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
iirc, a dealership might be able to re-program the cluster, just make sure you find a cluster for you year, since the plugs have changed.
I have heard the answer is yes, although the price they charge may be more than its worth. You would have to call and find out...it might be something where they can easily increase the mileage but not decrease it or vise-versa.

05-07 should be the same, i can verify that an 06 was a direct fit in my 07. real easy to swap too, less than 20 minutes start to finish for me. i found one with about 3k more miles than my car had. When i first got it, i plugged it in to make sure everything worked and verify the mileage on it. then just sat on it for several months until my mileage matched. I actually was on the road when the mileage was about to match up and swapped it on a side street in about 10 minutes or so
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:59 PM   #9
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,767
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post

05-07 should be the same, i can verify that an 06 was a direct fit in my 07.
^ True, didn't realize the year of OP's car. The early cluster from 00-04 had two different plugs
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:02 PM   #10
BWM2006ZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
BWM2006ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89475
Location: Grafton, WI
What I Drive: 2006 Yellow ZX3

Posts: 486
FF Reputation: 2 BWM2006ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
I have heard the answer is yes, although the price they charge may be more than its worth. You would have to call and find out...it might be something where they can easily increase the mileage but not decrease it or vise-versa.

05-07 should be the same, i can verify that an 06 was a direct fit in my 07. real easy to swap too, less than 20 minutes start to finish for me. i found one with about 3k more miles than my car had. When i first got it, i plugged it in to make sure everything worked and verify the mileage on it. then just sat on it for several months until my mileage matched. I actually was on the road when the mileage was about to match up and swapped it on a side street in about 10 minutes or so
I have a connection in ford service but i havent gotten around to asking him. I figured you guys may know for sure. I called him and he said that if i am for sure it will fit, he would reprogram is possible... no charge. Thanks for a time frame/estimated replacement time. YeHaaaa for 100th Post!!!
__________________
2006ZX3Skittle
RallyRevolution:#23
AVIDRallier
3”Magnaflow - Focus Rally BLACK EAPS FRPP
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnbridledCarnage View Post
drop it on its nuts asap
BWM2006ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.