Oil pump not pumping oil - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
Heli006
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89843
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 red zx3

Posts: 54
FF Reputation: 1 Heli006 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oil pump not pumping oil

I just rebuilt my engine and forgot to fill the oil pump when I assembled it. I filled the oil filter to the top, rotated the engine on the engine stand so I could put the filter on while it was full, then I fed a 1/4 litre of oil in through the oil pressure sender port. I installed an oil pressure gauge and cranked the engine for 15 seconds at a time but still have no oil pressure. The oil pump is in good condition as it is off this engine and was working fine. Anyone have any other ideas about how to prime this engine?


Heli006 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2012, 11:46 PM   #2
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,670
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Put a Batt charger on the Batt on max charge and remove all the spk plugs , the faster you can spin the engine the sooner you will see oil psi

Worst case make a pre-oiler , try above first

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:34 AM   #3
Heli006
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89843
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 red zx3

Posts: 54
FF Reputation: 1 Heli006 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Put a Batt charger on the Batt on max charge and remove all the spk plugs , the faster you can spin the engine the sooner you will see oil psi

Worst case make a pre-oiler , try above first

Tom
I did remove the spark plugs and battery is got a charger on it. How do you make a pre-oiler?
Heli006 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,670
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I am sure your batt does have a charge , with a charger on it and charging on high it will spin the engine a lot faster which will help to pick up the oil psi sooner

You can buy them or make one from can/jug/that will hold about 2 quarts and about 15psi , line out the bottom and psi fittin on the top , use air to force the oil into the engine , you have a way to weld it takes about 30 min to make one

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:55 PM   #5
Heli006
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89843
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 red zx3

Posts: 54
FF Reputation: 1 Heli006 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
I am sure your batt does have a charge , with a charger on it and charging on high it will spin the engine a lot faster which will help to pick up the oil psi sooner

You can buy them or make one from can/jug/that will hold about 2 quarts and about 15psi , line out the bottom and psi fittin on the top , use air to force the oil into the engine , you have a way to weld it takes about 30 min to make one

Tom
I got it! I bought a little pump that you attach to a drill and I fed oil into the pressure port until it was coming out the cam journals. I tried cranking again to no avail. As a last resort I thought I'll hook everything back up and try starting it to see of more rpm available with a running engine would do it and it worked. Oil pressure came online in 3-4 seconds! I'm so happy I almost fell over. Now i have to tune and dyno. I've got only a few days to tune, break it in, then dyno before the next race. I might be a calling you for a tune with my sct when I can next month. Well see how my tuner does with it first. This won't happen until the end of this month. Thanks Tom.
Heli006 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.