Mapquest to Sync Weirdness - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 06:03 PM   #1
Jockp
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104580
Location: Arnold, CA
What I Drive: 2012, silver, focus titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Jockp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Mapquest to Sync Weirdness

First time poster. Actually this is my first Ford. Lovin' my Focus.

Here's what's happening and my question: I am able to send a map with destination from my iPad using Mapquest. All instructions I have been able to find say use voice command "Services" to download the map to the nav unit in the car. When I say "Services" the car phones some weird 888 number. I can't find the phone number in my contacts list so not sure where it's coming from. Is the another Sync command that will download the map?

Thanks in advance for your help.


Jockp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 09:11 PM   #2
jdetzel
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102548
Location: Austin, TX
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatchback

Posts: 282
FF Reputation: 1 jdetzel Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When I send a destination to my car via MapQuest. I let sync dial the number and connect. Then it tells me about the destination that was sent and it asks me if I want directions to that destination. If I tell it yes it gives me the directions (it downloads the destination and calculates a route).
So that is not a direct answer to your question about a command to download the destination but I have never had to use a command to download a destination.
So when it dials the number do you let it dial and connect?
jdetzel is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
Jockp
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104580
Location: Arnold, CA
What I Drive: 2012, silver, focus titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Jockp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Let the call go but it would not connect. Will try from someplace else. May be my phone connection/reception.
Jockp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #4
jdetzel
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102548
Location: Austin, TX
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatchback

Posts: 282
FF Reputation: 1 jdetzel Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I just went out and checked mine. When I press connect it shows the number 888-244-4529,it dials and connects. Then it says "MapQuest has sent you the destination "_________". Do you want directions? If I say "yes" after a few seconds it comes up with the GPS screen and I can set that as the route.
I was looking through the guide and can't find a way to like go back and redownload a destiation.
jdetzel is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:26 PM   #5
Jockp
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104580
Location: Arnold, CA
What I Drive: 2012, silver, focus titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Jockp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
John thanks for your feedback. Let me check the number but the one you mention looks familiar. So I let the call go through and I hear no ringing and the system disconnects after about six seconds. Getting close...
Jockp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:29 PM   #6
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,286
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Welcome to the forum


Moved your thread to the MK3 area so you can get some better help with what your doing.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:35 PM   #7
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,391
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jockp View Post
Let the call go but it would not connect. Will try from someplace else. May be my phone connection/reception.
Did you register your phone number with sync services? Only the registered mobile number can access the 3 years of free sync services, or the $60/year paid version if your car did not come with a three year subscription to sync services. Do you have a syncmyride account registered? Does it have an active services membership? If so but you're not using that mobile number it won't work. The call won't go through as you don't have authorization to dial that number.
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 02:53 PM   #8
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 934
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jockp View Post
First time poster. Actually this is my first Ford. Lovin' my Focus.
Here's what's happening and my question: I am able to send a map with destination from my iPad using Mapquest. All instructions I have been able to find say use voice command "Services" to download the map to the nav unit in the car. When I say "Services" the car phones some weird 888 number. I can't find the phone number in my contacts list so not sure where it's coming from. Is the another Sync command that will download the map?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Hey, Jockp -

Welcome to the forum, I'm the In-Vehicle Technology girl.

The information jdetzel and suss6052 provided is spot-on! Have you been able to successfully connect to SYNC Services yet? Which number is it dialing? PM me the details along with your VIN, and we'll get to the bottom of this.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:14 PM   #9
Jockp
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104580
Location: Arnold, CA
What I Drive: 2012, silver, focus titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Jockp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hi Jaclyn,

Thanks - the number called is 888-240-4529.

VIN - 1FAHP3J23CL436138

I've double checked my Sync account and everything appears to be in order there.

Appreciate your help...
Jockp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.