Stock Stereo Aux Adapter - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 10:06 AM   #1
crzyjef
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104474
Location: West Valley City, UT
What I Drive: 2005 Burgandy ZX4 SES

Posts: 12
Points 186, Level 3
Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3
Level Up 72% Completed
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 crzyjef Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Stock Stereo Aux Adapter

I have an 05 ZX4 with the 6 disk CD changer stock stereo it has the AUX Button and when pressed it states no aux..

I stopped by a local car audio place and they want $150 for the adapter.

What part do I need and where can I find it for less?

How hard is it to install ?


crzyjef is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
lyonsroar
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 63166
Location: Midwest, NE
What I Drive: 2009 Volkswagen GTI

Posts: 8,043
FF Reputation: 31 lyonsroar Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
you need a PIE adapter I believe...same thing I need.

Can be found on amazon or directly from PIE themselves. Mine is like $100 or something. To install it has to go behind the stock stereo so you have to take yours out, plug it in and you have to splice into a power wire I think.
lyonsroar is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,526
Points 7,590, Level 58
Points: 7,590, Level: 58 Points: 7,590, Level: 58 Points: 7,590, Level: 58
Level Up 20% Completed
Level up: 20% Level up: 20% Level up: 20%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
The part is expensive, to the point of adding an aux to the stock head unit is not worth it imo. You can get a pretty decent after market HU with aux built in that will sound better than your stock one for the same price. Not to mention there are some pretty sweet double din size after market units out there for not too much more money.
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 11:21 AM   #4
crzyjef
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104474
Location: West Valley City, UT
What I Drive: 2005 Burgandy ZX4 SES

Posts: 12
Points 186, Level 3
Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3
Level Up 72% Completed
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 crzyjef Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Would it be this.. PIE FRD03-AUX/S? I found on Amazon
crzyjef is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
lyonsroar
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 63166
Location: Midwest, NE
What I Drive: 2009 Volkswagen GTI

Posts: 8,043
FF Reputation: 31 lyonsroar Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
The part is expensive, to the point of adding an aux to the stock head unit is not worth it imo. You can get a pretty decent after market HU with aux built in that will sound better than your stock one for the same price. Not to mention there are some pretty sweet double din size after market units out there for not too much more money.
It's worth it if your stock stereo suffices and you just want iPod functionality.

I have the audiophile system in mine and its fantastic! I'm satisfied with its performance. I just want aux.
lyonsroar is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 01:27 PM   #6
crzyjef
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104474
Location: West Valley City, UT
What I Drive: 2005 Burgandy ZX4 SES

Posts: 12
Points 186, Level 3
Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3 Points: 186, Level: 3
Level Up 72% Completed
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 crzyjef Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am happy with stock.. I just want the option for the ipod.

Speaking of the audiophile system.. how do you know if you have it or not ?
crzyjef is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 12:28 AM   #7
lyonsroar
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 63166
Location: Midwest, NE
What I Drive: 2009 Volkswagen GTI

Posts: 8,043
FF Reputation: 31 lyonsroar Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a Fusion. Dunno how it works for Focus
lyonsroar is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 12:59 AM   #8
ah1f39
Alone in the Cave
 
ah1f39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 70006
Location: In the Cave, MI
What I Drive: 2000 Explorer 4x4, 04 Mini Cooper S

Posts: 5,658
Points 4,593, Level 43
Points: 4,593, Level: 43 Points: 4,593, Level: 43 Points: 4,593, Level: 43
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 28 ah1f39 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzyjef View Post
I am happy with stock.. I just want the option for the ipod.

Speaking of the audiophile system.. how do you know if you have it or not ?
There will be a sub in the trunk.
ah1f39 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat