Manual transaxle swap using donor car? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Engine & Transmission Swap

Engine & Transmission Swap The place to chat about any engine and transmission swap.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 05:51 PM   #1
1stCarFocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88398
Location: Front Royal, VA
What I Drive: 2000 Red Focus SE

Posts: 116
FF Reputation: 1 1stCarFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Manual transaxle swap using donor car?

I have a 2000 Focus SE wagon with an auto transaxle, and I want one with a manual transaxle. How hard/expensive would it be to swap the transaxle from an automatic to a manual, if I can find an identical model (from a junkyard, used, etc.) that has the whole transaxle system in good shape? What tools would I need? Would it need to be an identical model, or would I just need to get one with the same engine type?


1stCarFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
1stCarFocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88398
Location: Front Royal, VA
What I Drive: 2000 Red Focus SE

Posts: 116
FF Reputation: 1 1stCarFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My brother just told me he is considering getting a Focus, but he wants an automatic, so I'm trying to convince him to get a manual and swap the transaxles. Still want to know what stuff/how hard it is!
1stCarFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:06 PM   #3
1stCarFocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88398
Location: Front Royal, VA
What I Drive: 2000 Red Focus SE

Posts: 116
FF Reputation: 1 1stCarFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I'm thinking it should be possible, considering that I noticed the gauge cluster on my automatic has a shift light. Which is really weird, because it has no tach....
1stCarFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:38 PM   #4
Fattie
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46016
Location: rockland, ME
What I Drive: 6 Duratec Focus

Posts: 1,477
Points 8,431, Level 61
Points: 8,431, Level: 61 Points: 8,431, Level: 61 Points: 8,431, Level: 61
Level Up 94% Completed
Level up: 94% Level up: 94% Level up: 94%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Fattie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
there are tons of threads on this. search a little bit.
__________________
6 Duratec Focus

3 04 zx4's
2 05 zx3's
1 03 zx3
Fattie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.