FSWerks Header? Buy it?? - Page 8 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 02:36 PM   #71
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
exhaust page at the very bottom
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 12:31 AM   #72
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 8,589
FF Reputation: 54 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldurs390 View Post
do you know where on the site?
Take your time & search.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:26 AM   #73
bedoya_d94
Focus Addict
 
bedoya_d94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96169
Location: Sunrise, FL
What I Drive: 2011 Black SES

Posts: 697
FF Reputation: 1 bedoya_d94 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldurs390 View Post
do you know where on the site?
You can also resort to calling them, I usually tend to call them when I'm gonna make a purchase. Much more easier and more informative that spending time on the site. Only thing I use the site for is to place the order but then I always call them still to make sure if I need any other changes done to my order or add some special requests.

Also now that I am gonna have my header, currently i'm using 87 octane cuz thats normal but now I'm told that i should start using premium which in my state is 93 octane and later when I get the tune i will for sure need to use 93 octane gas. My only problem is, what about during and after the install. Should I drain out my last gas of 87 before I install the header or just install the header, use up the last gas I have on my tank and then the next time I fill up use 93o??
__________________
SES038 - SR225 - Focus Owner Since December 20, 2010
@bedoya_d94 #db94_foci
facebook.com/DiegoBedoyaVision
bedoya_d94 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:40 PM   #74
Baldurs390
Focus Addict
 
Baldurs390's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86071
Location: Narr., RI
What I Drive: 2009 black ses

Posts: 782
FF Reputation: 4 Baldurs390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TritonX4 View Post
You can also resort to calling them, I usually tend to call them when I'm gonna make a purchase. Much more easier and more informative that spending time on the site. Only thing I use the site for is to place the order but then I always call them still to make sure if I need any other changes done to my order or add some special requests.

Also now that I am gonna have my header, currently i'm using 87 octane cuz thats normal but now I'm told that i should start using premium which in my state is 93 octane and later when I get the tune i will for sure need to use 93 octane gas. My only problem is, what about during and after the install. Should I drain out my last gas of 87 before I install the header or just install the header, use up the last gas I have on my tank and then the next time I fill up use 93o??

i started using 93 just because the car runs alot better on it... just start on your next fill up
__________________
FRPPFSWERKSDDMMassiveTruBenz
Baldurs390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:37 PM   #75
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 8,589
FF Reputation: 54 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TritonX4 View Post
You can also resort to calling them, I usually tend to call them when I'm gonna make a purchase. Much more easier and more informative that spending time on the site. Only thing I use the site for is to place the order but then I always call them still to make sure if I need any other changes done to my order or add some special requests.
Ditto ^^^^ Thats what I do also.
Also now that I am gonna have my header, currently i'm using 87 octane cuz thats normal but now I'm told that i should start using premium which in my state is 93 octane and later when I get the tune i will for sure need to use 93 octane gas. My only problem is, what about during and after the install. Should I drain out my last gas of 87 before I install the header or just install the header, use up the last gas I have on my tank and then the next time I fill up use 93o??
I'd install the header & get your exhaust figured out, while using the regular fuel, then when a 1/4 tank or less, I fill it w/ premiun & Flash it, & then enjoy the punch & smoothness of the motor.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:05 AM   #76
bedoya_d94
Focus Addict
 
bedoya_d94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96169
Location: Sunrise, FL
What I Drive: 2011 Black SES

Posts: 697
FF Reputation: 1 bedoya_d94 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by felixthecat View Post
I'd install the header & get your exhaust figured out, while using the regular fuel, then when a 1/4 tank or less, I fill it w/ premiun & Flash it, & then enjoy the punch & smoothness of the motor.
By "flash it" you mean tune it? Or what exactly do you mean? (Car terminology newb)
__________________
SES038 - SR225 - Focus Owner Since December 20, 2010
@bedoya_d94 #db94_foci
facebook.com/DiegoBedoyaVision
bedoya_d94 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:26 AM   #77
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 8,589
FF Reputation: 54 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TritonX4 View Post
By "flash it" you mean tune it? Or what exactly do you mean? (Car terminology newb)
correct ^^^^. You are flashing the pcm.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:34 PM   #78
Baldurs390
Focus Addict
 
Baldurs390's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86071
Location: Narr., RI
What I Drive: 2009 black ses

Posts: 782
FF Reputation: 4 Baldurs390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
quick question... i picked up a header and i am going to get a tune soon... should i install header then tune ? or add the tune and then do the install?
__________________
FRPPFSWERKSDDMMassiveTruBenz
Baldurs390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:37 PM   #79
1hotfocus
Focus Addict
 
1hotfocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82813
Location: NYC NYC NYC NYC!, NY
What I Drive: 00' sedan

Posts: 744
FF Reputation: 7 1hotfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldurs390 View Post
quick question... i picked up a header and i am going to get a tune soon... should i install header then tune ? or add the tune and then do the install?
Header then data log. There's no point to a tune if its not custom (requires a datalog)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using FF Mobile
__________________
Give rep if youve been helped :)
1hotfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:44 PM   #80
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1hotfocus View Post
Header then data log. There's no point to a tune if its not custom (requires a datalog)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using FF Mobile
I have never datalogged mine and it runs like a champ. They have done so many of our gens that they know where to set the tune at. I highly suggest you install the tune first otherwise your car will have a CEL code for the second cat having a fault because it is no longer used when you go header.
Your tune can be fine tuned after you have both the header and tune installed but as I stated mine has never been datalogged and Randy at FSwerks has adjusted my tunes several times for other things such as increasing the transmission pressure(=
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.