Stereo Installation in SEL? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
Mithan
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103619
Location: Regina, Canada
What I Drive: Toyota Echo

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 Mithan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Stereo Installation in SEL?

Hello guys.

Lets say I wanted to install a after market stereo and remove the 8" MFT system and replace it with a Pioneer or Kenwood or something, will I run into any issues with the touch screen climate controls and such all being disabled through the MFT? Or will it work fine?

Also, will after market steering wheel control converters work fine with Focus?


Thanks!


Mithan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2012, 08:44 PM   #2
ohnoy2k
Focus Enthusiast
 
ohnoy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 97037
Location: Angleton, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Platinum White SEL Hatch w/DCT

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 ohnoy2k Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes you will run into problems and no the steering wheel buttons won't work

Sent from my MB860 using FF Mobile
ohnoy2k is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:10 PM   #3
Wildsailor
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102694
Location: Detroit Metro Area, MI
What I Drive: 12 SE Sport Sedan - Sterling Gray

Posts: 89
FF Reputation: 3 Wildsailor Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Crutchfield shows no compatible audio systems for the 2012 Focus. Whatever you would do would have to be a hack job with unforeseen results.
Wildsailor is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:57 AM   #4
Tiger-Heli
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12379
Location: Georgia, United States
What I Drive: 2002 French Blue SE Sedan

Posts: 571
FF Reputation: 4 Tiger-Heli Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Actually, it is probably possible.

(Expensive, but possible.)

Metra offers this kit and a wiring harness for the non-MFT system.

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


http://www.metraonline.com/files/pro...-5827B_web.pdf

I e-mailed Metra and asked whether that kit would work on an MFT and they said they hadn't tested it and couldn't verify that it would work.

What I would recommend doing is removing the trim and unplugging the MFT connectors and driving the car and seeing what happens.

You have redundant manual controls for the HVAC, so I think you will be fine, unless Ford sends a trouble code somewhere if the radio is disconnected.

If you don't see any issues with the radio removed, installing the new radio should be no problem, other than the Metra dash kit and wire harness kit are somewhat pricy, and the Metra kit has a cutout for the 4.3-inch display that you don't have, so you would want to block that off.

I'd buy from somewhere with a liberal return policy if you attempt it, though.
Tiger-Heli is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:00 AM   #5
Tiger-Heli
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12379
Location: Georgia, United States
What I Drive: 2002 French Blue SE Sedan

Posts: 571
FF Reputation: 4 Tiger-Heli Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If you KNOW you want to install a Kenwood or Pioneer, you would be better off NOT getting the MFT system as that is designed to work - unless you are looking at a Titanium which has it standard.

As far as I know, steering wheel controls should work fine with the correct harness adapter.
Tiger-Heli is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:07 AM   #6
Wildsailor
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102694
Location: Detroit Metro Area, MI
What I Drive: 12 SE Sport Sedan - Sterling Gray

Posts: 89
FF Reputation: 3 Wildsailor Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiger-Heli View Post
Actually, it is probably possible.

(Expensive, but possible.)

Metra offers this kit and a wiring harness for the non-MFT system.

* Snip

What I would recommend doing is removing the trim and unplugging the MFT connectors and driving the car and seeing what happens.

You have redundant manual controls for the HVAC, so I think you will be fine, unless Ford sends a trouble code somewhere if the radio is disconnected.

* Snip
Yes, it will log trouble codes and it may significantly alter the resistance of the CAN circuits such that it may disturb the operation of the CAN. It will be a missing module on the CAN bus so that trouble code would be there for sure, and some of the information displayed in the Cluster is transmitted to/through the Sync system. The vehicle should continue to operate but the interior systems will have eratic operation.
Wildsailor is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
Tiger-Heli
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12379
Location: Georgia, United States
What I Drive: 2002 French Blue SE Sedan

Posts: 571
FF Reputation: 4 Tiger-Heli Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I didn't think about the climate info probably going across the data lines.

If you REALLY wanted to do it, you should be able to leave the data lines connected to the Sony HU, mount that behind the dash (???), and route the power and speaker wires to the new Kenwood/Pioneer.

Not sure how Metra's harness adapter would tie into this, but it should be workable.

(Metra's harness supplies an accessory power connection when the non-MFT radio is replaced, but I'm not sure how it handles the data nodes/modules - i.e. if you had the Metra adapter, I don't know if it could be used with the MFT or not ...)
Tiger-Heli is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:42 PM   #8
Tiger-Heli
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12379
Location: Georgia, United States
What I Drive: 2002 French Blue SE Sedan

Posts: 571
FF Reputation: 4 Tiger-Heli Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
To simplify what I posted above:

The new radio only needs constant power, switched power, ground, and speaker connections (and maybe a parking brake or vehicle speed sensor input) to work and a secure way of mounting it.

You have both of those (well, accessory power is complicated), so the new radio can work fine.

The question is what to do with the MFT radio unit and whether it can be disconnected or not.
Tiger-Heli is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.