I'm annoyed ... (SYNC dead again) - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 05:44 PM   #11
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,846
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raceredrudy View Post
I got to the fuses , and I found the right fuse (although I couldn't make out the "67" on it but I determined via owners guide it was the right one) under the glove box ---

Unfortunately I don't know much about car stuff and I have no idea how to remove a fuse or how to disconnect the battery ... Heck I couldn't even find the - !!!

I'm sending you a PM now FordTeam !
No worries Raceredrudy! If you are uncomfortable with any of it by all means take it to the dealership. That is what warranties are for.

If you still want to try the fuse route, there is a little red fuse puller clipped in under the cover of the fuse box under the hood. Use it to pull the fuse(s), wait about 10-15 minutes (that should be more than sufficient), and pop them back in.

Best of luck and report back (whichever route you choose to go) with the results/resolution.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2012, 06:17 PM   #12
Zillon
Focus Addict
 
Zillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 17393
Location: Philthadelphia, PA
What I Drive: '13 GTI

Posts: 1,346
FF Reputation: 27 Zillon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
After a month of fighting with my car to play music from my 1G iPod Touch, and multiple resets, I gave up and switched to my old iPod Nano instead, as a test. I had the same problem - Sync would lock up and freeze, or not work at all when trying to play music from my iTouch.

For some reason, the Nano gave me no issues whatsoever. The iTouch (and perhaps the iPad) might have some compatiblity issues due to iOS. I've since sent in my old Nano to Apple for a free replacement (battery meltdown risk), and the new Nano has been awesome.
__________________
Joined the dark side.
Zillon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 10:18 AM   #13
silenthill
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85671
Location: Atlanta, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL hatch

Posts: 188
FF Reputation: 2 silenthill Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I bought an additional fuse puller at the auto parts store just to use for pulling the Sync fuse. I need to do this about once a month...
silenthill is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:45 AM   #14
Raceredrudy
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Going to do the fuse pull. The car doesn't have to be on does it ?
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:46 AM   #15
Raceredrudy
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
And while I see fuse #67(or 69 whichever it is) for some reason it doesn't say the # on it (or at least clearly) I know it's the right fuse because of the owners manual/location ...
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #16
TboneZX3
Ford Fiend
 
TboneZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90494
Location: Jackson, MO
What I Drive: '12 SE Sport, '01 ZX3, '67 Bronco

Posts: 2,179
FF Reputation: 10 TboneZX3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The only number that will be on the fuse is the amp rating. You have to go by the manual or the diagram on the lid to find the right fuse.
__________________
Hatch Nation #90
'12 SE Sport 5Dr |╠╬╝|Sterling Grey Metallic|203a|Moonroof|17" Paint/Mach Whls|K&N 57S-4000|FFE RMM|Steeda STB, RSB|JBR bushings
'01 ZX3|╠╬╝|Pitch Black|Prem. pkg.|Moonroof|SVT Snorkel|SVT Springs|S2 Dampers|Steeda STS|Magnaflow exh.
TboneZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:27 AM   #17
SpinKix
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95912
Location: So Cal, CA
What I Drive: '12 Sterling Gray Ti 5D DCT THP

Posts: 75
FF Reputation: 3 SpinKix Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Have you tried the Delayed Reboot App?
http://outofmytouch.com/reboot.html

Every time my MFT starts acting up, I use this app, and things clear up for a while at least. I keep the file on a cheap flash drive stored in my owner's manual pouch.

Nice thing about this app is it doesn't wipe your settings. It just forces a "Scheduled System Maintenance".

I haven't had to pull fuses since I bought the car 6 months ago.
SpinKix is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:04 PM   #18
Raceredrudy
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fuse pull worked !!!

Thans guys
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:10 PM   #19
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 851
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post
I bought an additional fuse puller at the auto parts store just to use for pulling the Sync fuse. I need to do this about once a month...
Hi, silenthil -

What's prompting you to pull the fuse? Which software version are you on? PM some details.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raceredrudy View Post
Fuse pull worked !!!

Thans guys
Glad to hear it, Raceredrudy! Keep in mind for future SYNC-related questions.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.