rpm gauge install on a 2000 LX - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Discussions > Ford Focus & General Car Chat

Ford Focus & General Car Chat Discussion Forum relating to nonspecific Ford Focus models, car purchasing, auto industry news and any car talk.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2004, 02:05 PM   #1
FKI_420Raider
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3284
Location: Florida
What I Drive: 2000 silver focus LX

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 FKI_420Raider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
rpm gauge install on a 2000 LX

how do i install a rpm gauge on a 2000 ford focus lx


__________________
149 SPL
FKI_420Raider is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2004, 04:24 PM   #2
crazy_urn
Capt. Urn
 
crazy_urn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1986
Location: Uncharted Waters, CO
What I Drive: 77 F-250, 10 HHR, 08 Outlook

Posts: 5,491
FF Reputation: 5 crazy_urn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
you can swap the guage cluster out with a cluster with a tach, its plug and play, but you need your milage reset. but, i dont know anything about a seperate aftermarket tach, if thats what you are interested in.

but someone please tell, i would also like to know
__________________
Defending the reputation of the red-headed step-child of the focus world for far too long.
crazy_urn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2004, 12:03 AM   #3
FKI_420Raider
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3284
Location: Florida
What I Drive: 2000 silver focus LX

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 FKI_420Raider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Rpm Done

Thanks For The Help but i found some info on a diff focus site. U got plug the tach wire into the pin 48 on your ECU. I Did it today and it works great. only took bout 2 hours to do and its a huge 1 too looks sweet
__________________
149 SPL
FKI_420Raider is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2004, 04:10 PM   #4
focus_guy_03
Powering America
 
focus_guy_03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3336
Location: Waukesha, WI
What I Drive: '14 Focus ST3, '14 Explorer XLT 4WD

Posts: 8,491
Points 9,679, Level 66
Points: 9,679, Level: 66 Points: 9,679, Level: 66 Points: 9,679, Level: 66
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 10 focus_guy_03 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
How do you go about keeping the odometer reading the same, or does it stay the same automatically?
__________________
MECP 1st Class Certified

XboxLive GamerTag - focusguyzx5
focus_guy_03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2004, 04:14 PM   #5
Egz
Sückn' n Blown
 
Egz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 442
Location: Tappahannock, VA
What I Drive: 2003 2.3l ZX3

Posts: 7,742
FF Reputation: 111 Egz Excellent Standing Member Egz Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
His second post sounds like he has an aftermarket tach, not the OEM gauge cluster setup.
__________________
January 2008 Focus Fanatics ROTM
2003 Ford Focus ZX3 2.3l N/A = 221 HP, 162 ft-lbs, 13.967@100.88MPH
2006 Ford Fusion 2.3l Turbo = 244HP, 247ft-lbs

duratec.wikispaces.com - Duratec Wiki - Sign up and contribute!
Egz is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2004, 07:17 PM   #6
FKI_420Raider
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3284
Location: Florida
What I Drive: 2000 silver focus LX

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 FKI_420Raider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah It Was A Big Sunco Tech. I Think If U Did Change the cluster The Miles Of The Car Would Be In The Ecu Not In The cluster.
__________________
149 SPL
FKI_420Raider is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 07:03 PM   #7
logan90us
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99206
Location: Titusville, PA
What I Drive: 2004 Maroon LX 5 speed

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 logan90us Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FKI_420Raider View Post
Thanks For The Help but i found some info on a diff focus site. U got plug the tach wire into the pin 48 on your ECU. I Did it today and it works great. only took bout 2 hours to do and its a huge 1 too looks sweet

Okay, my question is how in the HELL did you get that wire in there? Seems literally impossible.
logan90us is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #8
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,702
Points 18,395, Level 86
Points: 18,395, Level: 86 Points: 18,395, Level: 86 Points: 18,395, Level: 86
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by logan90us View Post
Okay, my question is how in the HELL did you get that wire in there? Seems literally impossible.




Have to crimp the wire onto the proper EEC-V ECU pin, which is what the picture is.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Needed With Boost Gauge Install (DFW Area) TM3 Fanatics: Texas 26 02-17-2006 07:23 PM
probably another gauge install Ques? honhon MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 9 01-30-2006 06:38 PM
Muscle vs. Import fcszx3 Ford Focus & General Car Chat 70 12-21-2005 02:23 PM
help with indiglo gauge install!! jeffrey02 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 1 05-03-2005 07:44 PM
Gauge install?? FociFreak Ford Focus & General Car Chat 5 11-10-2004 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat