Sony stereo does not read CD's - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 02:32 PM   #1
roddy piper
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102907
Location: so cal, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white titanium

Posts: 15
FF Reputation: 1 roddy piper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sony stereo does not read CD's

I have a 2012 titanium and when I put in a store bought cd is say unknown ? whatever. Is there a cure or is the cd player just not smart.....lol It plays the cd, but does not display album art or song names and info. thanks



Last edited by roddy piper; 09-05-2012 at 02:33 PM. Reason: incomplete
roddy piper is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2012, 03:51 PM   #2
fhh02a
HATCH NATION
 
fhh02a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57548
Location: Lubbock, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2004, Pitch Black Zx3

Posts: 6,177
FF Reputation: 13 fhh02a Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by roddy piper View Post
I have a 2012 titanium and when I put in a store bought cd is say unknown ? whatever. Is there a cure or is the cd player just not smart.....lol It plays the cd, but does not display album art or song names and info. thanks
there are 2 ways to look at this..
1. Cd player is dumb
2. The Cd might not have that info on it. Some of mine do, some dont. it depends..



its really not the big of deal.
__________________
Part of the DreamSpeed crew
Moderator for

HATCH NATION..#01
B-S-T
SOUTHERN FANATICS
GEN CHAT
MK1
fhh02a is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:59 PM   #3
StockTalon
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94771
Location: Troy, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium

Posts: 1,854
FF Reputation: 1 StockTalon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhh02a View Post
there are 2 ways to look at this..
1. Cd player is dumb
2. The Cd might not have that info on it. Some of mine do, some dont. it depends..



its really not the big of deal.
This is pretty much the truth.
StockTalon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 04:11 PM   #4
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
The CD has to have that data already coded on it from the record company. If it does not come with track info than see below.

Does your car come with wireless internet? The only way to get track info on any stereo is to have it downloaded - the same way iTunes or any media player on your computer would get track info.

Even if you have NAV, you might not have internet. Navigation works off of GPS. I guess I am curious as to why the OP asked this question, I assume the Titanium comes with internet, right?
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:33 PM   #5
StockTalon
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94771
Location: Troy, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium

Posts: 1,854
FF Reputation: 1 StockTalon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
The CD has to have that data already coded on it from the record company. If it does not come with track info than see below.

Does your car come with wireless internet? The only way to get track info on any stereo is to have it downloaded - the same way iTunes or any media player on your computer would get track info.

Even if you have NAV, you might not have internet. Navigation works off of GPS. I guess I am curious as to why the OP asked this question, I assume the Titanium comes with internet, right?
None of them come with the internet, My Ford Touch has the ability to make a mobile hot spot via your phone or a USB modem.

The way Genome and other systems work inside My Ford Touch is, if your phone is paired via bluetooth and, you allow the connection to pass all traffic is, the system will use your data access to pull down the information that is being requested.
StockTalon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:58 PM   #6
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by StockTalon View Post
None of them come with the internet, My Ford Touch has the ability to make a mobile hot spot via your phone or a USB modem.

The way Genome and other systems work inside My Ford Touch is, if your phone is paired via bluetooth and, you allow the connection to pass all traffic is, the system will use your data access to pull down the information that is being requested.
So, theoretically, he could pair his mobile and than the stereo could get the data? If that is, the stereo is capable of doing so.
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:00 PM   #7
StockTalon
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94771
Location: Troy, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium

Posts: 1,854
FF Reputation: 1 StockTalon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
So, theoretically, he could pair his mobile and than the stereo could get the data? If that is, the stereo is capable of doing so.
For digital media yes, for CDs I am not sure. I don't own any CDs to even try it out.
StockTalon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:25 PM   #8
wilsonfocus86
Focus Addict
 
wilsonfocus86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 23099
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
What I Drive: 14 Fusion 2.0

Posts: 1,156
FF Reputation: 3 wilsonfocus86 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What's a CD?
__________________
"If in doubt.. Flat out." - Colin McRae
wilsonfocus86 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:02 PM   #9
roddy piper
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102907
Location: so cal, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white titanium

Posts: 15
FF Reputation: 1 roddy piper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilsonfocus86 View Post
What's a CD?
They are something I used to buy.........Hey I just was trying out everything.....
roddy piper is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:16 PM   #10
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 890
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by roddy piper View Post
I have a 2012 titanium and when I put in a store bought cd is say unknown ? whatever. Is there a cure or is the cd player just not smart.....lol It plays the cd, but does not display album art or song names and info. thanks
Hi, roddy piper -

Like pyroinsa said, the CD may not be embedded with track information, however, I recommend making sure your Gracenote database is turned on.
To do so, select the menu button and go through the following sequence:

SETTINGS > MEDIA PLAYER > GRACENOTE MGMT > ON

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
The CD has to have that data already coded on it from the record company. If it does not come with track info than see below.
Does your car come with wireless internet? The only way to get track info on any stereo is to have it downloaded - the same way iTunes or any media player on your computer would get track info.
Even if you have NAV, you might not have internet. Navigation works off of GPS. I guess I am curious as to why the OP asked this question, I assume the Titanium comes with internet, right?
Thanks for the tip, pyroinsa. The Titanium is Wi-Fi capable once a hot spot has been established. For more info, check out:

http://Support.Ford.com/sync-technol...c-myford-touch

If anyone has additional questions, contact me via PM. :)

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.