fuel pump does not come on for start - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 08-29-2012, 02:36 AM   #1
toaster2
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 103198
What I Drive: 2001 maroon ZX3

FF Reputation: 1 toaster2 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
fuel pump does not come on for start

total novice at this.

2001 ZX3, less than 22K miles, i bought it new. never been worked on by anyone, except oil change. car runs fine when it runs but now FP does not cycle on to pressurize when ignition turned on. no start, of course. this is third time for this situation. self-recovered twice before. so i'm convinced the FP is good, just not getting a modulated ground signal from the FPDM. the FP fuse and FP relay seem to be fine (swapped relay into low beam position and it worked ok). question is: with no code reader, tools, or knowledge is there anything else i can check? fuel rail sensor? can the FPDM be tested by a shop if i remove it? i prefer to believe the prob is not in the PCM. this would cost more to replace than the value of the vehicle, almost.

what is the round thing on the firewall to which the fuel tank feed and return lines attach? it has an electric part on top. can something like this fail?

thanks for help. where can i find a good description of how all this works?

i may be a little slow responding, like a day or two.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-29-2012, 11:21 PM   #2
toaster2
Focus Rookie

how to test fuel pump?