tps (did a search but need the voltage) - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2004, 04:25 PM   #1
Drabert
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14645
Location: Modesto, CA
What I Drive: 2000 Rain Forest Green SE

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Drabert Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
tps (did a search but need the voltage)

i need to know the voltage for the tps sensor while its closed?

i have a pectel so i can measure the voltage but i think the tps is causing some of my problems at idle... i was told the correct voltage when closed should be 1.0 but when i did this the idle went up to 3grand and just stayed there... i also read somewhere that it should be 0.5v but mine bottoms out before it gets that low... i have a FC TB in a 2000 zetec with a mtx tranny

any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Drabert


Drabert is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2004, 04:35 PM   #2
Kicknzx3
AKA Toyotech
 
Kicknzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 9
Location: Oak Ridge, NJ
What I Drive: A few

Posts: 4,043
FF Reputation: 1 Kicknzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
0.5 is suitable but on most cars its between .8-1.0...if i have time i'll grab my multimeter and give u an exact...only problem, my car idles at 1200rpm...heh if ur worried about it causing problems swap one with somebody, takes 2 seconds. but i do kind of doubt it being the tps. the tps is known for spiking at wot around 3.5v. got any other questions hit me up
__________________
2012 Toyota Camry SE
2012 Chevy Cruze LT/RS
2006 Ford Escape XLE V6
1991 Ford Mustang LX/5.0
Kicknzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 05:49 PM   #3
Toptech
Focus Enthusiast
 
Toptech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Fan#: 2679
Location: West Virginia
What I Drive: 2002 Blue ZX5

Posts: 65
FF Reputation: 1 Toptech Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
.6 to .9 is good. You have to remember to reset the keep alive memory (disconnect the battery for ten minutes) when increasing the tp voltage; otherwise the pcm will think it is now at part throttle and raise the iac duty cycle causing a high idle.
Toptech is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 08:54 PM   #4
IHateRice
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 4120
Location: University of Texas
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 IHateRice Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Which wire should I tap in the TPS harness for a learning WOT switch? It "learns" the voltage curve at WOT but it plugs into 1 wire and I'm not sure which one to plug into.
IHateRice is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 08:58 PM   #5
Kicknzx3
AKA Toyotech
 
Kicknzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 9
Location: Oak Ridge, NJ
What I Drive: A few

Posts: 4,043
FF Reputation: 1 Kicknzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
white and brown
__________________
2012 Toyota Camry SE
2012 Chevy Cruze LT/RS
2006 Ford Escape XLE V6
1991 Ford Mustang LX/5.0
Kicknzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 09:55 PM   #6
IHateRice
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 4120
Location: University of Texas
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 IHateRice Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
White and brown? There is only one wire that I am supposed to hook up to. It is a ZEX WOT activation box.
IHateRice is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 09:59 PM   #7
Kicknzx3
AKA Toyotech
 
Kicknzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 9
Location: Oak Ridge, NJ
What I Drive: A few

Posts: 4,043
FF Reputation: 1 Kicknzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
sorry, browns always ground. just used to saying it as i wasn't expecting you to say nitrous
__________________
2012 Toyota Camry SE
2012 Chevy Cruze LT/RS
2006 Ford Escape XLE V6
1991 Ford Mustang LX/5.0
Kicknzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 11:36 PM   #8
IHateRice
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 4120
Location: University of Texas
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 IHateRice Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The Zex NMU has 3 wires. A red, black, and white. The black is a ground which is going to my window switch. The red is coming from the arming switch. And the white wire should go to the brown or white wire in the TPS? I'm not getting it because you said brown is ground and it seems the white should go to a white wire and it would have to have power.
IHateRice is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 03:26 AM   #9
Drabert
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14645
Location: Modesto, CA
What I Drive: 2000 Rain Forest Green SE

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Drabert Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
hmm.. i wonder if i need to reset the computer with the pectel or if it just doesnt matter...

well thanks for the help though that does answer my question.. i will be sure to adjust the screw back out some to help control the idle

now on another note about the same device(i think)... while driving at part throttle i get hesitation.. looking at my boost gauge it shows that it is around 15 pounds of vaccum... i have already tried to add and remove fuel from that section of the fuel map and adding and removing timing so i dont think it is either (i know i need a wideband)

but while logging the voltage of the tps sensor i do see a spike sometimes at the same time as the hesitation, i just cant tell if its cuz the car is jerking my foot off the pedal or if its the tps sensor... so i am just wondering if the tps could be causing that
Drabert is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 01:36 PM   #10
IHateRice
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 4120
Location: University of Texas
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 IHateRice Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't play with the spark and fuel maps too much without an EGT and Wideband O2 system. Any news on how this is going?

Also, I should plug into the white wire?
IHateRice is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.