flooded? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 07:11 PM   #1
burke_024
Focus Enthusiast
 
burke_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94039
Location: chehalis, WA
What I Drive: 2000 focus zx3, almost boosted : )

Posts: 272
FF Reputation: 1 burke_024 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
flooded?

got the head back on my car had problems figuring out the spark order it started up but roughly i used the timing pin and bar turned the crank shaft clockwise till it hit tdc then used the bar to time the cams ,pretty sure i got it dead on but now it wont start back up all the plugs have spark and when i pulled em out they were covered in black soot (rich) and covered in gas all pistons are wet from gas and compression is at 120 across ,they all built 60 to 80 pressure initially then built in 3-4 repititions to 120 , with all that said is it possible to flood a fuel injected vehicle?


burke_024 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:59 PM   #2
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,309
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
U can flood it but only really if u start it with your foot all the way down on the gas pedal
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:01 PM   #3
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,309
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
The car won't start right if u don't have the plug wires in order. One to four starts from passenger side motor mount to drivers side
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:14 PM   #4
burke_024
Focus Enthusiast
 
burke_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94039
Location: chehalis, WA
What I Drive: 2000 focus zx3, almost boosted : )

Posts: 272
FF Reputation: 1 burke_024 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ive tried every combo from every picture i can find and nothing but its getting fuel and its getting spark the plugs are gapped at .042 motorcraft copper cores ,i think im going to recheck the timing tomorrow and see if maybe it jumped a tooth or two




edited: how would the car run if the maf was "accidentally" put in backwards (airflow wrong way ) ?
also got a code for the head temperature sensor high input?
burke_024 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:25 PM   #5
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,309
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
it would fire but run like shit if not timed correctly
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:11 PM   #6
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You say you got 120 cranking compression but then you said 3 to 4 which tells me a proper compression test wasnt done

You should install th compression tester and spin the engine 4 compression strokes (4 stroke engine) the engine has a rythem to it could them to 4 and let off , whats the compression?

Do you have largr injectors , larger MAF , if so do you have a tune in for these ?

120 is low if it was a proper 4 , check timing again

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:25 PM   #7
burke_024
Focus Enthusiast
 
burke_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94039
Location: chehalis, WA
What I Drive: 2000 focus zx3, almost boosted : )

Posts: 272
FF Reputation: 1 burke_024 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
they are green top injectors and mustang maf housing with pro-m maf , it ran before this just fine all i did was get the head cleaned and checked out , i dont care about retuning it ,it is already tuned for the setup,but im just curious why its flooding it ,and compression test was done exactly like you said if you read the initial post i said "they all built 60 to 80 pressure initially then built in 3-4 repititions to 120" meaning first comp. 60- 80 ,the next few grew to 120 ,on ALL four cylinders,if thats a lil bit clearer for ya
burke_024 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:52 PM   #8
burke_024
Focus Enthusiast
 
burke_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94039
Location: chehalis, WA
What I Drive: 2000 focus zx3, almost boosted : )

Posts: 272
FF Reputation: 1 burke_024 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
no more input tom ? :/
burke_024 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:56 PM   #9
burke_024
Focus Enthusiast
 
burke_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94039
Location: chehalis, WA
What I Drive: 2000 focus zx3, almost boosted : )

Posts: 272
FF Reputation: 1 burke_024 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
You say you got 120 cranking compression but then you said 3 to 4 which tells me a proper compression test wasnt done

You should install th compression tester and spin the engine 4 compression strokes (4 stroke engine) the engine has a rythem to it could them to 4 and let off , whats the compression?

Do you have largr injectors , larger MAF , if so do you have a tune in for these ?

120 is low if it was a proper 4 , check timing again

Tom
btw you forgot to say to open the throttle plate up all the way
burke_024 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.