Duratec/PSEV Instrument cluster swap? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2004, 02:06 AM   #1
DidHeFocus?
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1704
Location: Sacramento, CA
What I Drive: 2003.5 ZTW PZEV

Posts: 1,031
Points 26,532, Level 97
Points: 26,532, Level: 97 Points: 26,532, Level: 97 Points: 26,532, Level: 97
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DidHeFocus? Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Duratec/PSEV Instrument cluster swap?

Has anyone swapped the cluster on the 2.3l PZEV?
I've wanted a tach since the day I got my ZTW, but the only reports I've found are for the Zetec and have even swapped one of those myself. I know it's plug and play for the most part, if you're not worried about the mileage or warning lights for ABS if the old car had it and yours doesn't.
I'm thinking it may be the same on the PZEV, but would like to hear from someone with first hand experience. What mostly worries me, is the mileage reading being accurate. The parts guy at Downtown Ford said that all I have to do is order it and they'll enter my current mileage at the factory before sending it to them. The guy said he called his supplier of the cluster and that was it! It sounds a little too simple to be right, doesn't it? I have a feeling that the ecu will check with the cluster when it is installed and first started up, and if the mileage is even only one mile off, it will store an error code and my car is now "mileage unknown". I would do the tach upgrade, if I was sure this won't happen, or know exactly how this can be done PROPERLY!

BTW, I've asked a bunch of dealers if and how it can be done and got a different answer each time!

Thanks all.


__________________
I'm a middle aged guy, with a middle school mind.
DidHeFocus? is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2004, 04:26 PM   #2
P0WeRbyDuratec
Focus Fanatic
 
P0WeRbyDuratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2109
Location: Buffalo
What I Drive: 2012 WRX Limited

Posts: 2,244
FF Reputation: 1 P0WeRbyDuratec Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Re: Duratec/PSEV Instrument cluster swap?

Quote:
Originally posted by DidHeFocus?
Has anyone swapped the cluster on the 2.3l PZEV?
I've wanted a tach since the day I got my ZTW, but the only reports I've found are for the Zetec and have even swapped one of those myself. I know it's plug and play for the most part, if you're not worried about the mileage or warning lights for ABS if the old car had it and yours doesn't.
I'm thinking it may be the same on the PZEV, but would like to hear from someone with first hand experience. What mostly worries me, is the mileage reading being accurate. The parts guy at Downtown Ford said that all I have to do is order it and they'll enter my current mileage at the factory before sending it to them. The guy said he called his supplier of the cluster and that was it! It sounds a little too simple to be right, doesn't it? I have a feeling that the ecu will check with the cluster when it is installed and first started up, and if the mileage is even only one mile off, it will store an error code and my car is now "mileage unknown". I would do the tach upgrade, if I was sure this won't happen, or know exactly how this can be done PROPERLY!

BTW, I've asked a bunch of dealers if and how it can be done and got a different answer each time!

Thanks all.
i've heard it being done for a duratec b4, it should be as easy as having the right face and hooking up a couple extra wires
P0WeRbyDuratec is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2004, 07:23 PM   #3
aero_student
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1979
Location: CalPoly SLO, CA
What I Drive: '03 Focus ZX3 PZEV

Posts: 1,797
FF Reputation: 1 aero_student Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
you have to order it using the vin off of a car that has a tach.
__________________
MarcyMotorsport:CAI, balanced 11.6:1 motor with ranger crank, cosworth flywheel, tumble flap delete, supertec valve springs, crane cams, clutch master stg I clutch, protoype MarcyMotorsport 2.5" exhaust, FC throttlebody, Quaife, svt bumpers and brakes, full energy bushings, etc.
aero_student is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Cluster Home-repair defleppardsg General Technical Chat 14 06-18-2014 08:00 PM
Instrument Cluster & Running Lights 09bullitt General Technical Chat 8 01-17-2010 03:37 PM
Instrument cluster ?'s wesleyn Ford Focus & General Car Chat 2 02-03-2009 12:23 AM
Replacing OEM Instrument Cluster 01BlueZX3 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 9 06-02-2006 12:25 AM
Instrument Cluster Swap hendu33 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 09-10-2003 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.