subwoofer - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 02:17 PM   #1
FocusHero
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100491
Location: St.Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2003 Black Svt

Posts: 108
FF Reputation: 1 FocusHero Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
subwoofer

can you make a 10 inch sub fit in a factory svt sub box ( it is ok if you have to do some minor mods like cutting and what not)


__________________
svt dohc: eibach spring, k&n intake, magna flow 2.5, light weight flywheel and 69mm throttle body

SVT or die!!!!!
FocusHero is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 10:44 PM   #2
04 Ol' Blue SVT
Focus Enthusiast
 
04 Ol' Blue SVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97771
Location: Washburn, TN
What I Drive: 2004 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 64
FF Reputation: 1 04 Ol' Blue SVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
No, the magnet will be too big for the box, which also wouldnt be deep enough.
__________________
-04 SVT stock.
-98 Mustang V6.
-94 Accord VTEC (SOLD)
04 Ol' Blue SVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:18 AM   #3
Merrigan
Focus Addict
 
Merrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104581
Location: Cold Lake, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Black SE Hatch

Posts: 972
FF Reputation: 2 Merrigan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I doubt it. Like Blue SVT said the box probably won't be big enough. It's worth your time to remove the old box and fit in a new one. Also if you're gonna replace the sub I recommend replacing/upgrading the sub. There's nothing worse than realizing that your sub is under powered.

If you're gonna replace it all I think you should look for a used Sony Xplod system. They're pretty cheap but sound awesome. If you're lucky you may even be able able to pick up a new system at a store like Wal-Mart. In 2010 I bought a 12" Sub and an 800W amp at Wal-Mart on clearance because it was last years stock. Guess what. It sounded amazing anyway. It may have been "old" but it was brand new.

Just my $0.02. If I upgrade the sub in my Focus I'll be keeping an eye out for sure.
Merrigan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:24 AM   #4
ah1f39
Alone in the Cave
 
ah1f39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 70006
Location: In the Cave, MI
What I Drive: 2000 Explorer 4x4

Posts: 5,543
FF Reputation: 28 ah1f39 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
It has been done. You would need a shallow mount sub. There was a how to thread with pics at one time.

You could find a Mach enclosure and cut the corner off and re-seal it. It will take a standard size 10" sub.
ah1f39 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:45 AM   #5
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ah1f39 View Post
It has been done. You would need a shallow mount sub. There was a how to thread with pics at one time.
^This

It has been done. iirc you don't need a slim sub either - if you cut off the part that the OEM sub bolts too. I love the svt sub box, keeps your hatch nice and clean.

I upgraded mine to a Rockford Fosgate 8" sub, it cost me more than any 10" sub and sounds the same. I even dynamatted the box inside and out to help with the sound.


__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:28 AM   #6
Merrigan
Focus Addict
 
Merrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104581
Location: Cold Lake, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Black SE Hatch

Posts: 972
FF Reputation: 2 Merrigan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
^This

It has been done. iirc you don't need a slim sub either - if you cut off the part that the OEM sub bolts too. I love the svt sub box, keeps your hatch nice and clean.

I upgraded mine to a Rockford Fosgate 8" sub, it cost me more than any 10" sub and sounds the same. I even dynamatted the box inside and out to help with the sound.


That looks really clean. No wiring strung out, and you used the stock box. Good work.
Merrigan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:43 AM   #7
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merrigan View Post
That looks really clean. No wiring strung out, and you used the stock box. Good work.
Thanks!!! It took me a long time to get the hatch area to look this good. Mine is not an SVT so I had to find the enclosure and carpet, still looking for the bottom carpet
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:45 AM   #8
Merrigan
Focus Addict
 
Merrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104581
Location: Cold Lake, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Black SE Hatch

Posts: 972
FF Reputation: 2 Merrigan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
Thanks!!! It took me a long time to get the hatch area to look this good. Mine is not an SVT so I had to find the enclosure and carpet, still looking for the bottom carpet
I never would have guessed. Seriously good work. Were those LED's built onto the sub? Or are they separate?
Merrigan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:51 AM   #9
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merrigan View Post
I never would have guessed. Seriously good work. Were those LED's built onto the sub? Or are they separate?
Led's are separate, I took two strips and wrapped them around the sub, and another two strips on both sides of the hatch. All LED's are wired to the hatch light so when you open it, they come on. I was thinking about putting another blue LED in the OEM light fixture, but decided to paint it black. Also the speaker grille is the OEM off the sub itself, I ripped the stock sub apart for the grille, and I pulled the grille off the carpet to expose the sub better.

Here is an older pic that doesn't have my stress bar, but you can see the LED's better:
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:00 AM   #10
Merrigan
Focus Addict
 
Merrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104581
Location: Cold Lake, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Black SE Hatch

Posts: 972
FF Reputation: 2 Merrigan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
Led's are separate, I took two strips and wrapped them around the sub, and another two strips on both sides of the hatch. All LED's are wired to the hatch light so when you open it, they come on. I was thinking about putting another blue LED in the OEM light fixture, but decided to paint it black. Also the speaker grille is the OEM off the sub itself, I ripped the stock sub apart for the grille, and I pulled the grille off the carpet to expose the sub better.

Here is an older pic that doesn't have my stress bar, but you can see the LED's better:
Gotcha. It looks pretty awesome. Wiring them to the hatch light is genius.

I kind of want to put a led on the stock sub in my Focus. But I'm a little bit to OCD I think to pull it off. I have the accent lighting and I tend to change that up front pretty often. Having say a blue light on the sub and red floor lights up front would bug me. Maybe if I can find an LED strip with the same colors I'll do it.
Merrigan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.