PTS Remote start from OEM Fob - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 07:55 PM   #11
MKorn
Focus Enthusiast
 
MKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97610
Location: Flint, MI
What I Drive: 2012, SE, Sport, 5MT, Hatch -Silver

Posts: 165
FF Reputation: 1 MKorn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
will that work with a manual?
MKorn is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2012, 08:08 PM   #12
SaToX
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94321
Location: Moncton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatch

Posts: 124
FF Reputation: 4 SaToX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
not off the oem remote unfortunately
SaToX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:09 PM   #13
Aychdot
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95866
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: Then 1995 Escort, Now 2012 Ti hatch

Posts: 59
Points 163, Level 3
Points: 163, Level: 3 Points: 163, Level: 3 Points: 163, Level: 3
Level Up 26% Completed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Aychdot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
can you use the idatalink ADS-AL CA instead? I don't see the one you have listed on ebay. How much do you think it will cost to get it programmed?
Aychdot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:28 PM   #14
SaToX
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94321
Location: Moncton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatch

Posts: 124
FF Reputation: 4 SaToX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes. The ADS-Al CA is the module I used. They are programmable to do almost any car on the market depending on the firmware you load into it. The downside with this particular firmware is that you have to do a 2 part programming. First hook up all the wires then program it for step one. Plug it back into the car then proceed. What it essentially does is copy the key information the first time you turn the ignition on then you have to remove it, plug it back into the computer and continue to program for step 2. Second step essentially checks the CAN network in the car to make sure that it is reading the car correctly.

The part you need to be able to flash the unit is ADS-USB
SaToX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:35 PM   #15
MKorn
Focus Enthusiast
 
MKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97610
Location: Flint, MI
What I Drive: 2012, SE, Sport, 5MT, Hatch -Silver

Posts: 165
FF Reputation: 1 MKorn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ok, thanks
MKorn is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #16
electech
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85620
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
What I Drive: '12 Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 312
FF Reputation: 1 electech Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It looks like if you have to program it online, you need to log on with a business id. I did find it here and looks like they do the programming for you and is cheap enough.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...-AL-CA-64.html
electech is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:51 AM   #17
SaToX
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94321
Location: Moncton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatch

Posts: 124
FF Reputation: 4 SaToX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Easiest thing to do might be to get everything wired in then take a spin out to your local car starter shop. They would most likely have the programmer. It is only about 6-7 minutes to program both steps.
SaToX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:17 AM   #18
electech
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85620
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
What I Drive: '12 Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 312
FF Reputation: 1 electech Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaToX View Post
Easiest thing to do might be to get everything wired in then take a spin out to your local car starter shop. They would most likely have the programmer. It is only about 6-7 minutes to program both steps.
Car starter shop? Not sure what that is. If a person ordered this from the link in my other post and they claim to do the programming for you, would this work? Do you have to wire, hook up, then unhook and program. I think you said that the box learns the car on that initial turn on but if this is the case I am wondering why they would advertise they would program your car for you.

Looking forward to the install video as this has really got me interested, especially for the price.
electech is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:22 AM   #19
hand-filer
Focus Enthusiast
 
hand-filer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90895
Location: Wpg, Canada
What I Drive: One less Ford

Posts: 343
FF Reputation: 1 hand-filer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for posting this. I wish I would have held off on buying the Ford remote start system. It is a complicated install and generally speaking a POS.
__________________
2012 Mustang Brembo GT - Kona Blue
2013 Acura RDX - Alabaster Silver
hand-filer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:53 AM   #20
SaToX
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94321
Location: Moncton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatch

Posts: 124
FF Reputation: 4 SaToX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
In most cars you do not need to do a 2 step programming so they can simply program the unit on their end and send it to you. In the case for the focus it goes like so.

1. Program part one on computer
2. Plug into car turn ignition on (light on box flashes rapidly and stays that way)
3. Remove box from car plug back into computer and program for part 2
4. Plug back into car and turn ignition back on, wait and light will go solid green.
5 Done.

And yes the factory ford one is a POS they use and extra key in a box. I seen the diagram when I first got my car and refused to do it. The diagram from Idatalink is doing exactly what you would do to start the car 1. shows the key present, holds the brake, hits the start button, lets go of brake. The benefit of this is when the dealer plugs in with the scan tool there will be no codes present from modules not being power up properly.
SaToX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.