Fearing the worst - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 06:35 AM   #11
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,998
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
No it had nothing to do with the tuning it is an issue with the SCT software/firmware and only with the SVT

We are trying a Livewire as SCT thinks this will cure the problem with the SVT Focus and it failing when a tune is loaded

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2012, 06:45 AM   #12
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,529
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomsdayFAN View Post
Ever get this figured out and fixed? How much additional time and money did it cost you? Was it all because of a bad tune?
Yes as Tom said we're going to try the livewire since they say they have much more success with it. Blivit told me the only tuner that reliably tunes his car is their TSx.

With my original problem, I sent my ecu into SCT because it was essentially wiped clean (showing dashes). He recovered it for me, and loaded the custom tune I wanted on it. I was able to do a datalog for Tom, got a new tune back, and the xcal wiped my ecu clean again, and thats how it sits in my car right now.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:34 AM   #13
bespurcell
Focus Addict
 
bespurcell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60917
Location: Purcell, OK
What I Drive: 2003 black svt

Posts: 716
FF Reputation: 2 bespurcell Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Maybe sct could do an exchange program for SVT owners that have the XCALIII. I would pay to upgrade to the livewire if it saved me all the hassle. It usually takes me a couple hours every time I have to reflash my ecu before it will work.
__________________
Dominant Eng. orp, ITG Maxogen panel filter, Focus-Power tune, Team Dynamic Pro Race 2 16x7 wheels in black(36 lb weight reduction from stock tire/wheel combo)
bespurcell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:52 PM   #14
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,529
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
They're not taking responsibility for it. We've tried
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:17 PM   #15
itbparada
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fan#: 31881
Location: Brunswick, OH, United States
What I Drive: 03 fSVT zx3

Posts: 426
FF Reputation: 5 itbparada Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
this has happened to me on numerous occasions loading tunes... just dashes actoss the odo and No response from obdII dtc or anything. Blinking light over dash board is just lit DIM. Tried a BUNCH of things but this has worked some how every time this has happened...

I lock the car, doors closed, pull battery term and wait 5-10 min.

Hook battery back up, Hit unlock, lock, then unlock again

Get in car, plug xcal 2 in, select "RETURN TO STOCK" & wait for "turn key on" prompt on screen

Turn car key to "ON", gauges sweep and factory tune loads

I have to do this randomly after my svt sits extended time in storage with no battery (or random times loading tunes). Throw a battery in and dashes across the ODO... I tried chasing wires comparing resistance values between a running fSVT side by side. Tried all kinds of combos until I found this one. It works 70% of the time (took a max of 3 tries a couple times). I thought maybe it was the ECU but I dont have a SINGLE problem with the ecu once the tune is loaded.

Who knows if it will work for you BUT I havent seen 1 single option other than Dealer or SCT
__________________
'03 Fsvt-JRSC/BBK/ODP/WMI/ZEX100shot/JEpistons/EAGLErods/ARP/P&PHead+1mm/CMtwindisk/FW/TorsenLSD/PolyMounts/67TB/CatDelete/3"SSExh
'98 Csvt Hybrid-3L 248whp/'97 SableWagon-DD
'03 R1-Built/'89 Sportster-14:1 1340cc
itbparada is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:53 PM   #16
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,998
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Pulling fuses is still the best option , the problem is the black oak ECU and how the ECU , Dash both have to comunicate with the flasher

Fuse 46/61

I know SCT can fix this issue IF THEY WANTED TO because the Predator loads with no issues on the SVT and I know the SVT guys have to be as smart as the SCT guys , It isnt like its something that cannot be done , they choose not to spend the time to do it because of the low build # the SVT has

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:31 AM   #17
Pepsibottle1
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95750
Location: Norfolk, VA
What I Drive: 2004 Honda Element EX AWD

Posts: 25
FF Reputation: 1 Pepsibottle1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sorry to hear that man, hope everything gets sorted out for ya.
__________________
Just a poor college student dreaming of owning a ZX3.

"I'm not going to take this defeatist attitude and listen to all this crap any more from all these people who have nothing except doomsday to predict. "
- Carroll Shelby
Pepsibottle1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:44 PM   #18
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 DX3 SE

Posts: 2,164
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You guys that have this issue happen to you have high powered car stereos?

I often wondered if the issues i have is my amp kicking on or pulling the battery down slightly when turning the key on.

I never get the xcal to work the first time its always on the second or third time as if my amp is charging caps or something pulling the battery down slightly to a voltage the xcal doesnt like to opperate at.

Or maybe its something else pulling it down a little right when i first turn the key and its been cold a while?
__________________
DX3?.. huh?.. well ZX3 = Zetec the 05-07 has a Duratec so DX3
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:24 PM   #19
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,529
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Thats why Ive always had a battery charger on it when using the xcal. I also have taken my amp wire loose from the battery before. It changed nothing.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 09:48 PM   #20
bespurcell
Focus Addict
 
bespurcell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60917
Location: Purcell, OK
What I Drive: 2003 black svt

Posts: 716
FF Reputation: 2 bespurcell Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have the stock stereo system and had the battery hooked up to my minivan(using heavy duty jumper cables) with the van running and it still took 3-4 tries. I never had this problem on my 2006 duratec using the exact same Xcal.
__________________
Dominant Eng. orp, ITG Maxogen panel filter, Focus-Power tune, Team Dynamic Pro Race 2 16x7 wheels in black(36 lb weight reduction from stock tire/wheel combo)

Last edited by bespurcell; 04-03-2012 at 09:49 PM. Reason: added to
bespurcell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.