Focus Didn't Pass First Emissions - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Focus Didn't Pass First Emissions

I just got a call from the dealership, my Focus didn't pass the first round of inspections.

Last night, I put my second O2 sensor back in, and reset the ecu to stock. Other than that, I have a 2.5 FSWerks exhaust and a K&N air filter.

They said that if the codes were cleared recently, that could be a cause for it not passing originally. Resetting the ECU would do that. But as for the running test, should I be worried at all?


MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2011, 03:01 PM   #2
norcalfocus01
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55603
Location: Manteca, Nor*Cal!, United States
What I Drive: White N Gold 2001 Sedan

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 132 norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
You have to drive the car about 60-75 miles both in town and highway to let all the systems run before having the emission test ran on it. Once you do that and you have no CEL's you'll pass no problem.
norcalfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 03:12 PM   #3
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,214
Points 51,387, Level 100
Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Even if the codes have not been cleared lately if you have a tune on your car with things turned off that would show a readiness codes not ready/complete , do you have a tune ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 03:22 PM   #4
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalfocus01 View Post
You have to drive the car about 60-75 miles both in town and highway to let all the systems run before having the emission test ran on it. Once you do that and you have no CEL's you'll pass no problem.
Ah, that would be it. Had tops 15 miles on it after resetting the ecu to stock.
After running it with Tom's tune, I really hate the driving feel after going to stock. I'll have to remember that next time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Even if the codes have not been cleared lately if you have a tune on your car with things turned off that would show a readiness codes not ready/complete , do you have a tune ?

Tom
Yeah, your tune. But I set the ecu back to stock just before taking it in.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 03:30 PM   #5
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,214
Points 51,387, Level 100
Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
When you change the tune it acts like doing a ECU reset , go drive

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 04:23 PM   #6
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Although emissions hasn't been the only problem. Looks like I had plenty of brake wear. That is something I've noticed with the tune, the car accelerates even with my foot off the pedal. So to just go forward slowly I have to apply the brakes, otherwise, I'll move forward faster than the people in front of me.

So the tune has been hell on my brakes. Any recommendations there?
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 05:48 PM   #7
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,214
Points 51,387, Level 100
Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100 Points: 51,387, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Lower the idle , shouldnt be above 900-950 a 5mph role has little to no effect on the brake ware

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 06:10 PM   #8
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Lower the idle , shouldnt be above 900-950 a 5mph role has little to no effect on the brake ware

Tom
Yeah, it's normally over 1k. I'll do that, thanks.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 06:26 PM   #9
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I went in to change the options but it wouldn't let me. Only the first tune I had would allow me to change the options, the others wouldn't.

What could have caused that?
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2011, 11:59 PM   #10
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not to triple post, but for anyone else who has this issue, my Focus passed inspection. If you reset the ecu, drive it for around 70 miles, plenty below 55 mph.

My brakes got worn because it was idling too high. After I get an unlocked tune, I'll be able to lower that, and everything should be fine.
This wasn't the tune's fault, I should have acted on this a while ago. I knew the idle was a bit too high, and that it was creating brake wear. After I fix the idle, that shouldn't be an issue again.


Sent from my iPhone using FF Mobile
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat