Adding fog lights on prewired chassis - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 12:51 PM   #11
valflyinf
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 92014
Location: NYC, NY
What I Drive: 2000 focus zts

Posts: 9
FF Reputation: 3 valflyinf Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breonna1988 View Post
^^^
This?
The harnesses were pretty obvious once I lied on my back with a head lamp on my forehead and coffee in stomach and inspected the area were they would logically be...
valflyinf is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2012, 12:54 PM   #12
valflyinf
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 92014
Location: NYC, NY
What I Drive: 2000 focus zts

Posts: 9
FF Reputation: 3 valflyinf Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2003 Ford Focus View Post
Found the female pigtails for the fog / driving lights while under the car yesterday for the first time. So the wiring is definitely there. Also noticed the black plastic apron (acts like an air dam) between the bumper cover and the bottom of the rad cradle is completely disconnected. Bolts fell out due to rust, and hitting those cement bumpers in parking lots I think. Will likely have to open the holes up to accept 5/16 or 3/8 " SAE fasteners. The clips that join the apron to the bottom side of the bumper cover are broken too. Will figure out a solution for that.
A solution for that? zip ties. You are not fitting a turbocharger system on your focus hehe..Then you WOULD need proper fasteners that don't break, don't rust, look good...
valflyinf is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:34 PM   #13
calebstubstad
Chef Boyardee
 
calebstubstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103240
Location: Fargo, ND
What I Drive: 2000 Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 2,702
FF Reputation: 4 calebstubstad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
sorry to bring this back, but is it safe to say most/all first gen foci have the harness already there? if so my life would be a million times easier, i think, more so because i'd just hack the pig tails off to use for being able to run to a different switch
calebstubstad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:13 PM   #14
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,759
FF Reputation: 44 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Get under the car and look. No guesswork involved then.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:01 PM   #15
calebstubstad
Chef Boyardee
 
calebstubstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103240
Location: Fargo, ND
What I Drive: 2000 Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 2,702
FF Reputation: 4 calebstubstad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
cant seem to find the pigtails undr my hood, but i do have a 20 amp fuse i nthe fuse box (interior) and i think i have that wire in 83b. my memory is shit n i looked and i think it was 83b, if not it was 83a. idk if that makes a difference. there is no relay under the hood, whats my situation here
calebstubstad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:24 PM   #16
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,759
FF Reputation: 44 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
Get under the car and look. No guesswork involved then.
I do mean under.
Behind where the foglights would go ...
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:29 PM   #17
calebstubstad
Chef Boyardee
 
calebstubstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103240
Location: Fargo, ND
What I Drive: 2000 Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 2,702
FF Reputation: 4 calebstubstad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
i did get completely under. like next to my horn under. unless i'm just completely stupid, they arent there.
calebstubstad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 01:14 PM   #18
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,759
FF Reputation: 44 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Then yours isn't pre-wired.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:58 PM   #19
calebstubstad
Chef Boyardee
 
calebstubstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103240
Location: Fargo, ND
What I Drive: 2000 Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 2,702
FF Reputation: 4 calebstubstad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=271074906836

do you know how this kit will work then? it has switch and everything but im not really seeing where ill go about hooking it up to the harness so it even runs to the interior. actually i plan on just using pigtails and grille and housings to run to a seperate switch, depending on what itll take to make it factory like
calebstubstad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:40 PM   #20
Gumbydammit
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83423
Location: Pooler, GA
What I Drive: 01 red focus wagon dohc

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Gumbydammit Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, so my car has the pig tails hanging under the bumper, but nothick green and black wire for the switch. I installed the fog lights, relay, fuze, and switch. Where does the green/black wire from 83b position go to? What do I have to do to get them working?
Gumbydammit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.