GPS Mounting in 2012 Focus - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 03:18 PM   #1
foci jedi
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88355
Location: Herndon, VA
What I Drive: 2014 Oxford White ST

Posts: 21
FF Reputation: 1 foci jedi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
GPS Mounting in 2012 Focus

Just recd my new Magellan RoadMate GPS that I got free for purchasing a set of Continental tires at Tire Rack. Ive never installed one before anyone have a best location suggestion for the 2012 Focus?


foci jedi is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
DVolpe
Focus Enthusiast
 
DVolpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89714
Location: Baltimore, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Focus

Posts: 260
Points 1,193, Level 18
Points: 1,193, Level: 18 Points: 1,193, Level: 18 Points: 1,193, Level: 18
Level Up 93% Completed
Level up: 93% Level up: 93% Level up: 93%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 DVolpe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a garmin nuvi. and it fits perfectly in the SYNC display, maybe yours will too?

I dont use my GPS alot so its usually in the glove box, but when i do use it i just put it here
DVolpe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:46 PM   #3
foci jedi
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88355
Location: Herndon, VA
What I Drive: 2014 Oxford White ST

Posts: 21
FF Reputation: 1 foci jedi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Looks Great....thx!!

I'll give it a try....I probably won't use mine that much so that's a good solution....leave it in the glove box, out of sight, and don't have an invitation for some yahoo to break a window to get it.
foci jedi is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:57 PM   #4
feta_mgp
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,646
Points 3,216, Level 35
Points: 3,216, Level: 35 Points: 3,216, Level: 35 Points: 3,216, Level: 35
Level Up 11% Completed
Level up: 11% Level up: 11% Level up: 11%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
in my SEL with MFT, i stick it to the windshield just right of the rearview mirror mount, so when I look up at it, its just below the mirror in my sightline, works like a charm for me
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:00 PM   #5
jimmyt
Focus Enthusiast
 
jimmyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90069
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Gray Focus titanium

Posts: 291
FF Reputation: 1 jimmyt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you direct wire it, I would mount it on the left side of the front windshield where it is easy to reach and program. NOTE: check warranty coverage on your car if you direct wire it as it could be considered, under strict interpretation, as a modification. The same could apply to a radar detector. The other location choice is limited to the plug in in the center console on my 2012 Focus, which will limit you to mount it in the center of the windshield.
jimmyt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:12 PM   #6
foci jedi
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88355
Location: Herndon, VA
What I Drive: 2014 Oxford White ST

Posts: 21
FF Reputation: 1 foci jedi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks....I'll give that a try also!
foci jedi is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:26 PM   #7
jcornwall
Focus Enthusiast
 
jcornwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88283
Location: Austin, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Ti YB Hatch

Posts: 143
FF Reputation: 1 jcornwall Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I use a friction mount on my Garmin. Just sits on the dash on top of MFT when I need it and pops into the center console when I don't.
jcornwall is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:09 AM   #8
Bill3rAIL
Focus Enthusiast
 
Bill3rAIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89058
Location: Hicksville, NY
What I Drive: 2012 SE 5Dr Hatch Silver/2002 Dodge

Posts: 149
Points 434, Level 8
Points: 434, Level: 8 Points: 434, Level: 8 Points: 434, Level: 8
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 Bill3rAIL Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Lower left side of windshield.
A little out of the way, but I remove it from the holder to program an address.
I need to hard wire it under the dash so I can free up the power socket and get rid of the loose wire wrapped around the steering column and shifter.
__________________
Bill

2012 5 Door Hatch SE
203A & Sport package with 16" wheels
Bill3rAIL is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:27 AM   #9
lscrx
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 41668
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SE hatch 5mt

Posts: 968
FF Reputation: 2 lscrx Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVolpe View Post
I have a garmin nuvi. and it fits perfectly in the SYNC display, maybe yours will too?
I dont use my GPS alot so its usually in the glove box, but when i do use it i just put it here
i do the same thing with our Navigon, But i put it at an angle so i can still see both screens.

Posted via FF Mobile
lscrx is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:55 PM   #10
DVolpe
Focus Enthusiast
 
DVolpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89714
Location: Baltimore, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Focus

Posts: 260
Points 1,193, Level 18
Points: 1,193, Level: 18 Points: 1,193, Level: 18 Points: 1,193, Level: 18
Level Up 93% Completed
Level up: 93% Level up: 93% Level up: 93%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 DVolpe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lscrx View Post
i do the same thing with our Navigon, But i put it at an angle so i can still see both screens.

Posted via FF Mobile
My friend you are a genius
DVolpe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.