My Ford Touch Thread - Page 295 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 02:11 PM   #2941
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PandT View Post
Same here but I read some reply that said that Wi-Fi had no use in our cars yet?
You can configure WiFi/PAN to use your cell phone as an Internet gateway. The WiFi connection can then be used by multiple devices for Internet access. It does work, but PAN needs to be enabled manually every time the car is turned on.

I had uses for this but manually enabling PAN all the time turned out to be a PITA.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2013, 02:22 PM   #2942
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtncpa View Post
I know we think our cars infotainment is the worst sometimes ... well I was driving in my buddies new Mercedes ... the display went black. it did some sort of reboot and came back. I asked if that happened before and he said yes and Mercedes said they can't fix it unless they see it happen. He is also having trouble with the car working with his iPod. Sounds similar to some of the problems we are having ... Does this help us? No ... but misery loves company!!!
I think the only company that's nailed the IVI thing is Tesla with the Model S. There are plenty of complaints for just about every other system out there, just pick a make/model and Google the forums.

My biggest complaint is that the screen orientation is all wrong. It should be in a portrait orientation not landscape. When your using the system for navigation and traffic reporting it's better to see what's ahead of you, not on the sides. As far as I know, only Tesla has done this right.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:55 PM   #2943
feta_mgp
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,631
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oritpro View Post
I think the only company that's nailed the IVI thing is Tesla with the Model S. There are plenty of complaints for just about every other system out there, just pick a make/model and Google the forums.

My biggest complaint is that the screen orientation is all wrong. It should be in a portrait orientation not landscape. When your using the system for navigation and traffic reporting it's better to see what's ahead of you, not on the sides. As far as I know, only Tesla has done this right.
+1. Tesla's implementation is spot on. I always use my phone portrait for navigating for the same reason you posted.
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:29 AM   #2944
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feta_mgp View Post
+1. Tesla's implementation is spot on. I always use my phone portrait for navigating for the same reason you posted.
Widescreen monitors are for watching movies and belong in the back seat. You really don't even need one for a back up camera. However, flip it to a portrait orientation and it becomes much more useful to the driver.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 01:04 PM   #2945
Black Bengal
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95110
Location: Pearland, TX
What I Drive: '09 black SES & '12 tux black ti

Posts: 101
FF Reputation: 2 Black Bengal Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sigh...I haven't gotten any responses yet to the following question about my iPhone. Does anyone know how to get the phone to show up on MFT as USB instead of A/V?


I’m hoping someone can help me with a MFT/iPhone question. Just about on a daily basis while I’m driving, I listen to radio stations on my iPhone via the TuneIn Radio, radioPup, or iHeartRadio apps. I always plug the iPhone into a special connector cord from Apple that uses A/V plugs + a USB plug. I like using this cord better than using Bluetooth because it keeps my phone charged. Just about every time I initially connect the iPhone to this cord, I have to listen through the A/V selection on MFT, but sometimes after disconnecting & reconnecting the iPhone several times during the next 20 minutes or so, the iPhone will show up on MFT as the USB setting & I can then listen through the USB setting. I prefer listening through the USB selection because I can control the pause/play & forward/reverse controls through the steering wheel or on the MFT screen. Can someone tell me how I can get MFT to recognize my iPhone on the USB setting every time I connect my iPhone to this cable? Thanks.
Black Bengal is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 01:34 PM   #2946
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,864
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I saw your post earlier but didn't respond because I guess I was a little confused. Why are you using that cord? Why not just use a straight-up USB cord?
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 03:10 PM   #2947
Black Bengal
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95110
Location: Pearland, TX
What I Drive: '09 black SES & '12 tux black ti

Posts: 101
FF Reputation: 2 Black Bengal Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
I saw your post earlier but didn't respond because I guess I was a little confused. Why are you using that cord? Why not just use a straight-up USB cord?
Good question. I am using the 4-part apple cord because my MFT owner’s manual states something to the effect that the 4-part cable must be used with iPhones for video (if compatible). Until now I never noticed that these instructions are for video. I guess I read over this part too fast & thought these instructions applied to the audio mode too. I’ll try just the USB cord.
Black Bengal is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 05:59 AM   #2948
r1ch999999
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106748
Location: Nashua, NH
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Titanium Hatchback

Posts: 150
FF Reputation: 1 r1ch999999 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So, maybe this was mentioned before, why on earth can I not hit the voice command button and say 'call 911' and have it actually call 911?
r1ch999999 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 07:15 AM   #2949
lewisra
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93289
Location: Howell, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Black SEL

Posts: 566
FF Reputation: 3 lewisra Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ch999999 View Post
So, maybe this was mentioned before, why on earth can I not hit the voice command button and say 'call 911' and have it actually call 911?
Beacuse 911 is not a contact in your phone. Make 911 a contact and it will work.
lewisra is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 07:21 AM   #2950
r1ch999999
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106748
Location: Nashua, NH
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Titanium Hatchback

Posts: 150
FF Reputation: 1 r1ch999999 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'll give that a shot, thanks.
r1ch999999 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.