My Ford Touch Thread - Page 15 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2012, 05:47 PM   #141
JessicaTi
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89253
Location: Miami, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Ti

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 4 JessicaTi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If I'm reading this right, you did the Master Reset which starts you with a blank slate.

You then paired your phone again and uploaded your contacts again.

As I understand the issue, you can see that the contacts are loaded, but you can't access them by voice. What does the system say or do at this point?

Will the phone dial out if you press the Dial button on the contact page? Can you manually dial a number?

You can try manually deleting your phone and then adding it back again. When you do, turn off the Auto Download function and manually enter a contact and see if that works.

The reason I asked about other phones is one phone should be set as Primary, and I was wondering your phone was set as Primary. Do the other phones have the same issue?
JessicaTi is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2012, 06:46 PM   #142
aperson9923
Focus Enthusiast
 
aperson9923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90061
Location: Bay Area - Marin County, CA
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Ti Hatch

Posts: 263
Points 1,748, Level 24
Points: 1,748, Level: 24 Points: 1,748, Level: 24 Points: 1,748, Level: 24
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 aperson9923 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JessicaTi View Post
If I'm reading this right, you did the Master Reset which starts you with a blank slate.

You then paired your phone again and uploaded your contacts again.

As I understand the issue, you can see that the contacts are loaded, but you can't access them by voice. What does the system say or do at this point?

Will the phone dial out if you press the Dial button on the contact page? Can you manually dial a number?

You can try manually deleting your phone and then adding it back again. When you do, turn off the Auto Download function and manually enter a contact and see if that works.

The reason I asked about other phones is one phone should be set as Primary, and I was wondering your phone was set as Primary. Do the other phones have the same issue?
So to answer your questions (and thanks again for your help) I did the
Master reset and repaired my phone. My phone book downloads and I can access it from MFT and place a call that way. It if say "Phone" and then "Call [name]" it will either ask what name and then after a few failed attempts it will give up, or it will sometimes go in a loop where I will say Call Dad, for ex, and then it will start over again at the "Please Say A command" Prompt. It is really bugging me I tried other phones and none of them work at all. It is so annoying I did try the manual phone book download and everything. The strange thing is that if I say dial and then a number it will work or in navigation if I say a street. E it will recognize it.
__________________
2012 Sterling Grey Metallic Ford Focus Titanium Hatch
401A, Navi, MFT, Rain Sensing Wipers
Built: 11/28/11 Arrived: 12/16/11 (4 Miles)
Mods: Tint 20/5, LockPick & Backup Camera, K&N Drop In
aperson9923 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #143
JessicaTi
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89253
Location: Miami, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Ti

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 4 JessicaTi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aperson9923 View Post
So to answer your questions (and thanks again for your help) I did the
Master reset and repaired my phone. My phone book downloads and I can access it from MFT and place a call that way. It if say "Phone" and then "Call [name]" it will either ask what name and then after a few failed attempts it will give up, or it will sometimes go in a loop where I will say Call Dad, for ex, and then it will start over again at the "Please Say A command" Prompt. It is really bugging me I tried other phones and none of them work at all. It is so annoying I did try the manual phone book download and everything. The strange thing is that if I say dial and then a number it will work or in navigation if I say a street. E it will recognize it.
Ok, so we know the Bluetooth works, calls can be made manually through the MFT contact list, the voice works for manually dialing and voice works for NAV.

The only think I can think of is there's an issue with matching voice commands to the contact database.

Is there anything unusual with your contact list? A large number of contacts, special ringtones assigned to contacts, photos? (I think you mentioned before you don't have any photos in your contact list.)

Unless anyone else has a better idea, I would do another Master Reset, re-pair your phone but do not auto download your phonebook, then just manually enter one contact with an easy to pronounce name, unless you've already tried this.
JessicaTi is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #144
aperson9923
Focus Enthusiast
 
aperson9923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90061
Location: Bay Area - Marin County, CA
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Ti Hatch

Posts: 263
Points 1,748, Level 24
Points: 1,748, Level: 24 Points: 1,748, Level: 24 Points: 1,748, Level: 24
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 aperson9923 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JessicaTi View Post
Ok, so we know the Bluetooth works, calls can be made manually through the MFT contact list, the voice works for manually dialing and voice works for NAV.

The only think I can think of is there's an issue with matching voice commands to the contact database.

Is there anything unusual with your contact list? A large number of contacts, special ringtones assigned to contacts, photos? (I think you mentioned before you don't have any photos in your contact list.)

Unless anyone else has a better idea, I would do another Master Reset, re-pair your phone but do not auto download your phonebook, then just manually enter one contact with an easy to pronounce name, unless you've already tried this.
I only have 215 contacts which I think is a small amount. I delete ones all the time. I reset it again. No luck. I made a John Smith contact an even that didn't work. I don't know what else I can do.
__________________
2012 Sterling Grey Metallic Ford Focus Titanium Hatch
401A, Navi, MFT, Rain Sensing Wipers
Built: 11/28/11 Arrived: 12/16/11 (4 Miles)
Mods: Tint 20/5, LockPick & Backup Camera, K&N Drop In
aperson9923 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 09:17 PM   #145
JessicaTi
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89253
Location: Miami, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Ti

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 4 JessicaTi Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aperson9923 View Post
I only have 215 contacts which I think is a small amount. I delete ones all the time. I reset it again. No luck. I made a John Smith contact an even that didn't work. I don't know what else I can do.
Yes, 215 contacts is a small amount. I can't think of anything else to try. I don't remember seeing anything like this posted before.

If you find out what it is before the next upgrade, please let us know.
JessicaTi is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 09:24 AM   #146
sydtron
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91386
Location: Crofton, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus

Posts: 32
FF Reputation: 1 sydtron Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anyone ever have their BT media audio suddenly stop working? My phone (Galaxy S2 Sprint) says it is only connected to phone audio, even though it's enabled for media as well. I've tried deleting/re-pairing, renaming phone/re-pairing etc but I haven't pulled the fuse yet since MFT did bluescreen on me recently....I can usually get about 2-3 weeks before bluetooth issues crop up (fixed by deleting/re-pairing) but this one is pretty new.

On top of that, the SD card reader or Nav card has gone wonky because every 3-4 days I lose navigation due to "SD card fault" until it starts reading the card once more. It's been inconvenient so far as to when I can take the car to the dealership and when MFT isn't working which has been more of a pain in the ass than MFT simply being rubbish at times.
sydtron is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 10:20 AM   #147
Luki13
Focus Enthusiast
 
Luki13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 92156
Location: Wyomissing, PA
What I Drive: 2012 White Platinum Tri-coat SEL

Posts: 67
FF Reputation: 1 Luki13 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
new post started
__________________
2012 Focus SEL - Stock

2007 VW Rabbit - Modded

Last edited by Luki13; 01-05-2012 at 01:09 PM.
Luki13 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 02:13 PM   #148
Creamsicle
Focus Enthusiast
 
Creamsicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91108
Location: Baltimore, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Ti hatch

Posts: 185
FF Reputation: 2 Creamsicle Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Mine has done something really funny a couple of times:

"Backup camera not available, please contact dealer"

I didn't order the parking package. But for some reason my MFT thinks the camera is there and not working.
__________________
2012 Ti hatch, 401A & Sport Pkg
Creamsicle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 02:55 PM   #149
shingudaze
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92749
Location: Scarborough, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey FocusTi

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 shingudaze Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Maybe it's not a bug, and Ford is trying to get you to pay for the parking package install :D
shingudaze is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 07:42 PM   #150
yugoflip
Focus Enthusiast
 
yugoflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87666
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Blk Focus SEL 5spd HB

Posts: 135
FF Reputation: 1 yugoflip Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creamsicle View Post
Mine has done something really funny a couple of times:

"Backup camera not available, please contact dealer"

I didn't order the parking package. But for some reason my MFT thinks the camera is there and not working.
I get this if I leave the car in reverse and start it - 5spd

In other news, theres a new video posted about the mft update

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCWGRKTrAtw

Its all talk, but really encouraging stuff. Hopefully its not a flop and they deliver on all their promises
yugoflip is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat