What happens if you have no TPMS? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 10:13 PM   #11
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I enquired with the maker of this kit

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_2019wt_770

if they would work on the new 2012 Focus's with their TPMS, to which they replied

Dear th-1,

yes it will

- blueovalindustries
Click "respond" to reply through Messages, or go to your email to reply


The reset tool is useful, not just when you want to change wheels, but also when you want to change air pressure, say you decided to run your factory 18"s at 44 psi instead of 39 psi, all you do is set the tires to correct pressure and then put car into learn mode and have the vehicle learn the new tire pressure.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2011, 10:18 PM   #12
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PratoN View Post
It buzzed and pinged for 25 minutes!?

EDIT: OR was that just because you continued to start/stop your car when creeping in line?

EDIT^2: I've decided I'm going to save myself $245 and deal with it. (Assuming tire rack $42/sensor plus the $45 reset tool and for some reason extra shipping)
I posted the above identical unit to which I used, and my interaction with the supplier.

As for your question it goes through this annoying startup sequence every time you start the car. The main center display does go out if you hit OK however the other 2 warning symbols remain on all the time and do not go out. I only endured 25 minutes of this before resetting my new tpms sensors on my dedicated winter tires.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:20 PM   #13
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
you could also get these

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Ford...#ht_1954wt_770

and buy the reset tool from steve at tousley ford for $32.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:37 AM   #14
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,792
FF Reputation: 10 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'll be fine as long as it doesn't continue to make noise after 1 minute. I can deal with (!) and [i] on my dashboard.

Besides, I rarely start/stop my car and my morning commute is 1 hour; 1 minute is negligible in comparison.
PratoN is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:57 AM   #15
BLRich1
Nope, Chuck Testa
 
BLRich1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 22758
Location: Lincoln, NE
What I Drive: '14 TB ST3, '04 Silver SVT

Posts: 6,142
FF Reputation: 17 BLRich1 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Moved to "Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension - Sponsored By Tire Rack"
__________________
My Rides:
'14 Tuxedo Black ST3
'13 Ingot Silver Escape Titanium AWD
'04 CD Silver SVT, #877, 1 of 135 May 2011 ROTM, FF11: Best Display, Best of Show; AFN12: Best SVT, Best Audio, Finest Five, Carlisle Nifty Fifty
BLRich1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 12:50 PM   #16
Creamsicle
Focus Enthusiast
 
Creamsicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91108
Location: Baltimore, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Ti hatch

Posts: 185
FF Reputation: 2 Creamsicle Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm male. I have no PMS.
Creamsicle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 10:58 AM   #17
cacophonous
Focus Addict
 
cacophonous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89165
Location: Hell, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Ti & 2005 Saab 92X Aero

Posts: 714
FF Reputation: 2 cacophonous Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm male. I occasionally have PMS.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium HB, Yellow Blaze, 400A, Winter, & 17" Black Machined Rims
cacophonous is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:30 PM   #18
eyeballeater
Focus Enthusiast
 
eyeballeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 87226
Location: Southern Manitoba, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Sedan SE with sport appearance

Posts: 215
FF Reputation: 1 eyeballeater Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Here is a vid showing the warnings without TPM's on my winter set.

http://youtu.be/-X1RyzjgUXg
__________________
2012 SE Sedan Spec 201A, Sport appearance package and 17" wheels
eyeballeater is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:32 PM   #19
gtncpa
Focus Enthusiast
 
gtncpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86143
Location: Midland Park, NJ
What I Drive: 2012 Black Titanium Hatch

Posts: 504
FF Reputation: 2 gtncpa Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVSBB6 View Post
Can the car be programmed with two sets of TPMS? one for summer and one for winter wheels?
I just did mine. Summer tires and rims and winter tires and rims
gtncpa is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 05:38 PM   #20
thenorm
Focus Fanatic
 
thenorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14947
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: '04 liquid grey ZX3, built for FSP

Posts: 1,946
FF Reputation: 33 thenorm Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
heres a new solution for the tpms light

if you dont want to swap your tpms to new wheels, or reprogram them when u swap to winters, you can do this:
http://www.s2ki.com/s2000/topic/7609...#entry17987297

basically cap a short section of pipe, put a valve stem through it, put the sensors inside, pressurize it, put it in the trunk.
Voila!, no more light.





btw, I did not come up with this, i only found it and wanted to share
__________________
May 2014 ROTM
for auto-x: '04 Liquid Grey ZX3
for street: '02 Infrared SVT
thenorm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.