Adding a sub/amp to a 2012 with video! - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 01:24 PM   #1
xwhit3devilx
Focus Addict
 
xwhit3devilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86578
Location: United States, DE
What I Drive: 2014 Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Posts: 635
Points 5,458, Level 47
Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47
Level Up 54% Completed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 xwhit3devilx Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Adding a sub/amp to a 2012 with video!

I already posted this on the 2012 forum and sorry if this is already been discussed. Figured I'd just share a video I made on what's involved in adding an amp/sub to a 2012.
The link is here if you're interested

In case the part about the battery confuses you here is a link to the part you'll need. (This is not the one I used but looks/functions the same)

And this is the sub I used.


xwhit3devilx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2011, 02:35 AM   #2
BigFuzzyArchon
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 87167
Location: Hollywood, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch Sport Package

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 1 BigFuzzyArchon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What line out converter did you use? I think from what I have read the Audiocontrol LC2i is the best one to get unless you are adding all new speakers then the LCQ-1 is better.
BigFuzzyArchon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 04:48 PM   #3
xwhit3devilx
Focus Addict
 
xwhit3devilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86578
Location: United States, DE
What I Drive: 2014 Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Posts: 635
Points 5,458, Level 47
Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47
Level Up 54% Completed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 xwhit3devilx Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzyArchon View Post
What line out converter did you use? I think from what I have read the Audiocontrol LC2i is the best one to get unless you are adding all new speakers then the LCQ-1 is better.
I just used a Scosche Loc80. It was $20, and since the Focus head-unit only has 25 watts per channel its more than adequate.
xwhit3devilx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 09:07 PM   #4
diesel_travis
Focus Enthusiast
 
diesel_travis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88087
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Sedan SE 203a

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 diesel_travis Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Nice find on the hole near the master cylinder, I was hoping I wouldn't have to drill the firewall, thanks!
__________________
2012 Oxford White Sedan SE, 203A + winter + moon + manual
trading in on 2014-09-03
diesel_travis is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 01:09 PM   #5
BigFuzzyArchon
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 87167
Location: Hollywood, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch Sport Package

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 1 BigFuzzyArchon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xwhit3devilx View Post
I just used a Scosche Loc80. It was $20, and since the Focus head-unit only has 25 watts per channel its more than adequate.
I am just concerned about the bass rollover where the factory stereo turns down the bass as the volume gets louder. Also my subwoofer is 250watts.
BigFuzzyArchon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 07:55 PM   #6
FordBass
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89775
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Black SE Sport

Posts: 343
FF Reputation: 1 FordBass Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When i get my focus i am going to have to add a subwoofer without changing the head unit... this might be tough....

I am observing all possible options........
FordBass is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2011, 09:33 PM   #7
BigFuzzyArchon
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 87167
Location: Hollywood, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch Sport Package

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 1 BigFuzzyArchon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I am not exactly sure why I can't use the stock terminal. It goes up, so what? Why can't I add my amp wire?

Last edited by BigFuzzyArchon; 09-23-2011 at 09:42 PM. Reason: -
BigFuzzyArchon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2011, 11:41 PM   #8
xwhit3devilx
Focus Addict
 
xwhit3devilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86578
Location: United States, DE
What I Drive: 2014 Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Posts: 635
Points 5,458, Level 47
Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47 Points: 5,458, Level: 47
Level Up 54% Completed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 xwhit3devilx Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzyArchon View Post
So I am not exactly sure why I can't use the stock terminal. It goes up, so what? Why can't I add my amp wire?
Well if you can make yours fit go for it. I'm not sure, maybe mine was broken somehow when it went in for repairs; there was no place for me to attach it.
xwhit3devilx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2011, 07:32 PM   #9
BigFuzzyArchon
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 87167
Location: Hollywood, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch Sport Package

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 1 BigFuzzyArchon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
And where do you connect the remote turn on lead? Fuse box in the trunk?
BigFuzzyArchon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2011, 10:22 AM   #10
diesel_travis
Focus Enthusiast
 
diesel_travis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88087
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Sedan SE 203a

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 diesel_travis Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xwhit3devilx View Post
Well if you can make yours fit go for it. I'm not sure, maybe mine was broken somehow when it went in for repairs; there was no place for me to attach it.
I connected my + to the terminal on the metal plate just in front of the battery where the alternator hooks in with a bunch of other large-fused items. I'll take a pic when I get a chance.

Getting the battery out was fairly easy, I couldn't believe how light it was actually. But getting that plastic box out that it sits in was a huge PITA.

Thanks again for pointing out that unused grommet, I fit my 4 gauge perfectly through there. Although getting it through the hole in the other side was a bit tricky. I taped a nail set to the end of my wire and it helped feed it through the second hole which was a little bit lower.

Now I just have to snake it through the rest of the car and also tap into the speakers for the signal...
__________________
2012 Oxford White Sedan SE, 203A + winter + moon + manual
trading in on 2014-09-03

Last edited by diesel_travis; 10-03-2011 at 10:58 PM. Reason: clarity
diesel_travis is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.