How do you guys run a WOT datalog? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 09:39 PM   #11
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,351
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Wide Open loop
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2011, 12:41 AM   #12
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,272
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
If that's the case you may not need as much speed or RPM as you think. From 6 to 7,000rpm the air flow won't change much. If you look at MAF Counts you'll see this. So basically when the MAF Counts stop rising you can let off.

If it where tuning for ignition timing then you may need to go the extra RPM. But that depends on how your ignition is mapped. In stock form the map stop at ~6,000 RPM (well actually it's 6,000rpm up to something like 17,000).
But in a case like I did to my maps where I added a step at 7,333 RPM. I need the extra RPM to build the map.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:01 AM   #13
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,351
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
If that's the case you may not need as much speed or RPM as you think. From 6 to 7,000rpm the air flow won't change much. If you look at MAF Counts you'll see this. So basically when the MAF Counts stop rising you can let off.

If it where tuning for ignition timing then you may need to go the extra RPM. But that depends on how your ignition is mapped. In stock form the map stop at ~6,000 RPM (well actually it's 6,000rpm up to something like 17,000).
But in a case like I did to my maps where I added a step at 7,333 RPM. I need the extra RPM to build the map.
Well i dont know actualy it was just a guess. I just assume its to set the open loop.

I had a bolt fall out of my intake today i think i got it up to 6K and heard a noise and my brother thought it sounded like a bolt had fallen out. Not sure how he knew it was a bolt. Got it home and noticed one was missing.

I think im going to take it back off and replace the gaskets.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:10 AM   #14
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 24,801
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Sounds like someone remembered that they forgot to tighten a bolt lol
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:24 AM   #15
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,351
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyboy View Post
Sounds like someone remembered that they forgot to tighten a bolt lol
Well i checked em all when we were done i think the vibration worked it out. I remember going over all of them once we were done just incase.

That and the exhaust were the only things ive done latley. He checked the exhaust i checked the intake and seen it was gone. I think he figured it was the exhaust.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:56 AM   #16
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 24,801
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
lol he thought one thing only to find out it wasn't his side lol I bet he was relived lol
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.