Cruise control default mode - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2014, 06:47 PM   #1
Norm201
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 185201
Location: West Seneca, NY
What I Drive: 2014 Candy Blue SE

Posts: 22
Points 59, Level 1
Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Norm201 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Cruise control default mode

My 2014 Focus and most Fords in general have a cruise control standby switch which when the car is turned on is in the OFF mode as default. One must physically turn it on then enable it if you want to use it. As opposed to many GM cars such as my van that has the cruise control always in the standby mode if originally set. It stays in that mode even when car is turned off.

Is there a way to make my Focus stay in standby mode as the default?


__________________
2014 Focus SE Hatch 6 PS, Candy Blue, Winter Pkg, Sport Pkg.
Norm201 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2014, 09:34 PM   #2
Elizabeth
Focus Fanatic
 
Elizabeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89280
Location: SouthEast, WI
What I Drive: '12 Yellow Focus SE stick, 17"rims

Posts: 3,010
Points 12,559, Level 73
Points: 12,559, Level: 73 Points: 12,559, Level: 73 Points: 12,559, Level: 73
Level Up 28% Completed
Level up: 28% Level up: 28% Level up: 28%
Forum Activity 24%
Activity: 24% Activity: 24% Activity: 24%
FF Reputation: 14 Elizabeth Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It is such a small effort to turn on cruise.. I guess i just an used to the Ford style.
Personally i am a little shy of having cruise control ready to jump into action.. mainly worried it would engage when i do not want it to.
Having had it do so once was MORE than enough to make me pretty leery of it being too easy to engage.
Elizabeth is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:47 AM   #3
Norm201
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 185201
Location: West Seneca, NY
What I Drive: 2014 Candy Blue SE

Posts: 22
Points 59, Level 1
Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Norm201 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Your cruise control can just as easily get stuck in the on position just as an accelerator does on occasion. But you still use your accelerator!

Mechanical problems not withstanding, having to turn it on each time is a PIA. Especially when your other vehical does so as default. It's just one more thing in our daily lives that gets a bit more complicated.
__________________
2014 Focus SE Hatch 6 PS, Candy Blue, Winter Pkg, Sport Pkg.
Norm201 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 09:55 AM   #4
BetaDnB
Drum n Bass Lover
 
BetaDnB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87466
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Silver SE Sport

Posts: 1,996
Points 2,222, Level 28
Points: 2,222, Level: 28 Points: 2,222, Level: 28 Points: 2,222, Level: 28
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 12 BetaDnB Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did you really just saying pressing a button that's on the steering wheel is a PIA? OMG first world problems.
__________________
Sedan Revolution #249 - 2012 SE Sport - ╠╬╝ - Ingot Silver - 201A - K&N w/ snorkel delete - Blox Type R Knob
BetaDnB is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 09:56 AM   #5
ELCouz
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Fan#: 157898
Location: montreal, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 focus SE hatchback candy blue

Posts: 333
Points 1,273, Level 19
Points: 1,273, Level: 19 Points: 1,273, Level: 19 Points: 1,273, Level: 19
Level Up 73% Completed
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 1 ELCouz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm201 View Post
Your cruise control can just as easily get stuck in the on position just as an accelerator does on occasion. But you still use your accelerator!

Mechanical problems not withstanding, having to turn it on each time is a PIA. Especially when your other vehical does so as default. It's just one more thing in our daily lives that gets a bit more complicated.
Why not hire someone that press the cruise control button for you and call it a day!
ELCouz is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:28 AM   #6
Norm201
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 185201
Location: West Seneca, NY
What I Drive: 2014 Candy Blue SE

Posts: 22
Points 59, Level 1
Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1 Points: 59, Level: 1
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Norm201 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Chill out boys and girls, don't get your whities in a knot.

It's just one of those little annoyances that we all experience in form or another. I can pick out perhaps a dozen or so little things that I don't like about this or any other car. But that does not mean I don't like the car or it's features.

See my post at (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...t=#post6823602)

Now as far as reversing the default mode of the cruise control, it would be nice if it could be done. And that folks is my question. So far no one here that replied has said yes or no! Minor problem? Sure, but so is having to go to the bathroom just as you start to watch a good TV show.

Speaking of annoyances, my 2011 Fiesta had the USB and audio connections right out in the open for easy access. Not so with the Focus. I must now reach into the center console and dig to find the cord or the connection (yes, I know the cord can be left out hanging). And when it comes to utilizing one's phone and SYNC that my friends is a REAL PIA!
__________________
2014 Focus SE Hatch 6 PS, Candy Blue, Winter Pkg, Sport Pkg.
Norm201 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 06:01 PM   #7
TooOld
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 128586
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 2014 Sterling Grey SE

Posts: 559
Points 1,299, Level 19
Points: 1,299, Level: 19 Points: 1,299, Level: 19 Points: 1,299, Level: 19
Level Up 99% Completed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 4 TooOld Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Guess Sync won't let us "Set speed 63 miles per hour"?
__________________
FocusFanatics - more entertainment per post than the FCC allows.
TooOld is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:37 PM   #8
mmmfloorpie
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72039
Location: Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Metallic SE

Posts: 153
Points 100, Level 1
Points: 100, Level: 1 Points: 100, Level: 1 Points: 100, Level: 1
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 1 mmmfloorpie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I barely even use my cruise control and 90% of my driving is on the highway.

I find using it requires more effort and thought than just using my foot.
mmmfloorpie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:08 PM   #9
Elizabeth
Focus Fanatic
 
Elizabeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89280
Location: SouthEast, WI
What I Drive: '12 Yellow Focus SE stick, 17"rims

Posts: 3,010
Points 12,559, Level 73
Points: 12,559, Level: 73 Points: 12,559, Level: 73 Points: 12,559, Level: 73
Level Up 28% Completed
Level up: 28% Level up: 28% Level up: 28%
Forum Activity 24%
Activity: 24% Activity: 24% Activity: 24%
FF Reputation: 14 Elizabeth Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmfloorpie View Post
I barely even use my cruise control and 90% of my driving is on the highway.

I find using it requires more effort and thought than just using my foot.
I find the secret is to be driving a tiny bit slower than others. (in the Right Lane naturally)
Then the cruise allows one to just drive along. and only rarely have someone driving even slower annoy me!
I use cruise a lot, even on short freeway hops.

A cop stopped me once for speeding on a curvy two lane back road (not too fast) and let me go, but told me "If you just put it on cruise, then you will not start to speed up too much"
I thank him to this day. It is true. I mean yeah if I am in a super hurry I speed.... But normally it is just a bad habit. And driviing the speed limit is Ok too. So I use the cruise control.
Elizabeth is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:35 PM   #10
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 14,547
Points 9,874, Level 66
Points: 9,874, Level: 66 Points: 9,874, Level: 66 Points: 9,874, Level: 66
Level Up 56% Completed
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Forum Activity 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
FF Reputation: 70 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Use the Cruise a lot on every vehicle driven, including the Cycle.

All have to be turned on, some will stay that way unless turned off. Anything that needs a momentary contact switch to turn on isn't an easy "hack" to keep on, since it's not an on/off switch you could bypass to an "on" position.

Find it handy anytime traffic isn't too heavy, pick my favorite speed for the road & see how it works out. Traffic makes it more work than it's worth, stop using it until it thins again.

Can't win on those plug ins, they were moved from the dash for convenience as folks didn't like everything hanging off the dash & the console location reduced wire clutter.

Cheers
__________________
"Rubber Side Down"

S.R. #275
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.