A question - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
Lemons92
Focus Enthusiast
 
Lemons92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88083
Location: Oceanside, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Silver SE

Posts: 188
FF Reputation: 1 Lemons92 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
A question

So let's say if I wanted to tune my car and I did and decided I didn't want the tune anymore could I take it off back to oem specs and just have the car be normal again and then do it again if needed Kinda confusing sry


Lemons92 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2011, 01:02 PM   #2
benkap
Hatch Nation #136
 
benkap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86366
Location: Catlett, VA
What I Drive: 2003 Mineral Grey Metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,043
FF Reputation: 14 benkap Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
An ECU tune is a computer program. If you have a flasher that can store multiple programs you can load your performance tune and a stock tune and then flash the ECU willy nilly, if you so desire.
__________________
Drive it like you stole it.
benkap is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:18 PM   #3
Lemons92
Focus Enthusiast
 
Lemons92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88083
Location: Oceanside, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Silver SE

Posts: 188
FF Reputation: 1 Lemons92 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Alright thanks I just wanted to know cause my car is under warranty and I wanna be able to tune it and then when I go to get it serviced make it stock so they don't go crazy and say I voided it
Lemons92 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 04:55 PM   #4
pasta
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62350
Location: queens, NY
What I Drive: 2003 eap svt

Posts: 1,715
Points 8,525, Level 62
Points: 8,525, Level: 62 Points: 8,525, Level: 62 Points: 8,525, Level: 62
Level Up 25% Completed
Level up: 25% Level up: 25% Level up: 25%
Forum Activity 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
FF Reputation: 5 pasta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (40)
you can do that with toms tune not so with others beware
pasta is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 05:59 PM   #5
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasta View Post
you can do that with toms tune not so with others beware
Both diablo and sct devices store the stock program and allow the user to return to stock at any time which has nothing to do with who's tune is on the device.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 08:10 PM   #6
eyedunno
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
eyedunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84130
Location: Cabins, WV
What I Drive: 2013 VW Passat TDI DSG

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 eyedunno Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What he may be more concerned with is will it leave a 'footprint' when the dealer hooks up their computer?
__________________
Steve - From behind a hill somewhere in WV
eyedunno is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:08 PM   #7
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,833
Points 50,175, Level 100
Points: 50,175, Level: 100 Points: 50,175, Level: 100 Points: 50,175, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 38%
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
From what I understnd no dealer has the ability to tell if the ECU has had a flash done to the ECU as long as the stock tune has been restored

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.