Dialing in cam gears with datalogger - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 06:29 PM   #1
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,438
Points 13,120, Level 74
Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Dialing in cam gears with datalogger

Can someone explain the process to me? I found this that John posted
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/a...?t-222842.html

But I'm not sure when to log the LOAD PID. Just cranking it like a compression test? Idle? WOT?


__________________
04 ZX3 Mostly Stock ["Best Non-SVT" FITF '12][3/13 ROTM][7/14 ROTM][2014 ROTY]
12 SE Hatch Sport & Winter Package, ST Front End
94 F150 XLT 5.0 HO, OBDII Swap
89 Bronco II XLT Crawler
disciplerocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2011, 12:38 AM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,611
Points 18,046, Level 85
Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 29%
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I want to say you should log load on the road as your doing a WOT pull. But I really don't know. My xcal/LL has a real hard time logging during cranking, actually I've not been able to get it to work ever. But my scan tool can log from the point I turn the ignition on to the point I turn the ignition off ... that is to say I can log how the car starts and if it doesn't start I'm still logging until it does.

John's right on how to adjust them though, which you've done already. And like I'd said, once you have the # of degrees between the gears you adjust keeping that # to the RPM range you want power in.


How's the car running so far?
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:30 AM   #3
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,438
Points 13,120, Level 74
Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Well thats what I thought at first. I kept getting different results. And once I started to consistantly gain load, I started loosing boost, and it idled like crap. So I am assuming thats not how to do it.

And its running great. Thanks again for the help.
Posted via FF Mobile
disciplerocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:22 AM   #4
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You have 2 choises to get the cam gears CLOSE but only a dyno can get them 100%

You can use a compression tester or log the load both have downsides for getting the gears perfect like a dyno can do

If you want them right find a dyno

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:34 AM   #5
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,438
Points 13,120, Level 74
Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
I know that. I read what John had posted in the link up there. But I am asking how to dail them in using LOAD. Just cranking like a compression test, or idle or what.

I only want them close. There is no point in paying to have them tuned on a dyno, when I'll be tearing the motor apart in a month or two.
Posted via FF Mobile
disciplerocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:20 AM   #6
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Doing the cam gears with load has issues because you have no way of controling the temps and conditions so the load can change from run to run , out side temp changes , IAT changes , engine temps change all can clange the load as much as 10% either direction and you cound end up loosing power

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:38 PM   #7
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,438
Points 13,120, Level 74
Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Ok so I ended up renting a compression tester since no one can tell me how to use the LOAD PID. Adjusted the intake to 10* advance. Which I thought was weird, cause I thought retard would reduce overlap. Maybe I'm thinking backward? Anyways, once I got that done, I adjusted the exhaust from 4* retard to 6* advance and the compression never changed. I ran out of light so I left it at 6* advance since it idled better there.

Is that weird that it didn't change in 10* of adjustment?
__________________
04 ZX3 Mostly Stock ["Best Non-SVT" FITF '12][3/13 ROTM][7/14 ROTM][2014 ROTY]
12 SE Hatch Sport & Winter Package, ST Front End
94 F150 XLT 5.0 HO, OBDII Swap
89 Bronco II XLT Crawler
disciplerocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 06:19 AM   #8
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You only want to do 1 mark at a time then test then 1 mark and test again , then you want to back up one mark as the compression way again is just a point where you set things to get to a dyno

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 06:23 AM   #9
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I have no problem telling you the load PID way

You would do say a run from 2-5000 in 3rd gear , then on paper do the rpm
2000
2500
3000
3500
and so on then each run you do put the load beside those numbers your looking for the highest load you can get just like when we talked about there wasent much if any power(torque) gained with going to e85 and adding all the timing in

Then leave the gears where they make the highest load , let me know if this helps

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:50 AM   #10
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,438
Points 13,120, Level 74
Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74 Points: 13,120, Level: 74
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Yeah That makes sense. Kinda what I was doing, but getting inconsistant results.

And I have only been adjust them one degree at a time. Just thought it was weird that I got no change in compression over that 10 degrees of adjustment.
Posted via FF Mobile
disciplerocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.