Memory limit for LiveLink? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 04:37 AM   #1
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,711
Points 18,407, Level 86
Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Memory limit for LiveLink?

Trying to figure out why my car died while logging (the car is fine).

Was logging on my way home and would have been about an hour long log. I'm almost home and doing a 3rd/4th gear WOT pull. Car dies. I'm thinking MF'er, just snapped the timing belt, step the clutch in, let it out and the car's back running. That was weird.
Logging stopped but it looks like I caught about where it died ... and everything looks normal. Was 3,764.09 seconds into a log, so about 62 minutes.

I'm trying to figure out if the log data is stored in the ECU or on my laptop, to rule out something like lack of memory which would kill processor speed.
Or if it's something else, like loosing the CKP signal ... which feels like the same thing, and I've had that happen twice before.


Tell you what though, was scary as shit. 6k and car dies. Heart just stops and panic ensues.


__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2011, 04:45 AM   #2
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 26,338
Points 135,851, Level 100
Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 48 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
^^I'd have a heart attack also lol. I doubt the log is store in the ECU, it must be stored on the laptop or the X3......or at least I'm pretty sure it is.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 04:57 AM   #3
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,711
Points 18,407, Level 86
Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
That's what I'd think too, but I want to be sure.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 05:05 AM   #4
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 26,338
Points 135,851, Level 100
Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 48 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I don't see how the ECU could have enough memory to record at all?
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 08:47 AM   #5
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,187
Points 51,284, Level 100
Points: 51,284, Level: 100 Points: 51,284, Level: 100 Points: 51,284, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Stored on the xcal , the more things you record the shorter the log time , the more upper case vs lower case you record shortens it more

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 09:05 AM   #6
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
If you are logging with livelink it is stored on your pc and not the device. When using livelink the device is simply a pass through medium.

If you are logging without livelink and just using the device then it is stored on the device.

It is never stored on your ecu.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 02:25 PM   #7
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,711
Points 18,407, Level 86
Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Stored on the xcal , the more things you record the shorter the log time , the more upper case vs lower case you record shortens it more

Tom
Yup, knew that. The uppercase PID's are a higher priority than lowercase.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
If you are logging with livelink it is stored on your pc and not the device. When using livelink the device is simply a pass through medium.

If you are logging without livelink and just using the device then it is stored on the device.

It is never stored on your ecu.

That's what I figured.




Thinking about this again, it couldn't have been loosing CKP signal. That wouldn't have stopped the logging process. So I must have lost power to the ECU, connection to the DLC or something like that. I'll have to do some probing and see what I find.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 07:17 PM   #8
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,187
Points 51,284, Level 100
Points: 51,284, Level: 100 Points: 51,284, Level: 100 Points: 51,284, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I dont know if its a higher priority as much as upper case does a higher sample rate

I have seen the xcal hooked to a Focus MANY times where ALL hands on the dash sweep over and back which tells me the xcal some how has something to do with a loss of power to the ECU or at least the dash , this has only happened on these cars when logging with an xcal

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 10:24 PM   #9
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 26,338
Points 135,851, Level 100
Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100 Points: 135,851, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 48 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Anytime I've had a cut out or the gauges make a sweep it's been the power wire going from the alternator to the starter then the battery. You may want to check that wire. If it's not making good contact it can cause the problem you experienced. Hopfully you won't be chasing down that gremlin too long lol
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 03:43 AM   #10
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,711
Points 18,407, Level 86
Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86 Points: 18,407, Level: 86
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Didn't do anything abnormal tonight.
Only thing I can think of is my power wire hit the intake and grounded out. It's a tight fit but everything tight and doesn't move. Maybe a little water got back there, I can see that completing the circuit.
Regardless I'm writing it off as a fluke and I'll have to devise some type of rubber shield just in case.

BTW, all the main power wires in the car have been redone and aren't run as they are factory. Battery is rear mounted also.
Pretty much I'm the only one who can figure the car out because not much is factory or in the factory location.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat