Can I still datalog without a wideband? - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2011, 10:04 PM   #21
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowJellyBean View Post
Any pictures or layouts of where I need to have them put the bung in? I would prefer a picture from someone who has already done it.
This looks like a good location:
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...3&postcount=18
As long as it's before the cat.
I might not be able to get the bung in right away, but if I can't I'll just use the rear O2 sensor behind the cat as a temporary holding spot.
It's less accurate back there though.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2011, 02:40 AM   #22
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Is there enough room before the stock one on the Duratec, though?

__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 03:10 AM   #23
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,324
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
There is a few people on e-bay with the duratec manicat one is an 07 with 22104 Kilometers selling it for $50.

Might be another option is to get another unit, have the bung put in then when your ready swap out the one with the new bung with the one in it.

Take yours in have it done and sell it to some one on here who needs it done or switch it back in.

Ide rather have a header but would also like to keep it as cheap as i can.
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 03:27 AM   #24
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
A header is not an option for me, since I live in California. Is there even any room on the stock Duratec exhaust manifold to add another bung for the wideband O2 sensor, though?
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:46 AM   #25
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,027
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
On post #22 just put your wideband in #2. That's where I had mine and Tom was able to tune my car well.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 11:42 AM   #26
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,216
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
On post #22 just put your wideband in #2. That's where I had mine and Tom was able to tune my car well.

Again, he is talking about a stock manifold/cat and not a header, as yours was tuned with --> http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=237195

A wideband must be mounted before the catalytic converter.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 12:08 PM   #27
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,027
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
I was running a wideband in the stock manifold before I put that header on. Tom was able to tune it with no issues.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 01:47 PM   #28
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
Again, he is talking about a stock manifold/cat and not a header, as yours was tuned with --> http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=237195

A wideband must be mounted before the catalytic converter.
This is true, you won't get accurate readings behind the catalytic converter. However, I have read that the readings won't be too far off.

Still, if you're buying a wideband to get accurate a/f readings, why would you mount it behind the cat?
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 08:42 PM   #29
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacAttack View Post
This is true, you won't get accurate readings behind the catalytic converter. However, I have read that the readings won't be too far off.

Still, if you're buying a wideband to get accurate a/f readings, why would you mount it behind the cat?
These are my exact sentiments. If the wideband isn't going to be working at its full potential, I might as well have just put that money towards the suspension.

So what's the deal, because I still haven't gotten an answer from anyone on this. Does the stock Duratec exhaust manifold have enough room to add another bung for the wideband O2 sensor before the catalytic converter?
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:54 PM   #30
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Yes the room is there to add another bung

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.