Can I still datalog without a wideband? - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2011, 02:56 AM   #11
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,615
Points 18,065, Level 85
Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I kinda think some who do have issues running that way (which is how I'm running) has to do with the controller and not so much the sensor. I've seen chatter about Innovative's analog being unreliable over time, a little about AEM and very little about PLX. But I'd bet a lot of that chatter has do do with the number of each on the market. PLX seems to be the least sold and is what I'm running.

So far the sensor is holding up just fine. Same sensor it came with and it's been on the car for ~10,000 miles, ~6,000 on E-85.

I just don't see the point of spending $300 on a fancy flashy light show if you're not going to use it to full potential.
I mean if you see it go way lean it's already too late. The ECU can respond much faster than your right foot, so may as well let it try to save the engine.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2011, 07:53 AM   #12
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,456, Level 42
Points: 4,456, Level: 42 Points: 4,456, Level: 42 Points: 4,456, Level: 42
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you're worried about installation (as I am) check out this thread: http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...=264229&page=2
Having them weld a new bung there shouldn't be too hard. You could remove it yourself, bring it in, and just show them where you want the new bung. That's probably going to be what I do.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 10:26 AM   #13
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,935
Points 50,512, Level 100
Points: 50,512, Level: 100 Points: 50,512, Level: 100 Points: 50,512, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
I kinda think some who do have issues running that way (which is how I'm running) has to do with the controller and not so much the sensor. I've seen chatter about Innovative's analog being unreliable over time, a little about AEM and very little about PLX. But I'd bet a lot of that chatter has do do with the number of each on the market. PLX seems to be the least sold and is what I'm running.

So far the sensor is holding up just fine. Same sensor it came with and it's been on the car for ~10,000 miles, ~6,000 on E-85.

I just don't see the point of spending $300 on a fancy flashy light show if you're not going to use it to full potential.
I mean if you see it go way lean it's already too late. The ECU can respond much faster than your right foot, so may as well let it try to save the engine.
Some other issues I ran into was the calibrations between stock narrow bands and wide band on the narrow band side were not the same , have you seen anything about that , Its been 10 years sence I did this and I am sure some things have changed

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 02:41 PM   #14
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,615
Points 18,065, Level 85
Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I haven't on mine. It seems to be pretty dead on vs factory.

I think it's the Innovative products that you can adjust the analog output. They've some program that comes with the stuff. I've never used it but I figure if the WBO2 is of a tad you could adjust it that way, basically just move the switchover point.

AEM's is on page 8-9 of the install instructions --> http://www.aemelectronics.com/Images...%2030-4100.pdf

Innovatives can be changed through Log Works and is Analog #2 --> http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/s...Manual_1.1.pdf

PLX's is factory set and not adjustable:

__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 03:23 PM   #15
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
So what would you guys suggest, hooking up the analog from the AEM and replacing the top O2 sensor, or going the "correct" route and taking out the manifold. Would I need to replace the gaskets when I do that?

By the way, thank you very much to everyone who has provided input so far.
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 04:09 PM   #16
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,615
Points 18,065, Level 85
Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85 Points: 18,065, Level: 85
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
My feeling is to pull the manifold and weld a bung in. But that is only because you're running the AEM unit, which I think is not the best product for the money. Up side is they are popular and you can get help easily if there are problems.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 06:55 PM   #17
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
So you're saying I would be good if I had the $280 set shown here? Could I even get the $210 sensor and module and another gauge? http://www.plxdevices.com/wideband.html

With that, would I be able to just remove the stock O2 sensor before the mani-cat and throw the new one in there? I'd be willing to sell my BNIB AEM wideband and save up a little for that.


3rd option: I don't really need a gauge, do I? Can't I just have the wideband O2 and module and plug that into my XCal to datalog?
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 07:18 PM   #18
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,935
Points 50,512, Level 100
Points: 50,512, Level: 100 Points: 50,512, Level: 100 Points: 50,512, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
No you need the gauge it is as important for you to be watching the air fuel at WOT as it is to tune with it

My opinion would be to stick with the AEM they work great and the o2 is cheap to replace , work out installing a bung

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 07:27 PM   #19
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Thanks Tom, I guess I'll get cracking on that. Hopefully you'll be hearing from me before the summer is over about datalogging and an updated tune.
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2011, 09:29 PM   #20
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Any pictures or layouts of where I need to have them put the bung in? I would prefer a picture from someone who has already done it.
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.