'08 Cam upgrade help - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Second Generation > DURATEC Performance (2008-2011)

DURATEC Performance (2008-2011) The place to chat about any Duratec 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2011, 01:07 PM   #1
Phoenix3745
Focus Rookie
 
Phoenix3745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87688
Location: granbury, TX
What I Drive: 2008 White SE Coupe

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 Phoenix3745 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
'08 Cam upgrade help

ok i've gone and stuffed a pair of Cosworth cams into my 2008 focus and hit a bit of a snag.
I know they were made for the 2.3 but the lure of free cams was too tempting. heres the fact

They fit perfect
timing is stock
the '08 has 6 timing pickups for the Cam angle sensor
the Cosworth has 1
The cams work great performance wise
car wont start first couple of tries engine light comes stating cam angle sensor fault.
Cam sensor has been replaced with new one

I would like to keep the cams seeing as they do work. I would just like to fix the starting and engine code problem.

my question is can the timing be changed from 6 to 1 with the ecu

or

does anyone know any great engine builders who could take the timing ring off the '08 cam shaft and adapt it to the Cosworth

any info would be greatly appreciated


Phoenix3745 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-11-2011, 01:34 PM   #2
SlateTheGreat
Focus Addict
 
SlateTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63859
Location: Socal
What I Drive: 2008 Silver SE Sedan

Posts: 728
FF Reputation: 1 SlateTheGreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
All I know about cams in an 08+ is that they repositioned the cam sensor in our generation and that means previous cams won't work with ours. If you've found a way to get past that, post up a how to cause I know many that would kill for it.


Id also PM Tom about your no start and code.
SlateTheGreat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 04:12 PM   #3
K Dog
FF Affiliate
 
K Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 23554
Location: Chi-Town, IL
What I Drive: Car

Posts: 1,228
FF Reputation: 10 K Dog Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
Pics of both cams please. Sensor end obviously.
K Dog is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 05:57 PM   #4
Lappracing
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Fan#: 74732
Location: Moorpark, CA
What I Drive: 2009 Focus black/silver

Posts: 67
FF Reputation: 2 Lappracing Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
You can't use those cams. Been there, done that. The only way to do it is to change to a pre- '08 ecu or go with a stand alone ecu. Either way is a big job. The pre-'08 ecu will not plug into the '08+ wiring harness.

The location of the cam sensor is not the problem, it's the 5 pick-ups. The '08 is looking for these 5 signals.

For all of you ECU programming experts, PLEASE prove me wrong. Tell me that you found a way to make this work, I would love to be wrong.
Lappracing is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 06:10 PM   #5
SlateTheGreat
Focus Addict
 
SlateTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63859
Location: Socal
What I Drive: 2008 Silver SE Sedan

Posts: 728
FF Reputation: 1 SlateTheGreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Seriously though.....I want an all motor 08.....turbo is expensive.....lol
SlateTheGreat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 07:23 PM   #6
Randori
Focus Addict
 
Randori's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56453
Location: Highland, IN
What I Drive: 2014 Tuxedo Black ST

Posts: 686
FF Reputation: 3 Randori Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
All motor is MORE expensive! Trust me... (See mods in profile.)
If you turbo, you get power and otherwise it behaves like it should.
All motor, is a CRAZY idea for those who like narrow power bands and crabby idle... Like me.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black ST
2003 Liquid Gray ZX3

Last edited by Randori; 07-11-2011 at 11:26 PM. Reason: like me
Randori is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 10:40 PM   #7
SlateTheGreat
Focus Addict
 
SlateTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63859
Location: Socal
What I Drive: 2008 Silver SE Sedan

Posts: 728
FF Reputation: 1 SlateTheGreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fair point, I was so tired posting today lol not really thinking through my answers :).

Everything doesn't matter since I have an automatic :( lol.

To the OP, post up those pics for Kdog!!!
SlateTheGreat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 12:36 AM   #8
koke'sfocus
Focus Addict
 
koke'sfocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 69779
Location: el paso, TX
What I Drive: 05 silver st

Posts: 756
FF Reputation: 1 koke'sfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Nope they don't work in our gen the most u can do is buy some stock cams and do some custom grind to them ask psurivie he was selling a custom set of cams I was gonna buy them but maybe later when I do the 2.3 head swap
Posted via FF Mobile
koke'sfocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:41 AM   #9
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,046
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
^yeah, I still have them. Crower did a custom grind for me. I never installed them because I went FI. You're best bet is to go this route using stock cams. Crower got me a grind somewhere between there stage 1 and 2 Focus cams if you want to compare them. There is not enough cam lobe on the stockers to get a stage 2 grind out of them. Crower and I went back and forth for a few weeks to get them right. I can email the spec sheet if you would like.
HOWEVER, while typing this I just got an idea. Since you have your stock cams, I'm wondering if you could swap the "spur" from your stock cam to the Cossie. Doing that the ECU will get the proper signal it's looking for. I would call Crower and ask them if you could send them the Cossie cams and the stock cams so they can compare them. Maybe all they need to do swap the spur over. They are really nice and will gladly help you out. It's just that your car will be down and out for awhile.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 11:31 AM   #10
Phoenix3745
Focus Rookie
 
Phoenix3745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87688
Location: granbury, TX
What I Drive: 2008 White SE Coupe

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 Phoenix3745 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you all for your replies.
Thanks PSU I completely forgot about regrinding.
Granted if I could get my hands on blanks that would allow any grind. But the cosworths I have are the stage one which just gives a longer duration and keeps the stock lift, so a regrind would be easiest to pull off.

I looked more into swaping the timing spur and noticed that the section of cam where it sits is a larger diameter then where the timing prong is on the cosworth. I have pictures but you'll have to wait two weeks until I get home from work. Sorry.

So my next corse is a regrind of the stock to match the duration of the cosworths and then shim up stuff. Yay old school mods

I should document this
Phoenix3745 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.