AEM Wideband Issue - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 10:05 PM   #1
UnFocusedST
Fear the TurboSnail!
 
UnFocusedST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40342
Location: Pierre, SD
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Focus ST

Posts: 3,652
Points 6,247, Level 51
Points: 6,247, Level: 51 Points: 6,247, Level: 51 Points: 6,247, Level: 51
Level Up 49% Completed
Level up: 49% Level up: 49% Level up: 49%
Forum Activity 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
FF Reputation: 13 UnFocusedST Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
AEM Wideband Issue

Okay I've had my AEM wideband for a few years now. Its is consantly reading 14.8 nothing more nothing less. Possible issues? I'm thinking wireharness. If so anyone know where to get one fairly inexpensive?


__________________
Team Duratec #17
Hatch Nation #17
Midwest Crew #55
Boosted Crew #118
UnFocusedST is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,085
Points 50,991, Level 100
Points: 50,991, Level: 100 Points: 50,991, Level: 100 Points: 50,991, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 36%
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
When you go WOT its still 14.8 ? Have you change the wide band o2 they do go bad

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2011, 05:45 PM   #3
UnFocusedST
Fear the TurboSnail!
 
UnFocusedST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40342
Location: Pierre, SD
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Focus ST

Posts: 3,652
Points 6,247, Level 51
Points: 6,247, Level: 51 Points: 6,247, Level: 51 Points: 6,247, Level: 51
Level Up 49% Completed
Level up: 49% Level up: 49% Level up: 49%
Forum Activity 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
FF Reputation: 13 UnFocusedST Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Yep does not change what so ever?
__________________
Team Duratec #17
Hatch Nation #17
Midwest Crew #55
Boosted Crew #118
UnFocusedST is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2011, 11:14 PM   #4
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,379
Points 11,745, Level 71
Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
When i first hooked mine up i didnt plug it into the sensor and got that same reading.

I do know that when you first hook it up it heats up the sensor and if you remove it and hook it up outside the car the tip of the sensor gets hot.

What about the plugs in the back behind the gauge?

The exhaust gets pretty hot i can see wires melting and shorting easy.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 08:09 AM   #5
Jgrove998
i <3 my ST
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '12 Fusion SE V6

Posts: 2,420
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Think it might be a bad 02 sensor.....

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.



Which bung in the downpipe do you have it in? I run mine in the second one. Thinking I should switch it to the 3rd one for better longevity.
__________________
2012 Fusion SE 3.0L V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
D23 Crew: #07
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 08:33 AM   #6
Mike_Mac
Focus Addict
 
Mike_Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61110
Location: Windsor, Canada
What I Drive: 04 Red/Black ZX5, 00 infared ZTS

Posts: 1,322
Points 2,332, Level 29
Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 12 Mike_Mac Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
if the sensor is disconnected the gauge will always read 14.7. or possibly 14.8 i guess. i would look for damaged wiring or something not hooked up.

as for wiring contact AEM. there site lists the power/ground/output pigtail but not the sensor wiring.
Mike_Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 12:51 PM   #7
CarDemon
Focus Enthusiast
 
CarDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63700
Location: Dundee, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Silver ZTS

Posts: 514
FF Reputation: 3 CarDemon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
There are two shortcomings with AEM's YouTube test.

The first is that not all brake cleaners will trigger a rich reading with their test. I found that putting gasoline on the rag is more accurate.

Second, a bad gauge can mimic what a bad O2 sensor does. I know this because I bought a new sensor only to discover that the whole gauge was shot. It was a $70 mistake.
__________________
Who by worrying can add a single hour to his life?
CarDemon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 02:15 PM   #8
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,379
Points 11,745, Level 71
Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarDemon View Post
There are two shortcomings with AEM's YouTube test.

The first is that not all brake cleaners will trigger a rich reading with their test. I found that putting gasoline on the rag is more accurate.

Second, a bad gauge can mimic what a bad O2 sensor does. I know this because I bought a new sensor only to discover that the whole gauge was shot. It was a $70 mistake.
And i did the same thing, so im trying to get him to remove it because it will be cheaper to test it on a bench where he can look at it, touch the sensor and see if its heating and make sure that there isnt any melted or cut wires.

It still could be a bad gauge or sensor but rather then spending another $70. only to find out its something else.

IMO AEM shouldnt of made it read 14.7 if the sensor isnt hooked up or working. IMO thats kinda deceiving. Why not display something other then "the perfect value"
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 03:10 PM   #9
CarDemon
Focus Enthusiast
 
CarDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63700
Location: Dundee, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Silver ZTS

Posts: 514
FF Reputation: 3 CarDemon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post
IMO AEM shouldnt of made it read 14.7 if the sensor isnt hooked up or working. IMO thats kinda deceiving. Why not display something other then "the perfect value"
Agreed!
__________________
Who by worrying can add a single hour to his life?
CarDemon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.