Keyless entry keypad? - Page 5 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 06:27 PM   #41
peppersmum
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 98989
Location: Victoria BC Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Hatchback SE Red Candy

Posts: 70
FF Reputation: 1 peppersmum Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Works on my Focus SE
peppersmum is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2014, 06:28 PM   #42
Woggy64
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104328
Location: Southern Cali, CA
What I Drive: '12 Ti 5dr with sport pkg & sunroof

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 2 Woggy64 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppersmum View Post
Works on my Focus SE
Do you have the IA?
Woggy64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:29 PM   #43
Woggy64
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104328
Location: Southern Cali, CA
What I Drive: '12 Ti 5dr with sport pkg & sunroof

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 2 Woggy64 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjanracing View Post
It does work on the Focus.
But you have an SE - do you have the intelligent access (keyless start, etc)?
Woggy64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:37 PM   #44
peppersmum
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 98989
Location: Victoria BC Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Hatchback SE Red Candy

Posts: 70
FF Reputation: 1 peppersmum Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No I don't have intelligent access. Now I know what IA stands for though :-)
peppersmum is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:03 PM   #45
Kjanracing
Focus Enthusiast
 
Kjanracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 135409
Location: Westminster, CO
What I Drive: 2014 Ruby Red SE hatch with DCT

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 2 Kjanracing Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think you are correct that it doesn't work with IA.
Kjanracing is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:26 PM   #46
Pennut
Focus Addict
 
Pennut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91326
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey SE Hatchback

Posts: 572
FF Reputation: 4 Pennut Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by focusstu View Post
When I was thinking about buying a keypad from ebay, I was concerned about battery life too. I read on some other forums (usually on Ford Escapes) about keypad owners that were successful in prying the top of the keypad from the bottom to replace the battery. The problem was that if the screwdriver or pry tool they used slipped, they scratched the heck out of their doors.
I was only concerned because I live in a snow state and the cold (winter) tends to shorten battery life. If I lived in a warm weather state I'm sure the keypad will last longer.

The keypads for the older gen Focus came with 2 covers. One primed to paint and one black one. Guess they cheaped out on the new ones by not offering the primed cover anymore. Figures. I'm still going to try to paint mine body color so it won't stand out as much.
Pennut is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:40 PM   #47
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,378
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjanracing View Post
I think you are correct that it doesn't work with IA.
No it does not, as they require signals from the proximity key, and the key pad is meant to simulate only the unlock code from your integrated keyfob transmitter, or in other words meant to simulate the remote control, but not the proximity key.

However with the proximity key there's no need to remove it from your pocket, jacket, purse, or whatever, which defeats the purpose of the key pad.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 10:04 PM   #48
Kjanracing
Focus Enthusiast
 
Kjanracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 135409
Location: Westminster, CO
What I Drive: 2014 Ruby Red SE hatch with DCT

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 2 Kjanracing Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I bought a keypad two weeks ago. I can't get the car into programming mode. I'm doing as the instructions say, 4 turns of the key from off to on ending with off. No chime, no nothin, no programming. Seat belt on, off...nothing has let me in yet. Any tips? Maybe the dealer will have to do it?
Kjanracing is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 10:24 PM   #49
wavsine
Focus Addict
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 118470
Location: DFW, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Focus SE Oxford White Hatch 5m

Posts: 729
FF Reputation: 12 wavsine Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjanracing View Post
So I bought a keypad two weeks ago. I can't get the car into programming mode. I'm doing as the instructions say, 4 turns of the key from off to on ending with off. No chime, no nothin, no programming. Seat belt on, off...nothing has let me in yet. Any tips? Maybe the dealer will have to do it?
Try this. Turn the key from the OFF position to RUN (not START) position eight times within 10 seconds with the eighth turn ending in the RUN position.

Contrary to the instructions, the locks may not cycle to confirm programming mode.

http://www.partscheap.com/v/vspfiles...fordkeypad.pdf
__________________
Use a Motorcraft FL-400S filter to increase filtration media and oil quantity. (Drop in for FL-910S)

Synthetic oil in GDI engines
www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=324396
wavsine is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 10:45 PM   #50
Kjanracing
Focus Enthusiast
 
Kjanracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 135409
Location: Westminster, CO
What I Drive: 2014 Ruby Red SE hatch with DCT

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 2 Kjanracing Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I tried that method too. I'll give it another go. When I asked the dealer, that is how they said to do it.
Kjanracing is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.