What do your logs look like? - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2011, 12:50 PM   #21
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,219
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
With the WBO2 after the cat you'll never get an accurate reading and it'll never perfectly match STFT.


What I would do if I where you is:
-Move the WBO2 to the front most spot,
-Use the Analog output of the WBO2 for a signal to the ECU.

That is how I'm running and it works great, actually the only O2 sensor I have is my wideband.

This way you'll get an accurate Lambda measurement, Tom can better tune your car W/O the cat causing issues, the STFT's can be made to mirror the WBO2 and if they don't quite match the Transport Delay can be adjusted.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2011, 01:16 PM   #22
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,325
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I made a post some weeks ago that "i cant get my second 02 sensor out" and i thought i was told its ok? That any position in the exhaust is better then nothing.

So i just ordered my third wideband for nothing?

There is a shop here localy that uses a dyno and they use a probe that puts the 02 sensor for the wideband into the back of the exhaust tip and clamps it to the back of the outlet how can they tune with it like that? Its going threw the cat, all the mufflers and everything.

This is actually kinda funny because this is the kinda luck i always seem to have.

I even got banned from the innovate site. lol
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 01:42 PM   #23
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,219
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
The shop who uses the probe to tune I'll bet only does so on cars with no cat. You can't tune that way with a cat because you don't know how efficient the cat is.


Both Tom and I told you the WBO2 has to be ahead of the cat in the first 2 replies. How you got confused I don't know.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 03:40 PM   #24
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
That is how I'm running and it works great, actually the only O2 sensor I have is my wideband.

.
Why are you not using your front o2 ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 03:47 PM   #25
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,219
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I only have the WBO2 and no cat. I'm using the Analog out for the ECU. Been this way for almost 2 years and works flawless.
I have the heater for the front O2 turned off and the rear completely disabled. No codes pop.

I just figured if I'd spent $300 for an O2 sensor I better get my moneys worth outta it. And seems I'm in the minority running a PLX ... which I have zero complaints about.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:01 AM   #26
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,325
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Well i think i have a problem now. When im on the highway and just cruising my wideband will just shoot lean for a few seconds and then go back. I thought it was something i drove threw last week but now its doing it every time i cruise on the highway.

Is it maybe loading up with fuel and the cat needs to burn it so it goes lean to heat the cat up and burn out the loaded up fuel?

I didnt notice it doing it till GTK1 R Bower NA_4.cef so im going back to GTK1 R Bower NA_3.cef

Is that how the cats work? if it cools it goes lean and shoots the temps up quickly? I know my wideband is doing something because i can feel the car bog down as the wideband shoots lean. My power seems to drop slightly then come back.
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:04 AM   #27
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,325
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
With the WBO2 after the cat you'll never get an accurate reading and it'll never perfectly match STFT.


What I would do if I where you is:
-Move the WBO2 to the front most spot,
-Use the Analog output of the WBO2 for a signal to the ECU.

That is how I'm running and it works great, actually the only O2 sensor I have is my wideband.

This way you'll get an accurate Lambda measurement, Tom can better tune your car W/O the cat causing issues, the STFT's can be made to mirror the WBO2 and if they don't quite match the Transport Delay can be adjusted.
Should i just remove the wideband then and put the stock 02 back in since i have a cat and no header? I dont think i can afford a new exhaust ive spent to much on 3 widebands and they have done me no good now.
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:47 AM   #28
wip192
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
wip192's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80551
Location: lockbourne, OH
What I Drive: 2003 pitch black zx3

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 wip192 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
i finally got my wide band to log i have my cat and stock header still and it dose not do that if i am at a cruise it runs good unless i get on it then heads lean. getting that tunned still just have to figure out my ks still
wip192 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:16 AM   #29
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post
Should i just remove the wideband then and put the stock 02 back in since i have a cat and no header? I dont think i can afford a new exhaust ive spent to much on 3 widebands and they have done me no good now.
No you should stop spending money on things not needed and find the issues , your not tuned , you have the wide band in the wrong place , you wont get me the requested logs

Lets slow down here and do this in order of things to do and find the issue vs throwing money at this and posting things here no one can help you with

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 01:50 PM   #30
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,027
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
Yeah man, I would just log what Tom is requesting and have him look at it. He should be able to at least give you an idea of what is going on. You gotta get that o2 before the cat man.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.