2012 Focus - Aftermarket Stereo possibilities. - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2011, 05:40 PM   #21
herbz
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84909
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch 5MT Sterling Grey

Posts: 220
FF Reputation: 1 herbz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feta_mgp View Post
that bottom cutout looks like the space for your buttons, good sir. You probably just have to re-use them there. Also, this looks like a neat piece, and looks like it'll integrate any double din into the dash as well as the MFT looks when equipped with it. So I'm guessing this retains the upper screen then? Or is it effectively a cubby hole after the conversion...
Yeah I think it retains the upper screen, on the base model it becomes a glorified time/date LCD readout.

You're right, it looks like there's perfect space for the buttons, but there's one hangup: they are attached to the stereo. Here's a pic of the Fiesta radio taken out so you can see what I mean.



So the issue becomes.. can you take the buttons out of the stereo? And is there separate wiring for the buttons so they can plug back in?
herbz is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-22-2011, 10:43 AM   #22
ihdillon
Focus Enthusiast
 
ihdillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88321
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy Metallic

Posts: 142
FF Reputation: 1 ihdillon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I would love to see if this works
ihdillon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 10:31 AM   #23
herbz
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84909
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch 5MT Sterling Grey

Posts: 220
FF Reputation: 1 herbz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Update: I ordered the hazard switch seen here: http://www.ebay.in/itm/Genuine-Ford-...-/320636605882

Once it comes in I will take a look at the back of the headunit to see if it will plug into the wiring and function correctly. If so, then I might go ahead and order and aftermarket headunit with the dash kit and get it installed.

Fingers crossed.
herbz is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:08 PM   #24
memphiscbrider
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86469
Location: Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 2012 white se

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 1 memphiscbrider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by herbz View Post
Well I went ahead and e-mailed these "ACV" people and got a response.



Response:



A quick search came up with this: http://www.ebay.in/itm/Genuine-Ford-...-/320636605882

It is for the Fiesta, but is identical to the one in the Focus. Therefore, I'm wondering if the door lock and hazard switches can be removed, and if so, do they have a separate harness going to them?

I asked a guy on the Fiesta forums who probably knows the answer to this. Will wait for his response. In the mean time I found this nice instruction manual for the Fiesta.

http://www.pioneer.pl/files/eur/car_...81114-20-B.pdf
well im trying to order because i want to be the test monkey for this but i cant figure out how to. lol if someone can help me. ill order one and let everyone know if it works
__________________
Current Rides:
2008 Honda CBR1000RR
2012 Ford Focus SE
memphiscbrider is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:19 PM   #25
memphiscbrider
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86469
Location: Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 2012 white se

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 1 memphiscbrider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
and i think id be willing to sacrifice a couple buttons for a decent head unit that i can put in
__________________
Current Rides:
2008 Honda CBR1000RR
2012 Ford Focus SE
memphiscbrider is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:08 PM   #26
ihdillon
Focus Enthusiast
 
ihdillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88321
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy Metallic

Posts: 142
FF Reputation: 1 ihdillon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
If the buttons are removed can you still reprogram the time on the glorified clock display?
ihdillon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:06 PM   #27
memphiscbrider
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86469
Location: Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 2012 white se

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 1 memphiscbrider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
with that kit above. it doesnt look like it since the time button would be where the new radio is
__________________
Current Rides:
2008 Honda CBR1000RR
2012 Ford Focus SE
memphiscbrider is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:55 PM   #28
juanfran
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91347
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2012 Steerling Grey Focus SE

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 juanfran Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You can control de Time in the small screen by two buttons on the right, once you install and aftermarket head unit there will be no other function than time on that screen i guess.
juanfran is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:36 PM   #29
memphiscbrider
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86469
Location: Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 2012 white se

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 1 memphiscbrider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
been doing some research and found a car audio place in PA that deals with acv and they are gonna get in touch with them and get back with me tomorrow on pricing and someone that has the capabilities to install my double din radio. more details to come later
__________________
Current Rides:
2008 Honda CBR1000RR
2012 Ford Focus SE
memphiscbrider is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 03:29 PM   #30
memphiscbrider
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86469
Location: Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 2012 white se

Posts: 297
FF Reputation: 1 memphiscbrider Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
$300 for the kit from Acvg. Gonna order mine on Monday from this car audio place in Philly. They are the only ones around the east coast that deals with them. Ill let u guys know how it works out
__________________
Current Rides:
2008 Honda CBR1000RR
2012 Ford Focus SE
memphiscbrider is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.