TC and ABS lights after brake job - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2011, 07:41 AM   #1
Laminar
Focus Enthusiast
 
Laminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81298
Location: Des Moines, IA
What I Drive: 2013 SE

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 1 Laminar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
TC and ABS lights after brake job

I replaced the front pads and rotors on my wife's '07 ZX4 SES. About a week later, the traction control and abs lights came on, and of course she has no TC or ABS now.

Some general searching has told me to use a DMM set to AC volts to test the sensor output. Once she's home from work I'll do that. I've also read to check the air gap under the sensor. Does anyone have a picture of where exactly that's done? I have plenty of feeler gauges, but a quick glance at the knuckle didn't make it obvious to me exactly where I can access the bottom of the sensor.

I have a new sensor ready to go if one actually is bad, but I need to get this fixed by this weekend because I'm leaving the country and winter is coming fast.

Thoughts?


Laminar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2011, 08:25 AM   #2
GodLovesUgly
.Flat Out.
 
GodLovesUgly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56705
Location: LearNing., UT
What I Drive: ^^^ That!

Posts: 4,763
FF Reputation: 10 GodLovesUgly Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
if the sensor is anything like 00-04 models it will have one bolt right above the knuckle, just unbolt that and lift up on the wire. after i changed my knuckle my TC and ABS turned off as well, so i unbolted the sensor and blew some air in the hole, re-installed the sensor and the issue was fixed.
__________________
The Rich Get Richer Until The Poor Get Educated.
Do Vegetarians eat Animal Crackers?
Moderator of Ford Focus Racing Discussions & Rocky Mountain Fanatics
GodLovesUgly is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 09:50 AM   #3
Laminar
Focus Enthusiast
 
Laminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81298
Location: Des Moines, IA
What I Drive: 2013 SE

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 1 Laminar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I already pulled both sensors, cleaned their mounting points and surfaces, and reinstalled, it didn't fix the issue.
Laminar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 05:38 PM   #4
Laminar
Focus Enthusiast
 
Laminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81298
Location: Des Moines, IA
What I Drive: 2013 SE

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 1 Laminar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I pulled each sensor plug and hooked up my multimeter to the sensor's prongs. When set to AC volts, there was a definite change in reading as we manually spun the tire, so the sensors are sending out some kind of signal.

Can someone confirm that I'll have to pull the brake rotors off to measure the sensor air gap? I have 24 hours to fix this issue before I'm out of the country, and I'd rather not have to have her take it to the dealership.
Laminar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 06:46 PM   #5
focusZX505
FOCUS REVOLUTION
 
focusZX505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19251
Location: dekalb with my baby, IL
What I Drive: 08 Black Coupe

Posts: 2,852
FF Reputation: 4 focusZX505 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
IIRC you can't really check the air gap on these sensors. it's built into the wheels bearsing and spindle. also it should be sending out a signal
__________________
FOCUS REVOLUTION
FSWERKS
MASSIVE SPEED SYSTEMS
SCSCC #320
focusZX505 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 08:09 PM   #6
Laminar
Focus Enthusiast
 
Laminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81298
Location: Des Moines, IA
What I Drive: 2013 SE

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 1 Laminar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What do you mean by "it should be sending out a signal"? I confirmed that the AC voltage reading of both front wheel speed sensors changed with tire speed. What else can I do?
Laminar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 07:35 PM   #7
focusZX505
FOCUS REVOLUTION
 
focusZX505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19251
Location: dekalb with my baby, IL
What I Drive: 08 Black Coupe

Posts: 2,852
FF Reputation: 4 focusZX505 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
It should be sending a signal to the elm to know what each wheel speed is that's how abs and tv work if it reads fronts are alot fast then rear it apples the brakes to allow better traction did you check the rear sensors
Posted via FF Mobile
focusZX505 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 07:50 PM   #8
don627
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56863
Location: dayton, ohio
What I Drive: 2007 infra-red zx3

Posts: 394
FF Reputation: 1 don627 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The issue may not have anything to do with the brake job. Need to find out what the codes are in the ABS module to really diagnose anything. Could be as simple as a broken wire in the wheel sensor wiring harness, if the sensors are working you need to verify that the signal is coming out the other end of the wire.
don627 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:28 PM   #9
Laminar
Focus Enthusiast
 
Laminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81298
Location: Des Moines, IA
What I Drive: 2013 SE

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 1 Laminar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Turns out the brake job was a red herring. I took it into the dealer today and they pulled the code for me - RR wheel speed problem. They took off the wheel and drum and found the tone ring was damaged. I paid for the diagnosis ($89) and the tone ring only ($46), they didn't charge me any labor or time. Very pleased to have this working again, just in time for snowy weather.
Laminar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:28 PM   #10
suby6
Focus Enthusiast
 
suby6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57613
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 ZX5

Posts: 326
FF Reputation: 1 suby6 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Odd, not sure how the tone ring would get damaged with a front brake job lol.
Also when I did my rears I bent the rings a bit and banged them back as straight as possible but still visibly not perfect and I don't have any codes....
Atleast it's fixed for yoou now anyway.
__________________
Wish it is as fast as it sounds...
suby6 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.