2012 Focus Owners Test Mode - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 09:32 PM   #1
Jdog913
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84424
Location: LIVONIA, MI
What I Drive: .

Posts: 266
FF Reputation: 3 Jdog913 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2012 Focus Owners Test Mode

I was just messing around in my 2012 Focus and figured out how to put it in "test mode". I have the base radio/ information screen but I am sure it will work for the higher up model.

1st Step: Get in Car
2nd Step: On the steering wheel controls on the left. Hold OK Button and the Right Arrow button at the same time for about 5 secs.
3rd Step: Put Key and turn on continue to hold.
4th Step: Congrats you are in test mode!

My Favorite Part is the Chime Test !

In the process of uploading a video on youtube.

EDIT: The up and down arrow changes through modes.


Jdog913 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2011, 09:34 PM   #2
Phokus
Shiny Metal Titanium
 
Phokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60433
Location: Quincy, MA
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium Seda

Posts: 3,647
Points 12,508, Level 73
Points: 12,508, Level: 73 Points: 12,508, Level: 73 Points: 12,508, Level: 73
Level Up 15% Completed
Level up: 15% Level up: 15% Level up: 15%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 7 Phokus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
hmm I wonder if the sales guys know this.. I want to go test drive one and do this while I'm at it to mess with them.
__________________
1965 Mustang Coupe 289 4spd
2003 Land Rover Discovery II SE
2013 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid
Phokus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 10:30 PM   #3
Jdog913
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84424
Location: LIVONIA, MI
What I Drive: .

Posts: 266
FF Reputation: 3 Jdog913 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
VIDEO : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrUORx2es0U
Jdog913 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 10:47 PM   #4
2012silversel
Focus Addict
 
2012silversel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 83969
Location: Mpls., MN
What I Drive: 2014 C-Max Energi, Sterling Gray

Posts: 788
Points 1,931, Level 26
Points: 1,931, Level: 26 Points: 1,931, Level: 26 Points: 1,931, Level: 26
Level Up 31% Completed
Level up: 31% Level up: 31% Level up: 31%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 2012silversel Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I always suspected the analog speedo in my 2010 Fusion was off by 2 mph based on those electronic Your Speed signs hanging around town. In test mode the digital readout confirmed the 2 mph difference. The analog was 2 mph slow.
__________________
2014 C-Max Energi
302A Package
Sterling Gray
2012silversel is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 11:42 PM   #5
warneej
BodyKits=PantiesDrop
 
warneej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20372
Location: Bradenton, FL
What I Drive: 04 ZX3 D23E-10SES Sedan-12 Ti Hatch

Posts: 13,167
Points 32,462, Level 100
Points: 32,462, Level: 100 Points: 32,462, Level: 100 Points: 32,462, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 201 warneej Excellent Standing Member warneej Excellent Standing Member warneej Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Kind of hard to see but was one of those menus "DTC codes"? I thought I saw that and being able to see your own check engine light codes without a scanner would be baller!
__________________
Disciple of the "Push harder, suck less" school of autocross.

173.4whp
gump
crew #6
warneej is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2013, 12:37 AM   #6
bama_focus
Focus Enthusiast
 
bama_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117648
Location: birmingham, AL
What I Drive: 2012 focus sedan sel

Posts: 407
Points 258, Level 5
Points: 258, Level: 5 Points: 258, Level: 5 Points: 258, Level: 5
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 2 bama_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sorry to ressurect an old thread but are there any more details on this mode? Would it be okay to run this mode every time? Also the distance to empty on mine was about 40 miles more in test mode than it was in normal, I don't understand..
__________________
2012 Focus SEL sedan tuxedo black
2005 GMC Envoy XUV
bama_focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2013, 12:43 AM   #7
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,793
Points 9,867, Level 66
Points: 9,867, Level: 66 Points: 9,867, Level: 66 Points: 9,867, Level: 66
Level Up 55% Completed
Level up: 55% Level up: 55% Level up: 55%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 24 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bama_focus View Post
Sorry to ressurect an old thread but are there any more details on this mode? Would it be okay to run this mode every time? Also the distance to empty on mine was about 40 miles more in test mode than it was in normal, I don't understand..
It wasn't 40 miles more, the DTE and odometer in test mode are in metric, so it was kilometers not miles.

It shouldn't hurt anything other than possibly wearing out the ok button much sooner, but you'll lose the trip computer information and compass on the instrument panel display in favor of the single piece of information displayed at a time.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2013, 04:25 PM   #8
bama_focus
Focus Enthusiast
 
bama_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117648
Location: birmingham, AL
What I Drive: 2012 focus sedan sel

Posts: 407
Points 258, Level 5
Points: 258, Level: 5 Points: 258, Level: 5 Points: 258, Level: 5
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 2 bama_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Any way to activate the gauge sweep when I turn the car on?
__________________
2012 Focus SEL sedan tuxedo black
2005 GMC Envoy XUV
bama_focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 09:52 PM   #9
bshin352
Focus Enthusiast
 
bshin352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 114147
Location: Ruskin, FL
What I Drive: 2013 Tux Black Ti Sedan, DCT

Posts: 366
FF Reputation: 1 bshin352 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bama_focus View Post
Any way to activate the gauge sweep when I turn the car on?
when in the world did we get gauge sweep as a feature?
bshin352 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 10:47 PM   #10
Joeywhat
Strichmädchen & Koks
 
Joeywhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85247
Location: Brighton, MI
What I Drive: 2014 Mustang 3.7L SGM

Posts: 2,900
Points 7,732, Level 58
Points: 7,732, Level: 58 Points: 7,732, Level: 58 Points: 7,732, Level: 58
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 11 Joeywhat Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
It should be noted you only have to hold down the OK button, you don't also need to hold any arrow buttons.
__________________
Hatch Nation #29
Joeywhat is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat