2012 Focus - Add NAV after the fact? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 10:19 PM   #11
txskeets
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85127
Location: Leander, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL

Posts: 85
FF Reputation: 4 txskeets Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
See, my thinking is the car already has GPS built in otherwise Sync services would not work, and Sync services works fine in this car (and my Fusion) and gives me turn by turn directions over the Sync system. It has to have some kind of GPS built in and working in order to be able to do that.

And I completely agree that this really isnt something I cant live without. :) If this was a must have thing for me on this car, I would have bought it with that option. :) This is just more of a curiosity thing then anything else.

This is my 4th Focus to own, and I have to say this really is the best one I have owned yet. I think the new 2012 Focus is absolutely fantastic!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrkKnight614 View Post
True but I think the fact is that certain key features for the gps etc are not installed in the car, which helps them cut cost out per car, and thats why it isnt just a quick update. You can do without it to be honest lol, you dont want to get attached to gps, especially since they dont always work right.
Posted via FF Mobile
txskeets is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2011, 05:54 AM   #12
CD/SFE
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85148
Location: Orlando, FL
What I Drive: '12 Focus SEL, White Platinum Hatch

Posts: 60
FF Reputation: 1 CD/SFE Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by txskeets View Post
If the car already has MFT and the SD slot to put the car in, what else would the car have to be built with to add on screen NAV to the existing MFT setup?
There are AV inputs next to the SD slot and are speed controlled, won't work with the car moving. SD slot may be the same. Salesman says they are for playing video games with the car stopped only. Must be for LA, Chicago or Atlanta traffic jams. I guess someone might do that, but I can't imagine it myself.
__________________
Go, go, Focus...viva la FORD!
CD/SFE is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:34 AM   #13
96Mystic
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84876
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 96 Mystic Cobra, 2012 Focus Soon

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 96Mystic Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitaniumToy View Post
I'm interested in seeing how well this solution would work: Take and Android smartphone running Google Navigation, and plug in the video output from the phone into to the VGA input in the center console. Hopefully Sync could completely control the Google Nav Application, although probably not through MFT, but through voice commands or the steering wheel controls.
I believe video input only works while in PARK..
__________________
Russ
1996 Mystic Cobra
2012 Focus Sedan SEL, Kona
96Mystic is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:09 AM   #14
csvt2060
Focus Addict
 
csvt2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84122
Location: Northwest Indiana, IN
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Escape Titanium

Posts: 772
FF Reputation: 2 csvt2060 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
All post 2010 vehicles with Sync have GPS built in whether you have NAV or not, since they have turn by turn directions and it also needs location for 911 assist.
csvt2060 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 08:50 AM   #15
txskeets
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85127
Location: Leander, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL

Posts: 85
FF Reputation: 4 txskeets Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
you are correct....the owners manual says the same thing. I havent had a chance to test that yet or see if there is a way to override it. :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96Mystic View Post
I believe video input only works while in PARK..
txskeets is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:55 AM   #16
lampcord
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85224
Location: Fridley, MN
What I Drive: 2012 SEL Kona Blue Metalic (soon)

Posts: 33
FF Reputation: 1 lampcord Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitaniumToy View Post
I'm interested in seeing how well this solution would work: Take and Android smartphone running Google Navigation, and plug in the video output from the phone into to the VGA input in the center console. Hopefully Sync could completely control the Google Nav Application, although probably not through MFT, but through voice commands or the steering wheel controls.
I was thinking exactly the same thing!

I have an Android with a video out cable and I was going to run Google Nav and plug it into the VGA input and see what happens. Since the car has a USB charging port it will be perfect as I won't even be using up my battery.

Ever since I've had the phone, I have been using its nav instead of my Civic's because its way better and it includes traffic info. In fact, I just used the Nav on my phone two days ago to find the Ford dealership after failing to find it on my Civic's nav. Being able to plug it into the display is just a bonus.
lampcord is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 05:05 PM   #17
Saibot
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86012
Location: San Francisco, CA
What I Drive: 2007 Mazda3

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Saibot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitaniumToy View Post
I'm interested in seeing how well this solution would work: Take and Android smartphone running Google Navigation, and plug in the video output from the phone into to the VGA input in the center console. Hopefully Sync could completely control the Google Nav Application, although probably not through MFT, but through voice commands or the steering wheel controls.
Has anyone given this a try?
Saibot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:11 AM   #18
txskeets
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85127
Location: Leander, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL

Posts: 85
FF Reputation: 4 txskeets Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Since the video inputs on the Focus only work when the car is in park and the emergency brake is on, you would not be able to see anything on the Sync screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saibot View Post
Has anyone given this a try?
txskeets is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:34 PM   #19
Aychdot
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95866
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: Then 1995 Escort, Now 2012 Ti hatch

Posts: 59
FF Reputation: 1 Aychdot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
From the article in the link:

Navigation Capabilities on All MyFord Touch Cars - But It Ships Disabled
Ford explains: When you take delivery of a Ford with MyFord Touch or Lincoln with MyLincoln Touch, you get a vehicle with an 8-inch touchscreen and you also get the navigation application embedded in the car. But it's no good without the navigation SD card, for which you pay $795, and then Ford activates the car and enables navigation. That apparently means you can choose to have factory onboard navigation the day you take delivery. Or, later on, you can choose between factory navigation or a third-party portable GPS system that will be clunky, take up space on the windshield, and cost half what Ford charges.


Looks like according to the article it can be dealer added at a later date. Has anyone tried to have it dealer installed?
Aychdot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:35 PM   #20
TiStick
Boob Whisperer
 
TiStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96514
Location: Los Banos, CA
What I Drive: LesVagon

Posts: 6,092
FF Reputation: 16 TiStick Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I'm sure it's just a $795 SD card and a tech plugging into the CAN-BUS, entering a God code, and switching Nav from NO to YES.

Both steps will probably be available from the aftermarket in the future.
__________________
Sonic's Mk3 Crew #11
Hatch Nation#163
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
Watch out for the D
TiStick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.