Looking for a constant 12v power - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus SVT > SVT Interior Mods & Upgrades

SVT Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the 2002-204 SVT Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
iB Chunkyboy
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105705
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: White 2001 Ford Focus LX 4DR Sedan

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 iB Chunkyboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Looking for a constant 12v power

Okay, so i got some switches and i need to add a circuit using this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Add-a-circui...item46095997e5

Im putting interior LED strips near the feet in the car. i need to know what fuse provides a 12v power for the LED's

for this i put the "add a circuit" in where the existing 12v fuse was put the fuse that was there in #1 spot then put a fuse for the LED's in the #2 spot and hook the power wire to that butt connector ?? :D

Did i get it right? :)

2001 FORD FOCUS LX 4DR SEDAN


iB Chunkyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2012, 06:32 AM   #2
cody.carr
Shlammed Life
 
cody.carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97521
Location: Elkview, WV
What I Drive: 2000 Malibu Blue ZX3

Posts: 2,331
FF Reputation: 2 cody.carr Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Wrong section, but you can use quick splices and splice your wires into your cig lighter wires. or you can add a fuse. or use the constant off your radio wiring harness. thats how i wired my gauges in.
__________________
2000 ZX3: ╠╬╝ Iceman CAI, Raceland Coilovers, SVT Header Swap

HOTM February '13 HN #06 RR #39
cody.carr is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:16 AM   #3
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 14,696
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
yeah, like cody said (and i also said in PMs) you have those options.
look in your manual and look at the fuse layout sheet.
you can use something with constant power if you want to be able to turn the lights on with the car off/key out of ignition.. for this, use your "add a circuit" on a fuse like your radio fuse or something else. a volt tester will let you know which fuses are "hot" or have constant power. then bam.. add it to one of those and then ground it... you can actually ground it on one of the bolts holding the fuse box in place.

if you don't want it to have power while the keys are out of the ignition,
then find a fuse that only receives power once the key is in the "on" position


being leds, as long as they are wired properly, they have a very minimal power drain..
i left a bunch of mine on accidentally for a day and a half and my car still started right up..
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:33 AM   #4
OrangeSVTguy
Get Squashed
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 33384
Location: Elyria, OH
What I Drive: '04 Comp. Orange SVT 3dr.

Posts: 5,378
FF Reputation: 44 OrangeSVTguy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (16)
Hey if you need help with those switches. I tied into my power windows fuse to get power. Been like that for years since I originally did mine with the add-a-circuit. Just don't exceed the primary fuse rating when you add the second fuse. I did it that way so it's switched so nothing won't stay on unless the key is on.
__________________
Lee
SVT Squad #227 || Build # 1329 of 1978 || FF ROTM Oct. 2006
OrangeSVTguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:18 PM   #5
iB Chunkyboy
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105705
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: White 2001 Ford Focus LX 4DR Sedan

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 iB Chunkyboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i have manual windows ! LOL is there still a way to do it with the windows thing on the fuse box?
iB Chunkyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.