xcal3 and data logging question - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 10:24 PM   #1
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
xcal3 and data logging question

Today I tried to do some data logging on my ride to and from work. However, when I got home, I went to look at the files through LiveLink. When I went to import the data log files from the xcal, it showed 9 files (despite only doing 3 tests ever), and all of them were blank except for the first one, which showed only 500 seconds, which wasn't the length of my last test, in fact it was the length of my first test.
None of the other tests were legitimate files, so I couldn't see the last two tests I did. Am I missing something?


MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2011, 11:00 PM   #2
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,062
Points 7,033, Level 55
Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55
Level Up 42% Completed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Are you logging using your XCAL and then downloading to your computer?
__________________
No I don't think my car needs "moar low". I apologize to everyone for my car not looking like all the other Foci at FR14.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2011, 11:20 PM   #3
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
Are you logging using your XCAL and then downloading to your computer?
Well that's what I was trying to do.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2011, 11:35 PM   #4
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,062
Points 7,033, Level 55
Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55
Level Up 42% Completed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Instead of that, hook your XCAL to the car and also to your laptop and datalog using Livelink.
__________________
No I don't think my car needs "moar low". I apologize to everyone for my car not looking like all the other Foci at FR14.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 07:24 AM   #5
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
Instead of that, hook your XCAL to the car and also to your laptop and datalog using Livelink.
Not a fan of that idea. Laptops aren't exactly cheap enough to just sit on the passenger seat. I'd really just like to get it to work this way.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 08:40 AM   #6
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,204
Points 51,311, Level 100
Points: 51,311, Level: 100 Points: 51,311, Level: 100 Points: 51,311, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 32%
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
It sounds like your doing it right , I would give SCT a call for help , have everything ready and hooked up when you call

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 10:07 AM   #7
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Datalogging on the X3 itself only uses one file, the first one. Each time you record a log it overwrites the file. So, if you are trying to record multiple sessions, you will need to record then pull the file off before doing the next one.

Once you import, press the max button at the top to see the entire log.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 10:09 AM   #8
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
Points 4,527, Level 42
Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42 Points: 4,527, Level: 42
Level Up 89% Completed
Level up: 89% Level up: 89% Level up: 89%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
Datalogging on the X3 itself only uses one file, the first one. Each time you record a log it overwrites the file. So, if you are trying to record multiple sessions, you will need to record then pull the file off before doing the next one.

Once you import, press the max button at the top to see the entire log.
Okay that makes sense. What are the other files for though? (Just curious).
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 12:15 PM   #9
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacAttack View Post
Okay that makes sense. What are the other files for though? (Just curious).
The livewire and TSX use multiple files; livelink is just using the same dialog box for every device.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat