header and tune - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Regional Forums > Southern Fanatics > Fanatics: Texas

Fanatics: Texas Regional discussion Forum for planning events and sharing information with all Members in the Texas (Lonestar) areas.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 12:11 AM   #1
aTm Beaner
Focus Addict
 
aTm Beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21542
Location: Del Valle, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Ford Focus ST

Posts: 1,089
FF Reputation: 5 aTm Beaner Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
header and tune

hey guys!

so I've been running my car with a header and a tune for about a year now, and it's going to be vehicle inspection time pretty soon. i have a tune that disables my o2 sensor and EGR. am i going to be able to pass the OBDII port testing? will the computer put up a "not ready" code because i have them turned off. i don't have any CEL on as well. if you are running a header, or are on a tune, that disables these settings, please chime in. thanks!




__________________
TEAM DURATEC #512 ST CREW #100
2005 Ford Focus ZX4 ST
Focus Sport Cool-Flo v.1, Focus Racing Cat-Back w/ Magnaflow HFC, F2 Header, Focus Sport Tune 93 Octane, Saleen Suspension Kit, Rota Slips 16x7
aTm Beaner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2011, 12:25 AM   #2
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,290
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I just had my inspection done and I passed with my tune installed. Since I did pass with NO problems and my EGR tube was cracked I just deleted all together. Worst case scenario is it won't pass. You just have to reinstall your stock tune, and try again. If you do fail reinstall your stock tune and get a MIL eliminator to get rid of the no cat check engine light. I used to do that before I found out that I could pass with my tune. If yo have any more questions don't be afraid to ask me, I'm sure I've been through it already.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:23 AM   #3
jmiller_1974
Flipping Rockstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57165
Location: 512, TX
What I Drive: Black 02 SVT #2998

Posts: 16,762
FF Reputation: 28 jmiller_1974 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
IIRC, You can get 2 fails(NR) and still pass in Travis County. Otherwise, I have no idea, sorry I can't help more.
__________________
dreamspeed
jmiller_1974 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:47 AM   #4
aTm Beaner
Focus Addict
 
aTm Beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21542
Location: Del Valle, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Ford Focus ST

Posts: 1,089
FF Reputation: 5 aTm Beaner Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyboy View Post
I just had my inspection done and I passed with my tune installed. Since I did pass with NO problems and my EGR tube was cracked I just deleted all together. Worst case scenario is it won't pass. You just have to reinstall your stock tune, and try again. If you do fail reinstall your stock tune and get a MIL eliminator to get rid of the no cat check engine light. I used to do that before I found out that I could pass with my tune. If yo have any more questions don't be afraid to ask me, I'm sure I've been through it already.
so they hooked you up to the OBD port, and you managed to pass? Harris County has emissions testing too, right?
__________________
TEAM DURATEC #512 ST CREW #100
2005 Ford Focus ZX4 ST
Focus Sport Cool-Flo v.1, Focus Racing Cat-Back w/ Magnaflow HFC, F2 Header, Focus Sport Tune 93 Octane, Saleen Suspension Kit, Rota Slips 16x7
aTm Beaner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:54 AM   #5
aTm Beaner
Focus Addict
 
aTm Beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21542
Location: Del Valle, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Ford Focus ST

Posts: 1,089
FF Reputation: 5 aTm Beaner Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
For vehicles year model 2001 and newer, we allow one (1) non-continuous monitor to be Not Ready and still pass the test, but two (2) or more Not Ready's will cause the vehicle to fail.

For vehicles year model 1996 – 2000, we allow two (2) non-continuous monitors to be Not Ready and still pass the test, but three (3) or more Not Ready's will cause the vehicle to fail.
here's some useful info. i guess i'm going to have to get a new tune that only turns off the o2 sensor.
__________________
TEAM DURATEC #512 ST CREW #100
2005 Ford Focus ZX4 ST
Focus Sport Cool-Flo v.1, Focus Racing Cat-Back w/ Magnaflow HFC, F2 Header, Focus Sport Tune 93 Octane, Saleen Suspension Kit, Rota Slips 16x7
aTm Beaner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:18 AM   #6
VenomRogue
Focus Addict
 
VenomRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24506
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: a Volvo??!?

Posts: 1,189
FF Reputation: 11 VenomRogue Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
correct, 2 not readys and you fail.

get a MIL cheater and turn your O2 back on.
__________________
9 Foci. and a rebadged mK II Focus ST (Volvo C30)

Yes, I have issues.

Next question.
VenomRogue is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 11:15 AM   #7
aTm Beaner
Focus Addict
 
aTm Beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21542
Location: Del Valle, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Ford Focus ST

Posts: 1,089
FF Reputation: 5 aTm Beaner Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VenomRogue View Post
correct, 2 not readys and you fail.

get a MIL cheater and turn your O2 back on.
Or I can just enable the EGR again, and keep the o2 sensor loff. Would that work?
__________________
TEAM DURATEC #512 ST CREW #100
2005 Ford Focus ZX4 ST
Focus Sport Cool-Flo v.1, Focus Racing Cat-Back w/ Magnaflow HFC, F2 Header, Focus Sport Tune 93 Octane, Saleen Suspension Kit, Rota Slips 16x7
aTm Beaner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 12:53 PM   #8
Deaner
Focus Addict
 
Deaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 39531
Location: League City, TX
What I Drive: 2002 ATX Twilight Blue ZX5

Posts: 1,467
FF Reputation: 31 Deaner Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
edit nvm.
__________________
¸_____
/_|_|__\__
l(o)____(o)l
<--EüRöFöCüS: 02 Twi Blu ZX5 FoFo Euroness SOLD!!!

New toy: TOYota FJ Cruiser 4x4
Deaner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:33 PM   #9
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,290
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aTm [:)
;3573681]so they hooked you up to the OBD port, and you managed to pass? Harris County has emissions testing too, right?
Yup, just plugged into the OBD port. In my tune I have pretty much everything turned off that's not needed. Rear O2, EGR, all related EGR stuff, etc. I imagine Fort Bend is the same has Harris but I can't be for sure on that.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 03:26 PM   #10
VenomRogue
Focus Addict
 
VenomRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24506
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: a Volvo??!?

Posts: 1,189
FF Reputation: 11 VenomRogue Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aTm [:)
;3573781]Or I can just enable the EGR again, and keep the o2 sensor loff. Would that work?
does your race header have a provision for the EGR or is it blocked off?

if it does, then yes, do that, if not, your stuck with the 02 route.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyboy View Post
Yup, just plugged into the OBD port. In my tune I have pretty much everything turned off that's not needed. Rear O2, EGR, all related EGR stuff, etc. I imagine Fort Bend is the same has Harris but I can't be for sure on that.
and remember, they recently changed the law to 2 not readys. Im in the same boat, i passed no problem last year, but this year I would fail.

freeking bullshit.
__________________
9 Foci. and a rebadged mK II Focus ST (Volvo C30)

Yes, I have issues.

Next question.
VenomRogue is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.