Aux. input for 6-disc stock radio, Anyone done it? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 11,687
FF Reputation: 60 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Aux. input for 6-disc stock radio, Anyone done it?

B4 expending skull sweat checking into whether this can be done, figured I'd ask the experts here!




sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2011, 06:07 PM   #2
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,100
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
My Aux input is connected to a adapter that I use for a Sirius Sportster satellite radio. And it's on the 6 Disk in dash mp3 player .



Nevermind , I thought that you were asking if anyone uses the Aux input .

Your asking Has anyone done an Aux input . But if you have the 6 disk in dash radio , there shut be a place on the back of the radio I believe , unless they just came on the Mp3 versions .
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month

Last edited by FocusedSlayer; 02-13-2011 at 06:11 PM. Reason: mis read the title
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 10:16 PM   #3
goinloco1
Late for Dinner
 
goinloco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 8529
Location: Aberdeen, SD
What I Drive: 13 stang

Posts: 15,208
FF Reputation: 90 goinloco1 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
you won't be able to do a direct connect on the 6 disc. the 6 disc doesn't have the needed cd changer port on the back so there is no way to connect it.
only option is the fm modulator type, which from experience pretty much sucks.
Ford offers the trip tunes which is the modulator type for about 30 bucks. it actually plugs in between the antenna and the radio and isn't all to bad unless you have stations close the the frequencies they use. but it wont charge the ipod or whatever, it simply plugs into the headphone jack.
goinloco1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 11:29 PM   #4
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 11,687
FF Reputation: 60 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
tx for the replies, yah - don't have the MP3 type, and I agree - changing channels as you travel to avoid nearby stations isn't fun with the new XM radio I got for the Truck - wanted to do a better hook-up for the car. guess it's only possible with a new radio, or tearing into the old one to see where I can wire in an aux. input....

I'm remembering micro plug jacks that disconnected the old circuit when you plugged a device into them. If you tapped in between devices & amplifier, you should be able to select the input you are high-jacking for the aux. that way....

Any electronics techs got thoughts on that ??
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 04:28 AM   #5
ViperThreat
Moderator OF DOOM
 
ViperThreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 66026
Location: Concord, CA
What I Drive: '06 WRX Wagon 285whp/292wtq

Posts: 2,958
FF Reputation: 8 ViperThreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I know what you are talking about, but its not worth it.. The only external input to the headunit is the radio antenna, in which case, you are just making your own version of fords "trip tunes".

Unless you want to crack open the headunit and try fiddling, theres not much else you can do.


My reccomendation is to lose that headunit as its junk anyway, and go snag a decent afermarket HU. Thats the only effictive way to get what you want.
ViperThreat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 01:48 PM   #6
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 11,687
FF Reputation: 60 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Junk anyways was the reason I would be willing to crack it open just for fun.

If I break it beyond repair, a new better unit becomes a given!

Grin....
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:58 PM   #7
Roshambo
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81339
Location: South Lyon, MI
What I Drive: 2005

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Roshambo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailor View Post
tx for the replies, yah - don't have the MP3 type, and I agree - changing channels as you travel to avoid nearby stations isn't fun with the new XM radio I got for the Truck - wanted to do a better hook-up for the car. guess it's only possible with a new radio, or tearing into the old one to see where I can wire in an aux. input....

I'm remembering micro plug jacks that disconnected the old circuit when you plugged a device into them. If you tapped in between devices & amplifier, you should be able to select the input you are high-jacking for the aux. that way....

Any electronics techs got thoughts on that ??
That's me! That would work in theory... but it might involve soldering RCA's. And unless you know what your doing that won't turn out right. The best way to go imho, would be to buy the Ford Aux Inverter and plug it into the back of the dedicated port in the back of the headunit . Look on the front of your radio, if there is a button to the right of the display that says "Aux" there will be a spot to the back for the ford converter to plug in.
Roshambo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:07 AM   #8
Acey_Alighieri
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102758
Location: Saint Cloud, FL
What I Drive: 2005 black ZX4

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 Acey_Alighieri Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
There is a adaptor you can buy from ford. It is $50-60. I put one in my Focus not too long ago
Acey_Alighieri is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:07 AM   #9
ViperThreat
Moderator OF DOOM
 
ViperThreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 66026
Location: Concord, CA
What I Drive: '06 WRX Wagon 285whp/292wtq

Posts: 2,958
FF Reputation: 8 ViperThreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acey_Alighieri View Post
There is a adaptor you can buy from ford. It is $50-60. I put one in my Focus not too long ago
This thread is over a year and a half old. He probably resolved the issue by now.
__________________
Moderator For: Socal Fanatics | SVT Focus | Mk1 Focus | Audio & Electronics | General Chat
ViperThreat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.