Would I need a different tune for a different intake? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #1
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Would I need a different tune for a different intake?

Hey guys, so I ran into my first CAI intake last night. It has been raining like crazy here in California, and I made the mistake of driving through a huge puddle (that I couldn't see) last night. The car starting bucking and kicking really hard, so I pulled over and let the car sit for about an hour and a half. Just to be safe (and since I have AAA), I had the car towed back to my house. It started up okay, but like I said, better safe than sorry. Anyway, I digress.

If I were to get a SRI to put on the car for the rainy months, would I need a different tune for my car? Right now I have a tune on my XCal3 courtesy of Tom for my Cosworth CAI. I know he does free retunes, but would that even be necessary?


__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2010, 11:17 PM   #2
PiSTOLpete717
Focus Enthusiast
 
PiSTOLpete717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81212
Location: 717, PA
What I Drive: 2002 Infra Red SVT FOCUS #2294

Posts: 438
FF Reputation: 1 PiSTOLpete717 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i hear a lot of people talking about "toms tune" where is tom located and how do i get a hold of him....and in answer to ur question, no you'll be okay...i would change your oil though if you think water may have been introduced to your engine.
__________________
I Got this On Lock
PiSTOLpete717 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:21 PM   #3
norcalfocus01
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55603
Location: Manteca, Nor*Cal!, United States
What I Drive: White N Gold 2001 Sedan

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 132 norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Membernorcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
No I can't imagen the SRI vs CAI changing that much.
norcalfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:22 PM   #4
jmiller_1974
Flipping Rockstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57165
Location: 512, TX
What I Drive: Black 02 SVT #2998

Posts: 16,762
FF Reputation: 28 jmiller_1974 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Shouldn't need an update, as You're still receiving the same amount of air, just from a bit closer is all. You should be just fine.
__________________
dreamspeed
jmiller_1974 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
xecutionr
Haterz gonna Hate
 
xecutionr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55434
Location: Clarksburg, WV
What I Drive: 2003 Frost Silver zx3

Posts: 2,156
FF Reputation: 18 xecutionr Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowJellyBean View Post
Hey guys, so I ran into my first CAI intake last night. It has been raining like crazy here in California, and I made the mistake of driving through a huge puddle (that I couldn't see) last night. The car starting bucking and kicking really hard, so I pulled over and let the car sit for about an hour and a half. Just to be safe (and since I have AAA), I had the car towed back to my house. It started up okay, but like I said, better safe than sorry. Anyway, I digress.

If I were to get a SRI to put on the car for the rainy months, would I need a different tune for my car? Right now I have a tune on my XCal3 courtesy of Tom for my Cosworth CAI. I know he does free retunes, but would that even be necessary?
here are a couple options for ya

1) get a bypass valve, and the hydro lock problem is fixed...
2) get a filter cover AND bypass valve...
3) if you dealt with tom already, shouldnt you have his contact info? lol i figured he would be able to answer this better since he is the person that you are asking about??
__________________
Zetec Crew #343

1979 Ford F-150 Custom 200,000 and counting
2003 Ford Focus Zx3 - 130,000 and counting (DD)
xecutionr is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:32 PM   #6
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiSTOLpete717 View Post
i hear a lot of people talking about "toms tune" where is tom located and how do i get a hold of him....and in answer to ur question, no you'll be okay...i would change your oil though if you think water may have been introduced to your engine.
He's on this forum as 1turbofocus

Quote:
Originally Posted by xecutionr View Post
here are a couple options for ya

1) get a bypass valve, and the hydro lock problem is fixed...
2) get a filter cover AND bypass valve...
3) if you dealt with tom already, shouldnt you have his contact info? lol i figured he would be able to answer this better since he is the person that you are asking about??
I'm not asking just about Tom, I was putting a question out there that anyone with ECU tuning experience should have been able to answer my question.
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 11:10 PM   #7
DEMENTED SVTF
PARTS HUNTER
 
DEMENTED SVTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71669
Location: SUR CALIFAS, CA
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX2 5.0 SUPERCAB

Posts: 3,001
FF Reputation: 9 DEMENTED SVTF Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
No need to update. Im running my stock setup cause our rain too. I do notice a little loss tho. Did u take off ur splash shield? R u runnin a f2 rs bumper? Its all open underneath not good in foul weather.my 06 had no problems with fswerks cai it never got wet but I had a stock bumper.
__________________
2013 F-150 FX2 SUPERCAB 5.0 BRIGHT RED. HIDS, NAVIGATION
LEATHER, SONY 700WATT SYSTEM, 9.8 1/8 mile for now stock
DEMENTED SVTF is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 12:31 AM   #8
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Dude, you get mad props, because yes, I do have an F2 RS bumper. How did you know? There is no splash shield, and for normal wet conditions it's fine, I just didn't see the huge puddle. I'm thinking of picking up a filter wrap ASAP. I know that if soaked it won't help, but at least it's something.
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:39 AM   #9
02_z_x_3
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 53977
Location: ohio, OH
What I Drive: 02 zx3

Posts: 637
FF Reputation: 9 02_z_x_3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
yes the bypass valve should help greatly. it bypasses the filter if it should be immersed in water
02_z_x_3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 12:53 PM   #10
DEMENTED SVTF
PARTS HUNTER
 
DEMENTED SVTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71669
Location: SUR CALIFAS, CA
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX2 5.0 SUPERCAB

Posts: 3,001
FF Reputation: 9 DEMENTED SVTF Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
Not many yellow foci that's why I know. I think I saw ur car in a vid of ur f2 header/dyno. When on youtube only mine and urs used to pop up with f2 headers. Mine is the silver zx3. I mean was now I have a svt
__________________
2013 F-150 FX2 SUPERCAB 5.0 BRIGHT RED. HIDS, NAVIGATION
LEATHER, SONY 700WATT SYSTEM, 9.8 1/8 mile for now stock
DEMENTED SVTF is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.