TPS replacement 2000 SE Zetec (Problem) - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2010, 10:39 AM   #1
2000focusmn
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 77926
Location: Marshall, MN
What I Drive: 2000 White SE 4dr

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 2000focusmn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
TPS replacement 2000 SE Zetec (Problem)

I found something strange with my 2000 Focus SE Zetec. The check engine light was on and was coming up with P0122 And P1120. I ordered a TPS from the auto parts store for a 2000 Focus w/ Zetec engine and auto transmission. The part came in and I started to take everything apart and come to find out that the sensors were not the same. I brought the original part into the store along with my VIN number. The only TPS that matches my car is for a manual transmission. The original part number starts with an X does this mean something different? I am not sure if anyone else has came across this but I thought it might help if anyone ever has any troubles. New part is on its way and will see if that solves my issue.


2000focusmn is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,065
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Just to add something here, you know you have to line the TPS up on the throttle plate shaft, then turn it to line the screw holes up. It should push in flush with the TB without forcing. If you have to force it, then the shaft is not lined up. Sorry to be so rudimentary, but we've had several FF's install the TPS by lining the screw holes up. It can ruin the TPS if you do that.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.