Ford Focus Cooling Fan problem defies all logic diagnostics - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 08-05-2010, 11:43 AM   #1
JJDetroit
Focus Jr. Enthusiast

Fan#: 77361
What I Drive: 2003, black, ZX3

FF Reputation: 1 JJDetroit Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ford Focus Cooling Fan problem defies all logic diagnostics

Ok so I am a total noob and my first post will hopefully not be written-off, I did search the site and have spent about 10 hours or so readin through the different overheating threads. I am going to tryto be as detailed about my problem as I can without writing a book.

On one of the hottest days in Detroit this year about a month ago, I had 5 adults in my ZX3 in the rain with the AC on Full Blast Recirc. As I was stopped to drop off the other four, the AC stopped blowing cold and my windows fogged over. I drove about 3 blocks before I saw the temp needle all the way in the red. I parked and left the car there overnight to cool off. Next morning I tried everythign AC on/off, idle, everything and the car would not overheat and AC was cool. So I chalked it up to overworking the system and went about my buisness.

Over the last few weeks the AC has been intermittently cold, then warm, then cool. Also on the hottest days ehn stuck in stop and go traffic, about 3 times the car would start to overheat, but by gettng moving or turning the heat on full blast I was able to cool it down enough to get home, next morning, no problems.