blower motor not working. - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 05:30 PM   #1
ssvhto72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65145
Location: Eppin, NH, MA
What I Drive: 03, CD silver SVTFocus

Posts: 66
FF Reputation: 1 ssvhto72 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
blower motor not working.

hi i have a 03 ford focus ZX3 its actually my mothers. the blower motor isnt working. now i checked all fuses checked out fine.
i didnt see a relay anywhere i looked in the owners manual didnt see anything about a relay for blower motor either. maybe im missing it?
anyways i have no power what so ever at the switch, or is there supposed to be power at the switch? i tested the switch that checked out fine.
anyone know if there is a relay another fuse hidden somewhere?
or even a wiring diagram would be good. im actually a truck mechanic so i could figure it out eventually just dont have the time to mess around, wondering if anyone had any ideas.

thanks


ssvhto72 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2010, 05:37 PM   #2
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,159
Points 27,131, Level 97
Points: 27,131, Level: 97 Points: 27,131, Level: 97 Points: 27,131, Level: 97
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Not to be an , but it should be in the owner's manual- use the index to find the fuses. IIRC it's in the fuse box under the hood, but you should check to be sure. I guess Ford decided to stop putting fuse labels on the box itself at some point, and now just puts descriptions in the owner's manual instead. When I read mine, it listed every device that was on a circuit.

There is an AC relay, but that's not for the van. AFAIK there is no relay for the cabin air fan, only the engine cooling fans.

You know that no power at the switch is a certain sign of a bad fuse unless someone has been in there trying to hook up a stereo recently.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 08:14 PM   #3
ctlynch
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 76319
Location: Parkersburg, WV
What I Drive: 2005 Dark Shadow Gray ZX4

Posts: 79
FF Reputation: 1 ctlynch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
well, pick a relay at this point. it'll be a lot of jumping terminals to find the bad one.
and it is the 2.0 non svt, correct? if so, the relays should be in the junction box in the left rear corner of the engine compartment, and all 5 pertain to the cooling fans. the svt and the 2.3 both have less relays, so it depends what you have. i wish i could load the diagram but i couldn't. so best bet would be to get hold of a diagram and go to town. and yes, fuses are a very good starting point!
ctlynch is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 09:08 PM   #4
ssvhto72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65145
Location: Eppin, NH, MA
What I Drive: 03, CD silver SVTFocus

Posts: 66
FF Reputation: 1 ssvhto72 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i found one fuse its in the junction box. 40 amp fuse for the blower motor thats fine. i even went behind the junction under the fuse checked those terminals both have power one wire goes to a relay, so i checked the relay checked out fine even swapped relays around still nothing... i power probed the blower motor switch/plug... nothing, kept popping my breaker. i need a diagram is right so i can chase some wires se if something is chaffed or corroded.

its just a regular ZX3 model 03 2.0L 5 spd with out A/C.

there is relays in both the junction box in the engine compartment and under the dash.

im tempted to take apart my svt and see which wires at the plug do what. but i have A/C


oh ya and class 8 trucks are a hell of alot easier finding electrical problems then cars...
ssvhto72 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 09:31 PM   #5
ctlynch
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 76319
Location: Parkersburg, WV
What I Drive: 2005 Dark Shadow Gray ZX4

Posts: 79
FF Reputation: 1 ctlynch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Lol definitely. I can see if I can send it to you some other way tomorrow when I get back on that computer. Used Mitchell to pull it up. There are a bunch of relays in there somewhere for all of it. The junction box it was talking about had the five relays and a diode for I can't remember what. But most of those are running in series so disconnecting one and putting it in the other slot may not do anything since it's open from where you took it. But yeah, i'll see if I can do that somehow, if all else fails I can send it through email.
ctlynch is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 10:00 PM   #6
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,904
Points 2,028, Level 27
Points: 2,028, Level: 27 Points: 2,028, Level: 27 Points: 2,028, Level: 27
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 86 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Simple question for the OP: Does the blower work on position 4 (full blast)?
If the answer is yes, then your fan resistor pack needs replacing. It's located behind the passenger side glove compartment. Blower positions 1-3 slow fan speed by introducing a resistance into the circuit.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=219723
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 10:00 PM   #7
ssvhto72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65145
Location: Eppin, NH, MA
What I Drive: 03, CD silver SVTFocus

Posts: 66
FF Reputation: 1 ssvhto72 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh that'd be great thanks.
Here's my e-mail if you can't send it any other way.
Mbergeron72@live.com
ssvhto72 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 10:01 PM   #8
ssvhto72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65145
Location: Eppin, NH, MA
What I Drive: 03, CD silver SVTFocus

Posts: 66
FF Reputation: 1 ssvhto72 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ya your right about the relays.I wasn't thinking like that I'll try again after work.
ssvhto72 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2010, 10:27 PM   #9
ctlynch
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 76319
Location: Parkersburg, WV
What I Drive: 2005 Dark Shadow Gray ZX4

Posts: 79
FF Reputation: 1 ctlynch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah Bc zx3 is right, I'm thinking cooling fan motor instead of blower motor for some reason, but it still should be easy to narrow down. Very few things it should be, and none of them are too difficult, and there should be a blower relay. More than likely in a grouping somewhere. So it should only be limited to fuse (which is good), relay, resistor block, or the motor itself.
ctlynch is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2010, 04:05 AM   #10
ssvhto72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65145
Location: Eppin, NH, MA
What I Drive: 03, CD silver SVTFocus

Posts: 66
FF Reputation: 1 ssvhto72 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
no blower motor does not work on either position. there isnt any power getting to the switch its self
ssvhto72 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.