Is this possible?? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2003, 02:00 AM   #1
Hockeyman
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 955
Location: Winnipeg, MB
What I Drive: 02 Focus Wagon

Posts: 92
FF Reputation: 1 Hockeyman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question Is this possible??

I'm not too sure how many of you don't have a tach on your Instrument cluster, but I'm one of them. My idea is to replace it with another stock instrument cluster that has a tach. I'm thinking that the instrument cluster is only a display, I do believe that the PCM holds the data for the milage but I could be wrong... Could anyone help me out here??


Hockeyman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2003, 02:07 AM   #2
CowsGoMoo
Focus Addict
 
CowsGoMoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 324
Location: NW Indiana
What I Drive: VW GLI 1.8Turbo

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 1 CowsGoMoo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, you can do this, it's fully plug and play. You would however need the dealer to adjust your milage, it will not be correct.
__________________
Moo Like You Gotta

My ZX5 Focus!
CowsGoMoo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 10:32 PM   #3
goldfoci
Focus Enthusiast
 
goldfoci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1314
Location: framingham ma, United States
What I Drive: 02 red svt

Posts: 149
FF Reputation: 3 goldfoci Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
take a look in what i did on my sedan ,easy plug and play ..
goldfoci is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 10:52 PM   #4
Hockeyman
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 955
Location: Winnipeg, MB
What I Drive: 02 Focus Wagon

Posts: 92
FF Reputation: 1 Hockeyman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
so no milage correcting needed to be done?? If so I'm in heaven....
Hockeyman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 03:52 PM   #5
Hockeyman
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 955
Location: Winnipeg, MB
What I Drive: 02 Focus Wagon

Posts: 92
FF Reputation: 1 Hockeyman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well I used to work at our local Ford dealership in the service dept... So I paid the high tech tech a visit. I pulled out the service manual for the focus and to replace the instrument cluster on the focus you must hook up the WDS and download the instrument cluster configuration before removing the original one. You then re-install the new instrument cluster and upload the original configuration to the new cluster.

So we believe that the mileage is stored in the PCM, but what is configuration information you are downloading??

Tire size for correct speedo readings??

If anyone has any input... feel free to give it
Hockeyman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:50 PM   #6
hendu33
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 659
Location: South Jersey
What I Drive: 2000 Focus SE/Zetec

Posts: 43
FF Reputation: 1 hendu33 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think I remember seeing somewhere that the cluster also holds data for certain options, such as abs. I would think that if that is true, it would use that information for the warning lights--for example, if you don't have abs and the new instrument cluster if from a car that did, the abs light would light up because the ic isn't getting a signal from an abs unit, thinking there's something wrong...Or, I could just be talking outta my ass. Tire size might also be stored in there, so it knows how many revolutions would = 1 mile. BTW, what does WDS stand for? Is that just another name for a code scanner?
hendu33 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:01 AM   #7
Hockeyman
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 955
Location: Winnipeg, MB
What I Drive: 02 Focus Wagon

Posts: 92
FF Reputation: 1 Hockeyman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
WDS = Worldwide Diagnostic System

Basically Ford's suped up version for a code scanner. It's quite the machine, I liked to play around with it while I was at the dealership here. Helps the mechanics out alot with their pin point tests and diagnostics.
Hockeyman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:32 AM   #8
beowulf
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 456
Location: Gladstone MO
What I Drive: 03 Focus ZX3

Posts: 123
FF Reputation: 1 beowulf Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I want an SVT cluster!!!!!!!
beowulf is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 08:56 AM   #9
EuroZX3Focus
Black Magik
 
EuroZX3Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Fan#: 135
Location: Bennett, Colorado
What I Drive: '00 Focus ZX3, '00 Civic EX Coupe

Posts: 793
FF Reputation: 1 EuroZX3Focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Hey how much was that SVT cluster, and were the other two gauges on the side still plug and play or did you have to add wiring?
__________________
00 Focus ZX3, 93 Honda Del Sol Si
EuroZX3Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 04:50 PM   #10
llama_in_a_focus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 392
Location: Roanoke, VA
What I Drive: 2001 Excursion (ISO another foci)

Posts: 365
FF Reputation: 1 llama_in_a_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
yes, what about the other 2?
__________________
Check out my for sale thread!!!

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3668272&posted=1#post3668272
llama_in_a_focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.