Burnt headlight sockets - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 04-25-2010, 12:47 PM   #1
kputer
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 74656
What I Drive: 2002 Grey SE

FF Reputation: 1 kputer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Burnt headlight sockets

I went to replace the headlights on my '02 and both sockets are badly burnt and the new bulbs barely fit in. A week later the left side melted further and now that bulb is dim and won't stay put. I've been searching and haven't really found any others complaining about this problem. I'm new to the Focus, love it, but I'm really surprised by this headlight problem.

Is this because the previous owner didn't install the new bulbs correctly or do these plastic housing just melt down like this? I'll have to call around the bone yards and try to chase up some replacement headlight assy.

Any suggestions on avoiding this in the future?
Thanks for the help.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2010, 12:51 PM   #2
egman2005
Slow n lifted

Fan#: 44983
What I Drive: 2003 SVT Focus

Points 9,505, Level 65
Points: 9,505, Level: 65 Points: 9,505, Level: 65 Points: 9,505, Level: 65
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 21 egman2005 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
someone put in higher the reccomended watt bulbs

they wires over heated as a result
Old 04-25-2010, 12:55 PM   #3
kputer
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 74656
What I Drive: 2002 Grey SE

FF Reputation: 1 kputer Good Standing Member